Author Topic: How to install the Language Pack  (Read 162965 times)

Pisu

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 451
  • ..still looking for..
    • Blog di Stefano Bagnatica
How to install the Language Pack
« on: November 19, 2008, 12:33:28 pm »
I see that some users still don't know exactly how to install the language pack... Here it is a simple screenshot guide.

1°: download language pack
http://dev.virtuemart.net/cb/displayDocument/Language_Pack_for_VirtueMart_1.1.2.zip?doc_id=2372

2°: extract zip file on your pc


3°: upload whole "language" folder (without entering in it) to /administrator/components/com_virtuemart


Note: to work, you MUST have installed and actived as default also the corresponding Joomla! 1.5 language pack.

Hope this help!
Pisu - Team VMItalia (Supporto Italiano VirtueMart)
www.stefanobagnatica.it | www.vmitalia.net

fly-line

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: How to install the Language Pack
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2008, 21:22:39 pm »
It doesn't work for me... Any tips?

Pisu

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 451
  • ..still looking for..
    • Blog di Stefano Bagnatica
Re: How to install the Language Pack
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2008, 09:52:49 am »
It doesn't work for me... Any tips?
How do you mean "doesn't work"? Please explain in details: language pack used (VM & Joomla), Joomla version, VM version....
Pisu - Team VMItalia (Supporto Italiano VirtueMart)
www.stefanobagnatica.it | www.vmitalia.net

ManicRed

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • Outdoor Ireland
Re: How to install the Language Pack
« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2008, 16:34:45 pm »
So let me see, we need to download the language pack from Joomla (for Joomla)and. Then the language pack from Virtuemart and install both?

Pisu

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 451
  • ..still looking for..
    • Blog di Stefano Bagnatica
Re: How to install the Language Pack
« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2008, 20:28:15 pm »
So let me see, we need to download the language pack from Joomla (for Joomla)and. Then the language pack from Virtuemart and install both?
Yes; the Joomla's language pack, of the desidered language, must be installed and activated.
Pisu - Team VMItalia (Supporto Italiano VirtueMart)
www.stefanobagnatica.it | www.vmitalia.net

oraclesoon

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • Bright Red SG
Re: How to install the Language Pack
« Reply #5 on: November 22, 2008, 17:08:18 pm »
It doesn't work for me... Any tips?

It doesn't work for me too.

I am testing "VirtueMart_1.1.2_eCommerce_Bundle_Joomla_1.5.8.tar.gz" which should be very up-to-date.

I am testing with Simplified Chinese.

1. I have uploaded Joomla Chinese translation [zh-CN] to [Joomla/language] folder.
2. I have uploaded VirtueMart language packs to [Joomla\administrator\components\com_virtuemart\languages] folder.

I changed the language setting in Joomla Administration Backend. But I see no language change at front end.

Checking Joomla\administrator\components\com_virtuemart\classes\language.class.php at line 244, I try echo ADMINPATH. 'languages/'.$module.'/'.strtolower($mosConfig_lang).'.php<br>';

The code is forever printing "/public_html/joomla/administrator/components/com_virtuemart/languages/common/english.php"

$mosConfig_lang is always english, it doesn't change at all.

I am very don't understand. How does language packs for VirtueMart work?

g0d0fh3ll

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: How to install the Language Pack
« Reply #6 on: November 22, 2008, 17:29:14 pm »
Hi,

Im using "VirtueMart_1.1.2_eCommerce_Bundle_Joomla_1.5.8.tar.gz" version and had installed and marked as default the portuguese language to Joomla, Admin and FrontEnd.
I uploaded VM language folder to right place. In VM administration i see some messages in portuguese and other things in english. VM frontend all in english. :-\

Plz help! Im using PHP4.

