Author Topic: No VM product images in Google Image Search  (Read 22045 times)

blans

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
Re: No VM product images in Google Image Search
« Reply #15 on: March 23, 2010, 15:47:59 pm »
Perl programming... sounds heavy. I'm still into CSV uploading for now hihi.

But I don't see the point of having unique image names. I have many image names that are the same. We sell tires that go with different trailers and I use the same image for them and they are under different categories.

I do find it sad that you have to use different techniques (Perl, CSV) to bypass the image uploading system of VM but also in Joomla. This has always (since the Mambo era) been a usability bottleneck, although improved with the new uploader. The most annoying is that you are not able to place images in VM with a ftp-like view, a bit like the image uploadwindow Joomla uses.

Now one can only upload a new image and because of that MD5 unique name thing it makes a lot of (the same) images on the server.  :(

Multilingual VM Webshop
Joomla 1.5.26
VM 1.1.9
Joomfish 2.1.7
Artio JoomSEF 3.8.2
CSVi VM 3.8.1

VM2 has the power of Magento and the usability of Opencart. I just can't get it to do what I managed to do with VM1 for so long...

stinga

  • Contributing Developer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 872
    • Squangle ltd
Re: No VM product images in Google Image Search
« Reply #16 on: March 23, 2010, 15:53:16 pm »
G'day,

I don't just use perl for the image, I use it to upload the complete product details, download and image. all in one go.

If you have the same image name (and it is the same file) then don't delete a product unless you have taken precautions.
Delete a product, deletes the product image, if you share the image amongst product you lose the image to all those products.

I agree it would be nice to upload the images to a central location and then be able to chose them like Joomla does.
Stinga.
614869 products in 747 categories with 15749 products in 1 category.
                                             Document Complete   Fully Loaded
                Load Time First Byte Start Render   Time      Requests      Time      Requests
First View     2.470s     0.635s     1.276s          2.470s       31            2.470s      31
Repeat View  1.064s     0.561s     1.100s          1.064s       4             1.221s       4

CovLee

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: No VM product images in Google Image Search
« Reply #17 on: April 15, 2010, 08:28:19 am »
if you have putty acces to your server or another tool to search in files,
do a search in all your files from the server (not in cache filse. you can just delete them. they wil regenerate after deleted) 

you will find several instanses of " components/com_virtuemart/shop_image "

example in language files, in payment files, virtuemart sql ....

replace overall with the new url ( images/shop_image )

Hi, i'm confused at this part:
1) How do i know if i have or not this putty access
2) what if i didn't have, can i skip this part and works fine?

in tabel jos_vm_product_files (only if it is no new installation and you allready have products:
Code: [Select]
update jos_vm_product_files set file_url = replace(file_url, 'http://www.YOURURL.com/components/com_virtuemart/shop_image', 'http://www.YOURURL.com/images/shop_image');

I find the file_url but how to do the replace? I clicked all the icon and can't find something to edit

stinga

  • Contributing Developer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 872
    • Squangle ltd
Re: No VM product images in Google Image Search
« Reply #18 on: April 15, 2010, 19:27:15 pm »
What sort of hosting do you have?
If you have a dedicated host or a VM host then you should have ssh access.
If you are on a shared host then you wont.

I also agree that you should be able upload all your images and then select them. It is strange that product images are treated completely differently to all other images!

I am to make changes to our system, but before then I need to upgrade to 1.1.4!
Stinga.
614869 products in 747 categories with 15749 products in 1 category.
                                             Document Complete   Fully Loaded
                Load Time First Byte Start Render   Time      Requests      Time      Requests
First View     2.470s     0.635s     1.276s          2.470s       31            2.470s      31
Repeat View  1.064s     0.561s     1.100s          1.064s       4             1.221s       4

CovLee

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: No VM product images in Google Image Search
« Reply #19 on: May 11, 2010, 14:20:05 pm »
I'm newbie on website and not sure what kind of hosting i'm at, I'm host at www.Dracoola.com

Anyway, it has been a month since i move the images folder to non restricted folder but i still can't find my product in google images :(

Does anyone has already has result with this method?

Sometimes i even find a strange occurence which is some of the product images is missing (then i reupload and it's done, but it takes me 3 days until i realize and my sales drop to 1/3 within those days)

CovLee

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: No VM product images in Google Image Search
« Reply #20 on: June 26, 2010, 08:39:12 am »
My image location is now located at http://www.xxxx.com/images/shop_image/product/VITAMIN_C___COLL_4b77a345f40b2.jpg

And my robots.txt is :
User-agent: *
Disallow: /administrator/
Disallow: /cache/
Disallow: /components/
Disallow: /includes/
Disallow: /installation/
Disallow: /language/
Disallow: /libraries/
Disallow: /media/
Disallow: /modules/
Disallow: /plugins/
Disallow: /templates/
Disallow: /tmp/
Disallow: /xmlrpc/

But until now (about 2 months), not one images show in google image search

Please advise..

AH

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3014
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.6.3
Re: No VM product images in Google Image Search
« Reply #21 on: July 01, 2010, 19:45:50 pm »
Stinga

What happens if not unique image names are used.

