Author Topic: Fix for Internet Explorer (IE7) Operation Aborted issue.  (Read 343646 times)

aravot

  • Peter
  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2874
    • VirtueMart Extensions
Fix for Internet Explorer (IE7) Operation Aborted issue.
« on: February 01, 2009, 22:32:11 pm »
Please try the attach fix for Internet Explorer (IE7) Operation Aborted issue.

First Unzip than replace the files
Root/administrator/components/com_virtuemart/toolbar.html.php
Root/administrator/components/com_virtuemart/classes/htmlTools.class.php
Root/administrator/components/com_virtuemart/classes/menuBar.class.php
Root/administrator/components/com_virtuemart/classes/ps_config.php
Root/administrator/components/com_virtuemart/html/product.product_form.php

Root/components/com_virtuemart/js/wz_tooltip.js
Root/components/com_virtuemart/js/slimbox/css/slimbox.css
Root/components/com_virtuemart/js/slimbox/js/slimbox.js

Make sure you clear browser cache.

Search tags, Internet Explorer, IE7, ie7, Operation Aborted

[attachment cleanup by admin]

Michael West

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 120
    • The Website
Re: Fix for Internet Explorer (IE7) Operation Aborted issue.
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2009, 07:39:58 am »
Update: March 15, 2009

I thought this would fix my website by patching Line 261:
/administrator/components/com_virtuemart/classes/mainframe.class.php and there was a copy attached. But, one of my customers reported it did not.

Changelog VM build 1663
http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=31381.0

Peter has told me the SVN is the place to address this issue, using the proper procedures and channels.

If we could get some programmers involved, maybe we could fix this, once and for all?


Update: March 10, 2009

It is broken, can you fix it?

I finally fixed my website by patching /administrator/components/com_virtuemart/classes/mainframe.class.php and there is a copy attached.

Please refer to this topic for confirmation: http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=39592.new;topicseen#new of the change in the code.

As you can see from the picture below, the biggest problem is Microsoft IE. The error even shows up on the Apple Store website.


Perhaps Peter can add this to the patch?

Save yourself some time and read this at least, then the last page, or two of this thread.

Bug swat? Try searching http://forum.joomla.org/ for "Operation Aborted".

AND, here is a dynamicaly updated list of Joomla Extensions that may have the IE Operation Aborted problem.

Clue: Look at the list and see if you have one, click the link and read.

(3 pages long at time of post)

http://www.google.com/custom?hl=en&client=google-coop-np&cof=FORID:9%3BAH:left%3BS:http://www.joomla.org%3BCX:Joomla%2521%2520Community%2520Support%2520Search%3BL:http://joomlacode.org/themes/joomla_15/images/joomla-logo.jpg%3BLH:84%3BLP:1%3BVLC:%23551a8b%3BGFNT:%23666666%3BDIV:%23cccccc%3B&ad=w9&adkw=AELymgUR1iOT0wn8gqTsDp6P_0eBjnZakczvWlwtgn2G7P9Cts19lITLIoL05AG7th9C3ub8_ICC2U1pgekw8lGAkrU5KS-MjHhhIT2j2DFLalc5UCasfvE&rurl=http://forum.joomla.org/results.php%3Fcx%3D007628682600509520926%253Ahigrppcfurc%26cof%3DFORID%253A9%26q%3DOperation%2Baborted%26google_rsg%3D__HIHZvWA2NGVXYGmCEXDqEifPc0U%3D&q=Operation+aborted+more:extensions&cx=007628682600509520926:higrppcfurc&sa=N&ei=HKKvSZy-IJm0sQPe08mDAQ&oi=coopctx&resnum=0&ct=col3&cd=1

Update: Feb 27th, 2009
Thank you! Do we have a winner?

Please try the newly (02/26/2009) attached file to the first post, hopefully the last try at solving the IE issue.

Update: Feb 25th, 2009 I have literally tested all the solutions offered in this thread and they do not work for me.

Update: Feb 18th, 2009

For those that are new to this issue, read on...

Update: Feb 15, 2009 The recent patch (#3) is not working for me.

See the last page of this thread if you want the "Rest of the story".

The recent patch (#2) is not working for me.

The following quote is new on Feb 12, 2009

Quote
I should have read the Release Notes for IE7 more thoroughly: Here is what it stated:

If you are having problems with IE7 hanging, crashing, silently closing or other bizarre behavior, an incompatible toolbar or other add-on maybe involved.

