Author Topic: General problems developing for virtuemart  (Read 10273 times)

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9942
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
General problems developing for virtuemart
« on: August 12, 2008, 10:53:37 am »
Hello people

I am really very frustrated. It seems so that the devteam dont like strangers. The dont like new blood. It seems for me that they want to be alone. Why do I think that? It is quite easy.
I am a selfemployed studied engineer with diploma (for the angelsaxxons thats like a master).

Now I need virtuemart for my projects (that means there is money behind it) but more features. So I decided to develop for it. Normally no problem. Normally u just take the IDE of your whish and checkout the project. After some days of learning the code and some improvements it is normal to check in the code. There is than a big work to do. Normally the others do programm in the same time. So the code you had written has to be fit in newest trunk. The more people synchronously work on a project the better is it to upload the own work often. If you wait to long for merging your work with the others ones it could happen that the infrastructure changed too much so that u have completly reprogramm what you did and therefore the work was for almost for nothing (this happened to me already as I programmed for a OpenGL game)!

I did that. I learned and write codes for virtuemart 30 hours. Of course I am not a sophistic php progger. But I had learned C++, OpenGL, Java and so on, so it need some time to learn the php specific things and to learn the system of virtuemart.

But my 30 hours of work seems to be a completly waste of time.
First of all I wrote Sören a long letter before I started the whole thing, I never get an answer, never. I put 1 hour effort in the mail... nothing came back. Even if there is no time it is normal behaviour just to answer shortly. During I developed the multivendor thing (that is actually already working!) they released the new version 1.1.1. So I decided I should merge my work first with the new version before I program further. Then I send Greg my work, because normal people are not allowed to upload their version. This absolutly ok, I can understand that really good. BUT
It leads to dependence to the maindevelopers. I assumed that it will take some time to merge my work with the actual version, but I didnt thought it will be a whole week (in fact if I would work in a company they would pay me at least 600$ dollars a week) and within this week there was no contact with Greg or Sören. And I cannot do anything. Because the problem is even more complicated. Normally I can checkout and work with this version.
But in virtuemart I have to checkout the newest version, make a installer out of it and then I have to install it on my homeserver and then I manipulate the installed version. So the checkout directory is another than my working directory. So I cannot do the normal routine to merge versions. Normally I just checkout the new version and eclipse shows me the differences between the lines and I can decide how I want to handle it. After merging it I can upload a new trunk.
But here I have to do all by hand. I have to compare the sources with some extra programm (diffdoc).

So I dont know what to do. I can programm with my 1.1.0 version the multivendor but it could be worthless. Because they are already talking about some 2.0 version. Could happen that I write weeks just to get the answer that the codebase my work is relayed on is too old.
If the work isnt merged with the official version it is senseless for me.
If I download the new version and merge it by hand it is really a lot work and I did the work twice than.
And at least I am NOT sure anymore that even if I would program really helpful things it would be accepted.

There were only two people of the team who supported me. Thanks to Roland and thanks to aravot.

I am really, really frustrated and dissapointed.

Milbo
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9942
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: General problems developing for virtuemart
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2008, 13:31:22 pm »
Okey,.. I tried now the following,..

I made a new checkout directory and downloaded the newest trunc,.. than I changed the config.properties to let ant do the installer...
But in the config.properties there stands the version 1.1.0
So it seems that I got not version 1.1.1.  ?
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

aravot

  • Peter
  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2874
    • VirtueMart Extensions
Re: General problems developing for virtuemart
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2008, 00:49:39 am »
Milbo,

You analyszation is wrong, dev team loves strangers, we all were strangers at one point, except Greg and I the whole team resides in different parts of the world.

I know it could be frustrating, coding for hours or sending emails and not getting any respond, believe me I have been there have patience.

Before jumping into any conclusion, take a moment, Virtuemart is not our job we all have 8 to 5 day jobs and have loved ones sometime we require to work over time hence cut our family time which result in less VM coding and most of us do freelance work too, so very little time is left for VM, we try to manage our time and do the best we can, oh and we do take vacations.

I am sure once your code is analyzed and approved it will be committed to SVN, depending to available time this process could take few day or weeks, to make the process faster if you want send me the code, I will start testing it.

I speak for myself and not the whole VM team members.

As for your SVN question, currently there are 3 VM branches, directory structure is as follow, for now they all contain the same code.

branches\virtuemart 1.1
branches\virtuemart 1.2
trunk

Virtuemart 1.1 – this branch will only be bug fixes v1.1.3, v1.1.4 and so on, no new feature will be added.