I have products where the images are the same and could easily load one image to cover over 50 products at a time.

Using MYSQL imports this is easily possible.

What is the awful thing about multiple products using the same image
regards
A

Joomla 3.9.12
php 7.2

stinga

  • Contributing Developer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 872
    • Squangle ltd
Re: No VM product images in Google Image Search
« Reply #22 on: July 06, 2010, 08:43:58 am »
Nothing at all... until you delete a product.
If you have product 1 and 2 that use image a, then when you delete product 1 it cleans up and removes image a, then product 2 has no image.
This is what I saw in 1.1.2 and have not tested further, I assume (possibly incorrectly) that the logic has not changed.

It is easy to test, just create 2 product that use the same image.

I also read there is some value in having different name for images for google.
The downside of not having shared images is that we have 51000 products consuming about 6G of which the images are 5.7G and all out images are nearly the same.

One solution is to hack the code so the delete does not work, another is to change the permissions to read only and see what happens when J/VM! tries to delete the image.

Oh and 1.1.2 there was a feature that created multiple copies of the image, thus increasing the amount of disk spaced used, not an issue until you want to backup! :-)
Stinga.
614869 products in 747 categories with 15749 products in 1 category.
                                             Document Complete   Fully Loaded
                Load Time First Byte Start Render   Time      Requests      Time      Requests
First View     2.470s     0.635s     1.276s          2.470s       31            2.470s      31
Repeat View  1.064s     0.561s     1.100s          1.064s       4             1.221s       4

AH

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3014
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.6.3
Re: No VM product images in Google Image Search
« Reply #23 on: July 06, 2010, 10:03:19 am »
Stinga

Perfect, I never thought about the delete issue!!

I will test and see if it still deletes it, then check the code.

Many thanks for your reply
regards
A

Joomla 3.9.12
php 7.2

Havcom Systems

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • Havcom Systems, Inc.
Re: No VM product images in Google Image Search
« Reply #24 on: September 23, 2010, 18:45:30 pm »
I just removed the line from robots.txt

Components Disallow?

I was thinking about deleting the robots line too. And I would be very interested to know why is could be dangerous to do that.

Just wondering how this worked out, and whether anybody has decided if this was dangerous or not.  Seems like allowing search engines to see my images is fairly important.

I'm also wondering about adding ALT Image Tags, if anyone has any thoughts...

Thanks, Justin
9 Industries - 1 Source

http://www.myhavcom.com

PRO

  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10375
  • VirtueMart Version: 3+
Re: No VM product images in Google Image Search
« Reply #25 on: September 23, 2010, 23:39:00 pm »
alt image tag is the product name
J3.9+ VM 3.4.2
Slowest Page Speed Score (88) (Category)
Fastest Page Speed Score (94-96) (productdetails)

Havcom Systems

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • Havcom Systems, Inc.
Re: No VM product images in Google Image Search
« Reply #26 on: September 24, 2010, 16:02:41 pm »
thanks, good to know..

just found this article on allowing robots to index images..

http://www.leewillis.co.uk/virtuemart-product-images-sitemap/
9 Industries - 1 Source

http://www.myhavcom.com

blans

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
Re: No VM product images in Google Image Search
« Reply #27 on: October 13, 2010, 14:34:41 pm »
I found the solution which is to disallow all folders except the images folder. It's is a bit of work but all my VM images are in Google now. It took about 5 weeks for them to turn up on Google so be patient. To be sure I also put in the two allow lines. It works so I'm not changing it... ;)

Hope this helps others!

Code: [Select]
User-agent: *
Disallow: /administrator/
Disallow: /cache/
Disallow: /components/com_2j_tabs
Disallow: /components/com_banners
Disallow: /components/com_contact
Disallow: /components/com_content
Disallow: /components/com_csvijoomfish
Disallow: /components/com_csvimproved
Disallow: /components/com_customproperties
Disallow: /components/com_geomla
Disallow: /components/com_gk2_photoslide
Disallow: /components/com_jce
Disallow: /components/com_joomfish
Disallow: /components/com_joomlapack
Disallow: /components/com_mailto
Disallow: /components/com_media
Disallow: /components/com_newsfeeds
Disallow: /components/com_poll
Disallow: /components/com_search
Disallow: /components/com_sef
Disallow: /components/com_user
Disallow: /components/com_weblinks
Disallow: /components/com_wrapper
Disallow: /components/com_virtuemart/js
Disallow: /components/com_virtuemart/themes
Disallow: /components/com_virtuemart/shop_image/ps_image
Disallow: /includes/
Disallow: /installation/
Disallow: /language/
Disallow: /libraries/
Disallow: /media/
Disallow: /modules/
Disallow: /plugins/
Disallow: /templates/
Disallow: /tmp/
Disallow: /xmlrpc/

Allow: /components/com_virtuemart/shop_image/product
Allow: /components/com_virtuemart/shop_image/product/resized

Multilingual VM Webshop
Joomla 1.5.26
VM 1.1.9
Joomfish 2.1.7
Artio JoomSEF 3.8.2
CSVi VM 3.8.1

VM2 has the power of Magento and the usability of Opencart. I just can't get it to do what I managed to do with VM1 for so long...