The fastest way to determine if an add-on is causing the problem is to run IE7 with no add-ons.

You can do this by going to Start, clicking All Programs, click Accessories, click System Tools and click Internet Explorer (No add-ons).

This disables all add-ons from loading in that instance of Internet Explorer. If the problem goes away, you can manually disable specific add-ons to find the specific one causing the problem.[/size]
Please read quote: Updated on Feb 12, 2009

Quote
Fix for Internet Explorer (IE7) Operation Aborted issue.
 
SYMPTOMS: IE reports "Operation Aborted" in a pop up and lists a URL.
 
There are no obvious symptoms until the malware manages to infiltrate the system of the IE user.
 
TECHNICAL DESCRIPTION:
 
This is a script written in Javascript that is part of a series of exploitation and redirection techniques. It is used to insert iframes into clean html pages. The injected iframes will lead to different exploits whose target is to download an executable file.
 
Trojan.Win32.DNSChanger can be removed using Ad-Aware or other virus utilities.
 
Free detection and removal tool: http://www.lavasoft.com/products/ad_aware_free.php
 
Learn more about the Trojan: http://www.google.com/search?q=win32+trojan+dnschanger
 
Learn more about SVCHOST and why it's a pain: http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-vista/what-is-svchostexe-and-why-is-it-running/ and http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=svchost+exe
 
If it is persistent and shows up again a few days later, see http://forums.majorgeeks.com/showthread.php?t=144537

Interestingly, this also occurs with certain Sun Java S.E. and MicroSoft
C++
libraries that exist on a local machine.

The "Operation Aborted" issue may show on the last page of the checkout process.

My next step is to remove the Java S.E. and C++ libraries on my local machine. The above process fixed my "VM Product Admin Operation Aborted issue".

More will follow as I learn the details. Good luck and Godspeed.

Operation Aborted? http://support.microsoft.com/kb/927917#more_information and http://blogs.msdn.com/ie/archive/2008/04/23/what-happened-to-operation-aborted.aspx lists a reference to a Microsoft Bulletin.

"Have you ever seen this dialog while surfing the web in Internet Explorer?"

Hmm, what's new in the code that would cause this issue? Help!

Being a volunteer programmer must be one of the hardest jobs on earth. Volunteering to use a program may be the second hardest job on earth.


[attachment cleanup by admin]
Try posting a link to your website in your profile, or a link to the error page if possible.

A picture is worth a thousand words. For XP get http://www.bhelpuri.net/Snippy/SnippyDownload.htm, or...

Windows Vista has a Snipping Tool in the Accessories area of the Start Button.

"We look for things that make us go, computer things."
(StarTrek NG: Pakleds Episode http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4lxIL1WlxSQ).


Have you read the manual? http://virtuemart.net/documentation/User_Manual/index.html I did, huh?

q-styler

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Fix for Internet Explorer (IE7) Operation Aborted issue.
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2009, 16:21:20 pm »
virtuemart uses mootools 1.11
get the 1.21 version and download the latest release of slimbox for MT 1.21
http://www.digitalia.be/software/slimbox

willowtree

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 542
    • Willow Tree Crafts
Re: Fix for Internet Explorer (IE7) Operation Aborted issue.
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2009, 17:15:24 pm »
can anyone confirm if this will solve it?
Please add your VM and Joomla Version to your signature to make it easier to help you:

Most of my code posted in the forum is for VirtueMart 1.0  -  not for 1.1

aravot

  • Peter
  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2874
    • VirtueMart Extensions
Re: Fix for Internet Explorer (IE7) Operation Aborted issue.
« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2009, 20:45:45 pm »
MooTools 1.11 and 1.2.1 are incompatible, Joomla! 1.5 uses MooTools 1.11 now if we use MooTools 1.2.1 and Joomla! 1.5 uses 1.11 nothing will work.

Latest release of Slimbox does not work with MooTools 1.11, and we can't use MooTools 1.2.1 for the reason mentioned above.

willowtree

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 542
    • Willow Tree Crafts
Re: Fix for Internet Explorer (IE7) Operation Aborted issue.
« Reply #5 on: February 02, 2009, 21:48:03 pm »
now i seem to have lost my add to cart buttons.