Thanks in advance

Pisu

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 451
  • ..still looking for..
    • Blog di Stefano Bagnatica
Re: How to install the Language Pack
« Reply #7 on: November 22, 2008, 17:57:55 pm »
1. I have uploaded Joomla Chinese translation [zh-CN] to [Joomla/language] folder.
Can you post here the Joomla language pack you used?
Pisu - Team VMItalia (Supporto Italiano VirtueMart)
www.stefanobagnatica.it | www.vmitalia.net

Pisu

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 451
  • ..still looking for..
    • Blog di Stefano Bagnatica
Re: How to install the Language Pack
« Reply #8 on: November 22, 2008, 18:03:49 pm »
Hi,
Im using "VirtueMart_1.1.2_eCommerce_Bundle_Joomla_1.5.8.tar.gz" version and had installed and marked as default the portuguese language to Joomla, Admin and FrontEnd.
I uploaded VM language folder to right place. In VM administration i see some messages in portuguese and other things in english. VM frontend all in english. :-\
Plz help! Im using PHP4.
Thanks in advance
Portuguese language is not fully translated.. Try with Language Manager:
http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=36269.0
Pisu - Team VMItalia (Supporto Italiano VirtueMart)
www.stefanobagnatica.it | www.vmitalia.net

oraclesoon

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • Bright Red SG
Re: How to install the Language Pack
« Reply #9 on: November 22, 2008, 19:25:16 pm »
1. I have uploaded Joomla Chinese translation [zh-CN] to [Joomla/language] folder.
Can you post here the Joomla language pack you used?

I downloaded Joomla 1.5.8 front-end Chinese language translation from here: http://www.joomla.cn/index.php?option=com_docman&task=doc_details&gid=627&Itemid=3

It is not directly installable. I extracted the language zip files and manually uploaded them onto [Joomla/language] folder.

oraclesoon

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • Bright Red SG
Re: How to install the Language Pack
« Reply #10 on: November 22, 2008, 20:27:12 pm »
Portuguese language is not fully translated.. Try with Language Manager:
http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=36269.0

Interesting, I see. There is this Language Manager tool to do the translation for VM1.1.

In the interface, current mosConfig_lang? has been preset to english.

After tracing deeply (http://apostilas.fok.com.br/docs/joomla-1.5/libraries/joomla/language/language.php.php#getbackwardlang), mosConfig_lang has something to do with legacy mode and I am still lost.

Question: In what condition, the value of mosConfig_lang will change in front end? Because my observation is, changing Joomla language or using JoomFish to switch between languages, mosConfig_lang simply won't change. Or have I missed any step?

Pisu

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 451
  • ..still looking for..
    • Blog di Stefano Bagnatica
Re: How to install the Language Pack
« Reply #11 on: November 23, 2008, 09:28:02 am »
@oraclesoon
Ok, as I suspected, the problem is in the Joomla language pack. Inside zh-CN.xml file, there is this line:

Code: [Select]
<backwardLang>english</backwardLang>

And, here the problem. VM use this "backwardLang" properties to set the language. Change this to simplified_chinese and everything should work
Pisu - Team VMItalia (Supporto Italiano VirtueMart)
www.stefanobagnatica.it | www.vmitalia.net

oraclesoon

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • Bright Red SG
Re: How to install the Language Pack
« Reply #12 on: November 24, 2008, 09:20:30 am »
It works!

Changing <backwardLang>english</backwardLang> to <backwardLang>simplified_chinese</backwardLang> in zh-CN.xml is working!

Pisu

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 451
  • ..still looking for..
    • Blog di Stefano Bagnatica
Re: How to install the Language Pack
« Reply #13 on: November 24, 2008, 23:45:43 pm »
@oraclesoon: very good! Spread this to all chinese users you know :)
Pisu - Team VMItalia (Supporto Italiano VirtueMart)
www.stefanobagnatica.it | www.vmitalia.net

fenasiqerim

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: How to install the Language Pack
« Reply #14 on: December 20, 2008, 17:36:36 pm »
I see that some users still don't know exactly how to install the language pack... Here it is a simple screenshot guide.
1°: download language pack
http://dev.virtuemart.net/cb/displayDocument/Language_Pack_for_VirtueMart_1.1.2.zip?doc_id=2372
2°: extract zip file on your pc

3°: upload whole "language" folder (without entering in it) to /administrator/components/com_virtuemart

Note: to work, you MUST have installed and actived as default also the corresponding Joomla! 1.5 language pack.
Hope this help!

Man it just doesnt help with the installation. My problem is with the Turkish language. In joomla Turkish was default before installing Virtuemart, now I added the language files as you told and it still uses english.
I couldnt find the xml file you mentioned about <backwardLang>english</backwardLang> I am almost gone insane about this language issue.

VirtueMart Forum

Re: How to install the Language Pack
« Reply #14 on: December 20, 2008, 17:36:36 pm »