Author Topic: Problems with Moving Virtuemart? FAQS  (Read 77845 times)

PRO

  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10275
  • VirtueMart Version: 3+
Problems with Moving Virtuemart? FAQS
« on: August 21, 2009, 15:03:56 pm »
When you move virtuemart from one URL to another, you have to update the URL settings in your virtuemart configuration. This also applies to moving from or to a subdomain or folder.

To update this file after moving your shop, FTP to your host.
Download    virtuemart.cfg.php
Path to File Here
administrator/components/com_virtuemart/virtuemart.cfg.php

Change your shop URL, and your Secure URL to your new shop address.Both must have either the www. or non-www. They must match UNLESS one is https but it styill must contain the www or non-www like the other one.

If you moved from one host to another, and your thumbnails are not showing
Most of the time you need to re-create the thumbnails. This is done by

Go into your virtuemart administrator. Then to configuration, and then the "site tab".

Disable "Enable Dynamic Thumbnail Resizing?" Save Your Changes
Then Re-enable "Enable Dynamic Thumbnail Resizing?" Again, and Save.


Also Make Sure The Image Directory is 755

This can cause missing thumbnails

ADDITIONAL IMAGES USUALLY IF CREATED VIA THE MEDI MANAGER HAVE ABSOLUTE URLS. SO, after moving from one domain to another, you need to use csv improved to remove the domain from the url. Or you may use myphpadmin to update the product_files list without the absolute url.

here is a link to instructions on moving vmart with Akeebah Backup. (formerly known as joomlapack)
http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=62080.0

[attachment cleanup by admin]
I do NOT do development work for hire.

sparkwebdev

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: Problems with Moving Virtuemart? FAQS
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2009, 02:08:44 am »
Thanks for the point-by-point tips on both how to make the move and things to look out for after the move. The first tutorial was instrumental in the migration I am now completing, but unfortunately I just learned some of the post - move things the hard way myself.

Do you have any pointers regarding what to do with converting language files from the old VM to the new VM system? I want to be able to keep the old translations, but the file structure is very different. Will the old lang files be picked up by VM if I put them in the file structure in their old location?

rtenhave34

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Problems with Moving Virtuemart? FAQS
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2009, 13:34:32 pm »
I have to tell you: AWESOME job!!

I did a "normal" copy of the main site, as we needed a different setup for our B2B customers and of course: it miserably failed. Using the Admin module, the links would switch between the retail and the B2B site without me noticing, because they looked almost exactly the same.

Finding this and following your step by step tutorial has saved my day (and our business).

Thanks for uploading this. 5 stars!!

Richard

PRO

  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10275
  • VirtueMart Version: 3+
Re: Problems with Moving Virtuemart? FAQS
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2009, 15:12:42 pm »
Thanks for the point-by-point tips on both how to make the move and things to look out for after the move. The first tutorial was instrumental in the migration I am now completing, but unfortunately I just learned some of the post - move things the hard way myself.

Do you have any pointers regarding what to do with converting language files from the old VM to the new VM system? I want to be able to keep the old translations, but the file structure is very different. Will the old lang files be picked up by VM if I put them in the file structure in their old location?

You know I do not know about this at all.

I never used the old Vmart
I do NOT do development work for hire.

linuxbean

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Problems with Moving Virtuemart? FAQS
« Reply #4 on: November 02, 2009, 07:10:33 am »
thank you very much,it's very usefull to me!

tvigar

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Problems with Moving Virtuemart? FAQS
« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2009, 17:14:41 pm »
Wonderful!

Thanks for the help!

Jerry Innemee

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Problems with Moving Virtuemart? FAQS
« Reply #6 on: December 21, 2009, 14:30:03 pm »
I also wanted to thank you.

This explenation is quit clear for all.

One question though.
Wouldn't this override your complete site, together with the original orders and users? Or is that where you pointed out to the exlusion of tables, etc.?

If so, can you point me out on what to exlude to not overwrite new customers and orders made on my live site in the time I was developing on my local test.

thnnx in advance.

Jerry

bwhorner

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Problems with Moving Virtuemart? FAQS
« Reply #7 on: February 13, 2010, 01:25:29 am »
I've found out the hard way about the problems using joomlapack and virtuemart.  I am interested in the document that you referenced in your post http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=59414.msg194942#msg194942

Is there anyway that I may get a copy of it?

Thanks,
Ben

PRO

  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10275
  • VirtueMart Version: 3+
I do NOT do development work for hire.

thisisvolos

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Problems with Moving Virtuemart? FAQS
« Reply #9 on: March 03, 2010, 20:10:32 pm »
Hi all,

I need help!!! I've moved my joomla site to another server and some of my thumbnails(not all....?) disappear. I've tried everything you wrote, but nothing... Plz help me!

My site is: http://www.mersanails.gr/index.php?page=shop.browse&category_id=72&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=69
I've posted a link to one of my categories to see it yourself.

Thanks!!!

PRO

  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10275
  • VirtueMart Version: 3+
Re: Problems with Moving Virtuemart? FAQS
« Reply #10 on: March 03, 2010, 20:35:08 pm »
To get the additional images to show

Do a "product_files" export with CSV improved, and then do a search and replace for the old url, and replace it with "/"
I do NOT do development work for hire.

thisisvolos

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Problems with Moving Virtuemart? FAQS
« Reply #11 on: March 03, 2010, 21:24:53 pm »
Export files from my old server...or from the new one?

PRO

  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10275
  • VirtueMart Version: 3+
Re: Problems with Moving Virtuemart? FAQS
« Reply #12 on: March 03, 2010, 21:29:37 pm »
do you have csv improved? If so there is  a "product files" export.

It does not export files, but just their info, and address.

The address still points to the old site

I do NOT do development work for hire.

thisisvolos

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Problems with Moving Virtuemart? FAQS
« Reply #13 on: March 05, 2010, 21:08:04 pm »
I have changed the file_url field of the product files to point to the new site, but still nothing... Some thumbnails are missing!!!

This field must be like: "http://www.newsite.gr/components/com_virtuemart/shop_image/product/filename.jpg"

or must be like:
"/components/com_virtuemart/shop_image/product/filename.jpg"?

Plz help...

PRO

  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10275
  • VirtueMart Version: 3+
Re: Problems with Moving Virtuemart? FAQS
« Reply #14 on: March 05, 2010, 21:51:07 pm »
FTP your images folder over fom old site to new one
I do NOT do development work for hire.