Author Topic: How to install the Language Pack  (Read 202668 times)

sagive

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: How to install the Language Pack
« Reply #45 on: July 08, 2009, 15:55:40 pm »
i have downloaded and then found out there is no hebrew..
can you explain how to make a language pack on my own ?
i have downloaded the language manager but it doesent work
on joomla 1.5..

so whats my option ?.. will going page by page on my lanugage
directory creating a second file with hebrew values soolve this ?

Pisu

  • Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 451
  • ..still looking for..
    • Blog di Stefano Bagnatica
Re: How to install the Language Pack
« Reply #46 on: July 09, 2009, 21:27:31 pm »
i have downloaded and then found out there is no hebrew..
can you explain how to make a language pack on my own ?
i have downloaded the language manager but it doesent work
on joomla 1.5..

so whats my option ?.. will going page by page on my lanugage
directory creating a second file with hebrew values soolve this ?

You have to enable the Legacy Mode plugin.

http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=36269.0
http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=55940.0
Pisu - Team VMItalia (Supporto Italiano VirtueMart)
www.stefanobagnatica.it | www.vmitalia.net

Polleke

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Re: How to install the Language Pack
« Reply #47 on: July 15, 2009, 14:44:28 pm »
thanks, that the trick for me.
Dutch and english pack are installed now.
Jan

teabag

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: How to install the Language Pack
« Reply #48 on: August 12, 2009, 15:45:21 pm »
[edit]

I was having huge troubles installing the Croatian language pack that I found for download on this site. It didn't work, it was outdated and it had completely incorrect encoding in it.

This Croatian pack works, for Virtuemart 1.1.3:

http://www.crojoomla.com/component/option,com_docman/task,cat_view/Itemid,28/gid,94/

I tested on joomla 1.5.14 and mambo 4.6.5.

ZEUS__

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: How to install the Language Pack
« Reply #49 on: September 19, 2009, 16:15:41 pm »
hi,
I had the same issue with Turkish, nearly crazy about it.but I solved!!

1-I install joomla 1.5.10 english pack with my template's quickstart.
2-Upgrade Joomla 1.5.14 with my language pack
3-I install virtuemart 1.1.3 complete pack
4-I upload virtuemart language folder

But My Joomla! was Turkish but My Virtuemart's frontpage was English.
and here is the trick;

Go to Extension>Language Manager and set your language to default.That's it!:))
PHP on cgi
Joomla!: 1.5.14
Virtuemart: 1.1.3

Rugholm

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: How to install the Language Pack
« Reply #50 on: September 29, 2009, 09:32:14 am »
Hi I have a problem with the language package for VM (package 1.1.3).

I have installed a Danish language package for Joomla (da-DK_joomla_lang_site.1.5.14), but I am only using this for the site not for the admin part.

I have uploaded the VM language folder as described but it doesn’t work.  Instead all the text and pictures in the language module has disappeared.

Best regards

ltrudel

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: How to install the Language Pack
« Reply #51 on: October 13, 2009, 16:43:50 pm »
where is this <backwardLang>english</backwardLang>  i have to change mine to french, i have downloaded the latest language pack from joomla, set my joomla language as french, and still nothing works, virtuemart is still in english..

thks for any help

Ludovic

wesh

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: How to install the Language Pack
« Reply #52 on: October 19, 2009, 19:17:06 pm »
read thru the thread and completed the suggested steps.
Still everything remains in english.
Do I need to download the language pack for the administrator side too?
I only downloaded the frontend language pack, cause I only need to translate the site.

wesh

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: How to install the Language Pack
« Reply #53 on: October 19, 2009, 20:08:11 pm »
ok, I uninstalled joomf!sh and now the translating work as it should. I hope I can install joomfish again without it breaking the joomla default translation.

Hrvoje-Alkascript

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: How to install the Language Pack
« Reply #54 on: November 04, 2009, 12:35:57 pm »
Hello! I don't wabt to open a new post, so I'm writing here.
I had a language problem with older version of Joomla, so i went to 1.5
I've installed Croatina language, and set it to default site language.
I've installed VirtueMart, and language pack with Croatian language, but I can't get VM in Croatian. With older version I've got it but some croatian characters like ČĆŽĐ didn't work. I'm clueless what to do now. Any ideas why Cro language doesn't work? When I write something in Cro, it's OK...

Hrvoje-Alkascript

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: How to install the Language Pack
« Reply #55 on: November 04, 2009, 12:47:31 pm »

OK, this seams to be a problem, I didnt have Hrvatski.php in folder \administrator\components\com_virtuemart\languages\common
now I have Cro language, but still the same problem with characters ČĆŽĐ, how to solve this problem?

Hrvoje-Alkascript

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: How to install the Language Pack
« Reply #56 on: November 05, 2009, 09:07:59 am »
OK, guys, I've solved the problem with this characters as well.
So for those of you who still have the problem like me, I'll try to explain what I've done.
First problem was I didn't have my native language at all, although I've downloaded language pack from virtueMart and copy paste it on my computer(I'm still working local) in the joomla virtueMart folder(components\com_virtuemart).
But the problem was, there was no croatian language in folder administrator\components\com_virtuemart\languages.
When copy/paste language pack there as well, I've got cro.lan. but I got problem with characters ČĆŠŽĐ.
Since nobody could help me here, I've started to search, and I've found out that in every mylanguage.php code starts as follows:

global $VM_LANG;
$langvars = array (
   'CHARSET' => 'ISO-8859-1',

and that was a first problem.
If you change 'ISO-8859-1' to 'UTF-8' in every single php page in folder languages you'll get what you want. But croatian language files are not correct, and missing some translations.
So for Croatian this is the link where you can find croatian language pack that is ok:
http://www.crojoomla.com/component/option,com_docman/task,cat_view/gid,94/Itemid,28/

Hope I helped somebody!

yokaba271

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: How to install the Language Pack
« Reply #57 on: November 06, 2009, 11:21:24 am »
Hi,

I`ve tried to follow all the steps above, but I still can`t translate VM 1.1 into another language... ???(I want to translate it to norwegian). I downloaded Language_Pack_for_VirtueMart_1.1.4.zip, and extracted it. Then I tried to put the file into the right folder like Pisu showed on the forum. But since I`m working localy on my machine, I copied the extracted language pack to this location on my machine:

C:\wamp\www\mysite\administrator\components\com_virtuemart

I noticed that in this folder, there already was a "language" folder, and inside this were a bunch on folders with english.php files inside. Anyways, after I had completed this step, my VM was still english...

I`ve also installed the norwegian language pack for Joomla 1.5.14, and it`s working fine. So I can`t understand what I`m doing wrong? Any help would be much appreciated  ;D


yokaba271

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: How to install the Language Pack
« Reply #58 on: November 06, 2009, 11:37:34 am »
Sorry, didn`t notice that there were 4 pages with tips for solutions. I`ve only read the first one. I`ll try the solutions sugggested here first ;)

yokaba271

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: How to install the Language Pack
« Reply #59 on: November 06, 2009, 12:44:43 pm »
I was able to fix it now ;D