Author Topic: Joomla Breadcrumb issue in 1.1.6  (Read 4939 times)

aravot

  • Peter
  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2874
    • VirtueMart Extensions
Joomla Breadcrumb issue in 1.1.6
« on: October 14, 2010, 21:47:44 pm »
Virtuemart 1.1.6 r2584
Joomla Breadcrumb not working in 1.1.6, it is working in 1.1.5 so a commit must have broken this.

See link for Video
http://www.protechsystems.us/stuff/joomla/vm/vm116breadcrumb.htm

zanardi

  • Contributing Developer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 878
    • GiBiLogic
Re: Joomla Breadcrumb issue in 1.1.6
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2010, 21:25:27 pm »
Ok, there was a known and intended modification in breadcrumbs, because people asked to remove "double" items in breadcrumbs when you have  menu items that point directly to VM products / categories,
We should verify why it breaks also "normal" navigation.
--
Francesco (zanardi)
http://extensions.gibilogic.com
@gibilogic on Twitter

aravot

  • Peter
  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2874
    • VirtueMart Extensions
Re: Joomla Breadcrumb issue in 1.1.6
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2010, 00:59:43 am »
I tested SVN 2603, strange result breadcrumb works except for Hammer, have added video. http://www.protechsystems.us/stuff/joomla/vm/vm116-breadcrumb.html

zanardi

  • Contributing Developer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 878
    • GiBiLogic
Re: Joomla Breadcrumb issue in 1.1.6
« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2010, 12:43:04 pm »
This is because you have a specific menu item for "Hammer". VM finds that and creates a different breadcrumb. This is intended behaviour.

Of course, we can talk a lot about how breadcrumbs should be handled in this case, and different VM users can have different opinions, but this is definitely not a bug.

I think we already have done a step forward in not having duplicated breadcrumbs items; unless other critical bugs are reported, this is not gonna be changed again before 1.1.6 release.

--
Francesco (zanardi)
http://extensions.gibilogic.com
@gibilogic on Twitter

aravot

  • Peter
  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2874
    • VirtueMart Extensions
Re: Joomla Breadcrumb issue in 1.1.6
« Reply #4 on: October 31, 2010, 17:44:15 pm »
I see, thank you for clarification, I have never used menu to link to a product, always used VM_menu so it should be ok.