News:

You may pay someone to create your store, or you visit our seminar and become a professional yourself with the silver certification

Main Menu

'PRO' version ever considered?

Started by james123, October 14, 2010, 16:24:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

james123

I have been using VM for about 3 years now and although free I have spent a TON of time working things out. After leisurely looking at the backend of redshop pro and Tienda I think VM needs to implement something like this to get some money for future development. In my opinion neither redshop or tienda are ready for production site (at least not mine) but once they are it will put VM on the back burner as far as built in SEO, store stats, single page checkout, more robust discounting etc...I think this is horrible as VM has been here for so long. I know i for one would have no problem paying a few hundrad a year for a pretty much bug free robust cart where i don't have to use components such as sh404sef, coupon components etc....

Just a thought...

IntraX

I dont know what clientele you refer to as main user base. When you refer to small shops that just want to sell a few products on the side they are good with a hosted shop solution for 10 bucks a month, support included.

As you can see in the live section and also elsewhere, people spent money into this system to make professional shops that are even better as a Magento store. This is not a out of the box system as you mention too, so I do not think that some redshop will pull away the important VM users at all.

Yet if VM was a paid shop and redshop would have some things that make it easier to use for some people, there may be the need to worry, but as the stakes are not related to making a fortune with selling VM I do not see the point for a Pro Version.

What shall a pro version include as default config?