Author Topic: Migrate to Joomla 1.5 bringing VirtueMart along - Tutorial  (Read 43799 times)

PRO

  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10272
  • VirtueMart Version: 3+
Re: Migrate to Joomla 1.5 bringing VirtueMart along - Tutorial
« Reply #15 on: December 17, 2009, 16:56:55 pm »
Disable dynamic thumbnail resizing, and save,,,, THEN re-enable them and save again

I do NOT do development work for hire.

entaicync

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Migrate to Joomla 1 5 bringing VirtueMart along Tutorial
« Reply #16 on: December 27, 2009, 15:08:45 pm »
Ouch Elpie... That sounded a little harsh.  Dont you think you could have put it a little nicer, or did he deserve that?  Maybe the latter??

qme1ster

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 276
Re: Migrate to Joomla 1.5 bringing VirtueMart along - Tutorial
« Reply #17 on: January 05, 2010, 11:20:27 am »
Hi,

I'm attempting a migration and following the steps so kindly provided by FnF, however when I reach the Joomla installation step where I have to select the SQL file created by the Migrator component, rather than getting a "migration successful" message I get the following:-

Fatal error: Class 'JArchive' not found in /home/mydomain/public_html/installation/installer/helper.php on line 815

I've taken a look the that line of code but have no idea what needs doing to rectify the problem.

Code: [Select]
$result = JArchive::extract( $archivename, $extractdir);I've spent days on this at this stage and would be ever so grateful if someone could lend me a hand.

Thanks in advance

qme1ster

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 276
Re: Migrate to Joomla 1.5 bringing VirtueMart along - Tutorial
« Reply #18 on: January 07, 2010, 15:40:38 pm »
Resolved my issue - seems the file created by the migration component had become corrupted somewhere along the way. I recreated and in the end the migration was successful. Many thanks again for this tutorial - it helped me a lot. 

multissimo

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Migrate to Joomla 1.5 bringing VirtueMart along - Tutorial
« Reply #19 on: January 08, 2010, 12:56:00 pm »
Hello

A BIG BIG Thank you from Switzerland for your excellent step-by-step tutorial! I had to upgrade an old Virtuemart 1.0.13 / Joomla 1.0.X to Joomla 1.5 / VM 1.1.4. I would not have been able to do this without your help!

Although I had to manually check and add some Database-Tables, with your information I was even able to get this done.

Again, thank you a lot!
Michael

carsten888

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 219
    • pages-and-items.com
Re: Migrate to Joomla 1.5 bringing VirtueMart along - Tutorial
« Reply #20 on: April 20, 2010, 16:33:00 pm »
Quote
You MUST have Virtuemart 1.1.3 running correctly on your existing Joomla 1.0 site for the migration to be successful.
please update this in the wiki
http://dev.virtuemart.net/redmine/projects/virtuemart/wiki/Migrate_Joomla!_10_%28incl_VirtueMart%29_to_Joomla!_15
Quote
The following step requires that you already have VirtueMart 1.1. on your old Joomla! installation

(so now I just need to find update instructions from VM 1.0.15 to 1.1.3 on J1.0.15)
Where can I find those?

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 26364
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Migrate to Joomla 1.5 bringing VirtueMart along - Tutorial
« Reply #21 on: April 20, 2010, 17:29:40 pm »
I assume you mean VM and not CB? Instructions are included in the manual install package for VM1.1.4
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Keswick, Lake District

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM3.2.4 on Joomla 3.8.2 PHP 7.0.25

Testing VM3.2.5.9677 on J!3.8.2

carsten888

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 219
    • pages-and-items.com
Re: Migrate to Joomla 1.5 bringing VirtueMart along - Tutorial
« Reply #22 on: April 20, 2010, 20:02:27 pm »
Quote
I assume you mean VM and not CB?
Ehhh. Yes. I changed it. Sorry.

Quote
Instructions are included in the manual install package for VM1.1.4
Aha. Found them. Thank you.

Wow! Updating that is soo easy! you guys could not have made that any easyer! In sharp contrast to the many other components I had to update for this project. VM is the easyest to update of them all. Great!

So now I got VM 1.1.4 running on J1.0.15. Can I now copy-paste the tables to the J1.5? So I don't have to do that elaborate export-import with com_migrator?(as described in the first post of this thread).



PRO

  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10272
  • VirtueMart Version: 3+
Re: Migrate to Joomla 1.5 bringing VirtueMart along - Tutorial
« Reply #23 on: April 20, 2010, 21:20:24 pm »
The original tutorial can be found HERE
http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=430&t=419087&p=1770173


I asked FNF to post this over here. So he might answer specific questions in the original thread.

Dont blame his if he does not though. This is a very thorough tutorial.
I do NOT do development work for hire.

carsten888

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 219
    • pages-and-items.com
Re: Migrate to Joomla 1.5 bringing VirtueMart along - Tutorial
« Reply #24 on: April 21, 2010, 10:42:03 am »
thank you. I posted there.

robiw

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: Migrate to Joomla 1.5 bringing VirtueMart along - Tutorial
« Reply #25 on: October 12, 2010, 20:10:03 pm »
Have been attempting the upgrade to Joomla 1.5 following above tutorial.

Everything seemed to go fine until the phpMyAdmin option to populate the tables (as outlined the data not migrated).

Get:-

Error

SQL query:

--
-- Dumping data for table `jos_vm_auth_group`
--
INSERT INTO `jos_vm_auth_group` ( `group_id` , `group_name` , `group_level` )
VALUES ( 1, 'admin', 0 ) , ( 2, 'storeadmin', 250 ) , ( 3, 'shopper', 500 ) , ( 4, 'demo', 750 ) ;

MySQL said: Documentation
#1062 - Duplicate entry '1' for key 1
==============================================

Thought everything was going too well!

Versions:-
Joomla 1.5.21 (current)
VM 1.1.5 (current)

FnF

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Migrate to Joomla 1.5 bringing VirtueMart along - Tutorial
« Reply #26 on: November 27, 2010, 07:54:21 am »
Robiw, are you still having trouble?
Hopefully you havent been running an outdated version of Joomla or Virtuemart for over a year, or that might have a hand in your issues.


RevoLion

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
  • Joomla Covert Operations
Re: Migrate to Joomla 1.5 bringing VirtueMart along - Tutorial
« Reply #27 on: February 07, 2011, 20:43:00 pm »
My old site has vm 1.0.15 and I am building a new site with the latest joomla and vm 1.1.6. Whatis the best way to move the catagories and products over to the new version without having to re-enter everything one by one. What are the best steps in doing that. Can someone redirect me on how to do that. Thank you.

FnF

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Migrate to Joomla 1.5 bringing VirtueMart along - Tutorial
« Reply #28 on: February 07, 2011, 23:13:37 pm »
Hi Revolion,
This thread is about migrating Joomla and Virtumart to the Joomla 1.5 series, not 1.6
Your question would be best answered from a new topic regarding Joomla 1.6

With that said, I hope that when you refer to VM 1.0.15 that you really meant 1.1.5 and in either case...your already behind a couple security upgrades. Which is not good.