Virtuemart 1.2 – in conjunction with above bug fixes, new features will be added to this branch e.g your vendor code and other features, this version will be Joomla 1.0.x, Joomla 1.5, Mambo 4.6.x and php4 compatible.

Trunk – will contain all of the above with more new features however it will only be Joomla 1.5 and php5 compatible, all legacy code will be removed.

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9942
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: General problems developing for virtuemart
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2008, 15:40:56 pm »
Thanks Peter,

of course I do not really believe that u dont like strangers. I just wrote it because I was sad and frustrated. I tried to show that it feels like this. I know that it cannot be :-) Virtuemart is too succesful. On the other hand. Some people seems not to be happy with my work and kind of solution. They said it has to be discuss first if my solution for multivendoring is the right way. The person said he will answer the next 2 days and nothing happened. So I am afraid that I develop something that never will be committed. So I started another post explaining my reasons why I make the solution that way I did :-). But the only one who answered me was you.
Somthing like this would be enough for me
Hey man,. .I go on holyday with my kids,. just develop it on version 1.1.0,.. if I have time in 4 weeks I will merge your work in the newest trunk

If I understand right I should download then the trunk. I just need some help that I use the right version for developing. The Developer Guidelines say I should use https://virtuemart.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/virtuemart and later it said I should use https://virtuemart.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/virtuemart/trunk.

and the Source Code Managment page say I should use https://dev.virtuemart.net/svn/virtuemart/trunk.

The manual say that https://dev.virtuemart.net/svn/virtuemart/trunk
is virtuemart (the VirtueMart 1.1.x sources).

And where are the version 2? I am bit confused ;-). If I understand right the trunk is then the version 2.

Next thing, u invited me in the devteam and I am member of the project, but what can I do with this platform. I am to stupid to see which members are in the project. I cannot find which files are changed from 1.1.0 to 1.1.1 . It seems that my changes work fine with the version 1.1.1. I will write now a little script (I needed to add two fields) and then I send you the code. Ah yes and I will upload my changes on the my webserver so u can test it if u have some time left.

with very friendly greetings

Max
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

aravot

  • Peter
  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2874
    • VirtueMart Extensions
Re: General problems developing for virtuemart
« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2008, 18:51:21 pm »
The following are wrong where did you read it
https://virtuemart.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/virtuemart
https://virtuemart.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/virtuemart/trunk


The correct SVN location is
https://dev.virtuemart.net/svn/virtuemart

As for the second question, you submitted the from to be part of devteam, once the form is reviewed you will receive a follow up email.

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9942
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: General problems developing for virtuemart
« Reply #5 on: September 03, 2008, 10:59:21 am »
The following are wrong where did you read it
https://virtuemart.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/virtuemart
https://virtuemart.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/virtuemart/trunk
I found that here https://dev.virtuemart.net/cb/wiki/1234 under the topic "How to obtain the latest VirtueMart source code from SVN"


As for the second question, you submitted the from to be part of devteam, once the form is reviewed you will receive a follow up email.

I got a lot of e-mails like this:
This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.

A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:

  greg@virtuemart.net
    SMTP error from remote mail server after RCPT TO:<greg@virtuemart.net>:
    host mail.icc4l.org [81.169.175.199]: 550 See http://spf.pobox.com/why.html?sender=milbo%40gmx.de&ip=85.25.139.36&receiver=mail.icc4l.org (#5.7.1)

------ This is a copy of the message, including all the headers. ------

Return-path: <milbo@gmx.de>
Received: from localhost ([127.0.0.1] helo=forum.virtuemart.net)
   by forum.virtuemart.net with esmtp (Exim 4.69)
   (envelope-from <milbo@gmx.de>)
   id 1KRa8t-00054r-BX
   for greg@virtuemart.net; Sat, 09 Aug 2008 00:09:03 +0200
Date: Sat, 9 Aug 2008 00:09:03 +0200 (CEST)
From: Max Milbers <milbo@gmx.de>
To: greg@virtuemart.net
Message-ID: <829319965.110.1218233343357.Codebeamer.2.1.www-data@forum.virtuemart.net>
Subject: VM Project Join Request [#1] VirtueMart
MIME-Version: 1.0

So I dont know if they got the emails... When I got this e-mails I didnt sent any e-mail to them manually they were all sent by the "code beamer" system. I never got a reply on it. I dont know if someone reviewed it. In the list of the projects in which I am a member, the project virtuemart is listed. So I am a member or not?

Now I have another problem. For security reasons soeren wrotes a illegal function protections, so that only registered functions can executed within the virtuemart context. For the multivendoring thing I need to setup a new function. What should I do now?

I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/