Author Topic: [Solved] Problem with product categories  (Read 3215 times)

vidonov

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 13
[Solved] Problem with product categories
« on: June 28, 2010, 15:13:25 pm »
Hi,

I'm new user of virtuemart and I have had an issue with the categories. In the back end, all seems normal, and the categories are perfectly divided into subcategories. Like this:

|A|
  |a1|
  |a2|
|B|
  |b1|

But in the frontend, there is a category "stealing" ??? other sub-categories. Like:

|A|
  |B|
  |a1|
  |a2|
|B|
  |b1|

It's clear on that navigation line (i'm using the ja_mesolite template). Where it's supposed to show A>a1 it shows A>B>a1. I assure that the backend division is correct. I'm also using SEO Optimization, and the links are also affected like: "products/B(here supposed to be an A)/shop.browse...".

I'm not really skilled in programming, so, I would be grateful for any help. ;D

Using
------------
Joomla 1.15
Virtuemart 1.1.4



rb

  • Advanced
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1503
Re: Problem with product categories
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2010, 23:48:55 pm »
Since your Categories are correct in the back-end, perhaps it's related to either SEO or your template.  Try it with SEO disabled and see if it works.  If it still fails, try it with a different template.  If it still fails, try it with a different template and SEO disabled.

vidonov

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Problem with product categories
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2010, 20:55:43 pm »
Since your Categories are correct in the back-end, perhaps it's related to either SEO or your template.  Try it with SEO disabled and see if it works.  If it still fails, try it with a different template.  If it still fails, try it with a different template and SEO disabled.

No results, rb. In a localhost, I disabled the SEO optimization, the link-mess continued. Than enabled SEO again and tried 3 different templates. No success.

Then I tried the differents templates again with no SEO optimization. The error persists. :-\

I'm really confused, since it's the same category "stealing" all other categories. ???

rb

  • Advanced
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1503
Re: Problem with product categories
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2010, 23:29:12 pm »
What module is showing the wrong Category display in the front end?

vidonov

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Problem with product categories
« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2010, 16:32:19 pm »
It's the Breadcrumbs Pathway module (ja_pathway/mod_breadcrumbs). Here is an example code:

Code: [Select]
<div id="ja-pathway">

<strong>Voc&ecirc; est&aacute; aqui:</strong>
<span class="breadcrumbs pathway">
<a href="http://localhost/" class="pathway">Home</a> <img src="/templates/ja_mesolite/images/arrow.png" alt=""  /> Marcas Representadas</span>

</div>


rb

  • Advanced
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1503
Re: Problem with product categories
« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2010, 19:20:15 pm »
Ok, next wild guess: are you using the ja_mesolite VirtueMart theme?  If so, change your configuration to the default theme and see if the problem is still there.

vidonov

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Problem with product categories
« Reply #6 on: July 02, 2010, 20:59:07 pm »
I guees I need some guidance there. Where sould I do it? Inside virtuemart module screen or editing the layout on the back end?

rb

  • Advanced
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1503
Re: Problem with product categories
« Reply #7 on: July 02, 2010, 23:16:25 pm »
- login to the back end as Administrator
- in the Components menu, click on VirtueMart
- Admin->Configuration->Site tab->Layout box
- in "Select the theme for your Shop", choose "Default"
- click "Save" on the very top right of the screen

vidonov

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Problem with product categories
« Reply #8 on: July 05, 2010, 18:09:48 pm »
No effect at all. The intruder category keeps showing up even with the default theme.  :(

I dunno if it may help but I took notice some time ago of another bug in the same breadcrumb. When I first open the site, in the morning, the categories repeats themselves in the pathway instead of displaying only once:

You are here: HOME > PRODUCTS > CAT A > SUBCAT A > CAT A > SUBCAT A > ITEM

Then, after some navigation, the intruder category appears:

You are here: HOME > PRODUCTS > CAT A > SUBCAT A > INTRUDER CAT > CAT A > SUBCAT A > ITEM

I'm starting to think that site is an alive ai ;D

rb

  • Advanced
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1503
Re: Problem with product categories
« Reply #9 on: July 05, 2010, 18:46:41 pm »
What's the URL?

vidonov

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Problem with product categories
« Reply #10 on: July 05, 2010, 19:33:20 pm »
http://www.flk-rio.com.br/produtos.html

The site is in portuguese, but I think you'll manage to see the problem. The intruder category is "Boroscópios".

rb

  • Advanced
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1503
Re: Problem with product categories
« Reply #11 on: July 05, 2010, 19:41:52 pm »
Can you disable SEO so it's possible to view the actual generated URLs?

vidonov

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Problem with product categories
« Reply #12 on: July 05, 2010, 19:52:32 pm »
Did it. SEO Optimization disabled.

rb

  • Advanced
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1503
Re: Problem with product categories
« Reply #13 on: July 05, 2010, 20:00:39 pm »
I still see some pages with with SEO URLs.  You may need to disable and clear cache.

I was able to eliminate the repeating breadcrumbs when comparing SEO URLs to non-SEO urls:

This URL, of a Browse page with SEO, shows the repeating Category in the breadcrumbs:
http://www.flk-rio.com.br/produtos/teste-e-medicao/calibradores.html

This URL, which is the same page but without SEO shows the correct breadcrumbs:
http://www.flk-rio.com.br/index.php?page=shop.browse&category_id=18&option=com_virtuemart



This URL, of a flypage with SEO, , shows the repeating Category in the breadcrumbs:
http://www.flk-rio.com.br/produtos/teste-e-medicao/calibradores/shop.product_details/18/flypage.tpl/58.html

This URL, which is the same page but without SEO shows the correct breadcrumbs:
http://www.flk-rio.com.br/index.php?page=shop.product_details&category_id=18&product_id=58&flypage=flypage.tpl&option=com_virtuemart
 

I still haven't seen the "Boroscópios" Category insert itself.

Obviously I'm still suspicious of the SEO since without it, one of your breadcrumb problems appears to go away to me.

vidonov

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Problem with product categories
« Reply #14 on: July 05, 2010, 20:35:31 pm »
I'm still seeing the double links on the breadcrumbs and the boroscópio intruder despite clearing the website's cache and the browser's temporary files.

Take a look on that URL:
http://www.flk-rio.com.br/index.php?page=shop.product_details&flypage=flypage.tpl&product_id=178&category_id=47&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=60