I've put the old htmltools file back, and now when i try to add an item to the cart it says quantiy exceeds the number available, but I've checked how many are in stock and it doesn't
Please add your VM and Joomla Version to your signature to make it easier to help you:

Most of my code posted in the forum is for VirtueMart 1.0  -  not for 1.1

grayt7

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Fix for Internet Explorer (IE7) Operation Aborted issue.
« Reply #6 on: February 02, 2009, 23:31:03 pm »
Hi, I'm also having the same issue of internet explorer 7 crashing when trying most things in virtuemart. Started when trying to edit the products but now it also crashes when going to the store admin page. All happened after recently upgrading to Joomla 1.5.9 and VM 1.1.3. Any help would be very much appreciated. Thanks.

_stu

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Fix for Internet Explorer (IE7) Operation Aborted issue.
« Reply #7 on: February 03, 2009, 04:25:18 am »

_stu

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Fix for Internet Explorer (IE7) Operation Aborted issue.
« Reply #8 on: February 03, 2009, 05:32:22 am »
What worked for me was overwriting all the files in the /components/com_virtuemart/js/ directory (except for mootools) with the files from the VM 1.1.2 Manual Installation.

I'm not sure which of them was the issue, but it worked for me... so far.

Juan Franco

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Fix for Internet Explorer (IE7) Operation Aborted issue.
« Reply #9 on: February 03, 2009, 17:59:32 pm »
Hello, I suffered the same issue. I installed "VirtueMart eCommerce Bundle (w. Joomla! 1.5.9)" with version 1.1.2 and all works fine. I updated version via back-end and then when I open a page that uses Slimbox in front-end the error appears. In back-end all works fine. I found two workarrounds, disabling Slimbox function in Virtuemart Theme or recovering 1.1.2 version.

Thanks for your hard work!!

iXNTEAM

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Fix for Internet Explorer (IE7) Operation Aborted issue.
« Reply #10 on: February 04, 2009, 15:19:17 pm »
What worked for me was overwriting all the files in the /components/com_virtuemart/js/ directory (except for mootools) with the files from the VM 1.1.2 Manual Installation.
I'm not sure which of them was the issue, but it worked for me... so far.

It has been out of service to me I stick at the same problem :-(

Any way of going back to the version 1,1,2 without losing products and configurations?


PeterTj

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • Consolecompleet, all kinds of Console accessories and mods
Fixed it in my case problem lied in mod_mainmenu, not virtuemart
« Reply #12 on: February 04, 2009, 22:36:48 pm »
After spending several hours on the net searching and debugging my site I finally solved the problem regarding the "operation aborted" issue in IE7. (IE crashed immediately after hitting my frontpage). Turned out I was looking too much into Virtuemart modules, not the core Joomla modules.

I stumbled upon a post on the Joomla forum describing an issue with "domready. Load" which is implemented into the core mod_mainmenu module. The following solved my problem:

Change the following file: /libraries/joomla/html/html/behavior.php

~line 108
$tooltipInit = ' window.addEvent(\'domready\', function(){ var JTooltips = new Tips($$(\''.$selector.'\'), '.$options.'); });';
to
$tooltipInit = ' window.addEvent(\'load\', function(){ var JTooltips = new Tips($$(\''.$selector.'\'), '.$options.'); });';

Alternatively they do describe some other possibilities utilising Moo 1.2.1. for the frontend, leaving Joomla backend on 1.1.1. I enclosed the link of the thread below for everybody who is interested.  

http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=231&t=310784

Hope this helps some of you as well.


 



iXNTEAM

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Fix for Internet Explorer (IE7) Operation Aborted issue.
« Reply #13 on: February 04, 2009, 22:38:26 pm »
Please try the attach fix for Internet Explorer (IE7) Operation Aborted issue.

Many thanks aravot!! Solved problem!! Perfect!

Greetings!

korb

  • Quality&Testing Team
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 685
  • VM 2.0 in heavy testing
    • Buy my work
Re: Fix for Internet Explorer (IE7) Operation Aborted issue.
« Reply #14 on: February 05, 2009, 01:50:13 am »
Please try the attach fix for Internet Explorer (IE7) Operation Aborted issue.
Many thanks aravot!! Solved problem!! Perfect!
Greetings!

What about the fix posted by PeterTJ, you used it?
Danny