News:

Support the VirtueMart project and become a member

Main Menu

UPS Shipping

Started by caseyavionics, June 01, 2010, 17:30:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

caseyavionics

Hello, I will admit I'm relatively new to Virtuemart.  I thought I was starting to figure it out, then I got to shipping.  I seem to keep finding a lot of followup answers to people who seem to have the first part figured out, like which module to use, or where that module is to download.  Which is apparently what this newbie can't get figured out.  First off, I don't even know if I need to install a module.  I assume I do, since I can't find any pre-configured options in Virtuemart.  After a week's worth of searching I believe I've found a couple options for modules, but there's hardly any documentation on the modules, nor whether the module will work for me. 

Could someone please tell me whether I need an addon module or not?

If not, please let me know how to configure UPS.

If so, please let me know the right module.  I've heard people reference, UPS xml, UPS Choice, and a few others, but which one works for me.. And hopefully is easy.  Some of these seem to require adding commands to mySQL Database, which makes me nervous, as I have no idea how to start that.

Please help... .  I refuse to get this far and let this be the only thing holding me back.  I'm green, but I'm not stupid, I know there's a solution, I'm just getting lost in the options..  . .

Thanks for any help, Justin

I'm using the following:

Rockettheme, Quasar Template
Yagendoo, Vamazing Virtuemart Theme
Virtuemart, 1.1.4

lowmips

There is a basic module for UPS already included with virtuemart.  You'll need to sign up for the UPS API on www.ups.com.  Then plug in the credentials you receive into the module. Also, be sure to check services in the module configuration.  You can get to the module configuration by going to:
Administration->Store->Shipping Module List
Then click "configure shipping method" under UPS.