News:

You may pay someone to create your store, or you visit our seminar and become a professional yourself with the silver certification

Main Menu

Fedex API old technology - WebServices New

Started by powerasker, January 02, 2009, 11:07:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

powerasker

Hi .. all

Using the Fedex module in Virtuemart is not that easy as all friendly helpers are trying to tell you in this forum.

I'm a Swedish admin and had problems for six month and had extensive exchange with Fedex.

The current solution that is provided by Virtuemart is based on an old API technology that Fedex is still supporting til summer 2009.

For some customers the old API is not an option or what I'm trying to tell you .. the current Fedex module in Virtuemart does not work for everyone ... Some customers have to use the Fedex WebService support.

A friendly soul help me out with testing an existing customers account number with legacy (API) support on my own site to confirm that is correct configured.

With other words ... Fedex can make your customers account to support or not support the old API. For those customer that does not have the support can't use the current Fedex Module solution in Virtuemart.

I have tried to convince Fedex to turn on the legacy support for my customer without any success. They are unwilling to help you and their support is very very confusing depending on who you talked to. Some of them ensure you that it will work while others promptly tell you that WebServices is the only way.

My conclusion is that
- Fedex controls legacy support
- If you don't have legacy support ... you can't use the current Fedex module in Virtuemart
- We need a new module that works with Fedex WebServices.

Are there any plans from Virtuemart or anyone else to make such a module that support Fedex WebServices?

Here is an answer from Fedex ....

"It is a company decision that new API implementations are not allowed. There is