Author Topic: OMG I finally got FEDEX to Work!!!  (Read 28694 times)

Shoushan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
    • PIX INC
OMG I finally got FEDEX to Work!!!
« on: September 05, 2008, 04:22:48 am »
enter fedex account number without any dashes or spaces etc.

meter number you get from fedex

Server address is https://gateway.fedex.com:443/GatewayDC


They will give you other ones but VM doesn't work on that platform so they are giving you the wrong server address when you call. VM works on a Direct Connection (dc)which is an older platform for FED EX. VM won't work with web services! Only GatewayDC with 443 connection.

Maybe VM guys will update but untill then use above settings and that should work.

I had all the errors and prices wouldn't show until I got the correct configuration. A very amazing fedex tech guy named George is the hero that figured it out, I'm just passing along the info.

ehunter41

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: OMG I finally got FEDEX to Work!!!
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2008, 11:35:35 am »
Thank you so much for this Shoushan!

acsandy

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: OMG I finally got FEDEX to Work!!!
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2008, 21:48:31 pm »
The Fedex guy I spoke with didn't seem to want to give me that information because he said DC was going to be deprecated soon.  He estimated the next year or so.

kzralka

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: OMG I finally got FEDEX to Work!!!
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2009, 21:07:29 pm »
So once you got the Fedex information correct how did you enable it and disable the others?

Terence O

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: OMG I finally got FEDEX to Work!!!
« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2009, 21:07:51 pm »
Thank you soooo much. How did you obtain the meter number?

bashar09

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: OMG I finally got FEDEX to Work!!!
« Reply #5 on: March 15, 2009, 09:32:57 am »
Thank you man,,,,,,,you are the best

Every thing now work with me, thank you again

Terence O

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: OMG I finally got FEDEX to Work!!!
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2009, 23:29:40 pm »
ok thanks for the info. I got the acces number and it works - FedEx ground doesn't show up unless you alter a line of code. In case anyone needs this it's explained in:

http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=49127.msg157638#msg157638

Phil

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: OMG I finally got FEDEX to Work!!!
« Reply #7 on: April 09, 2009, 21:34:54 pm »
How did you obtain the meter number?

Call FedEx Tech Support at 1-877-339-2774, choose option 2, then say 'Other' at the first prompt, then 'None of these' at the 2nd prompt to get a live person. 

Then tell them you are using 3rd party software and you need your meter number.  They will ask for your Account Number and that's it. 

QubeSys Technologies

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 288
  • Joomla & Magento Services
Re: OMG I finally got FEDEX to Work!!!
« Reply #8 on: April 28, 2009, 06:39:23 am »
I tried to open
 https://gateway.fedex.com:443/GatewayDC  , but it gives me error..
Shall I just enter this URL in the server address in VM backend??
Blissful!

w3dzign

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: OMG I finally got FEDEX to Work!!!
« Reply #9 on: July 28, 2009, 00:01:23 am »
Awsome!!! really works but the virtuemart frontpage only send one kind of shipping  anyone configure the next day or something like that?

Gorf8083

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: OMG I finally got FEDEX to Work!!!
« Reply #10 on: August 12, 2009, 15:02:44 pm »
enter fedex account number without any dashes or spaces etc.

meter number you get from fedex

Server address is https://gateway.fedex.com:443/GatewayDC


They will give you other ones but VM doesn't work on that platform so they are giving you the wrong server address when you call. VM works on a Direct Connection (dc)which is an older platform for FED EX. VM won't work with web services! Only GatewayDC with 443 connection.

Maybe VM guys will update but untill then use above settings and that should work.

I had all the errors and prices wouldn't show until I got the correct configuration. A very amazing fedex tech guy named George is the hero that figured it out, I'm just passing along the info.

I spoke with some of the FedEX Guys about this and they stated that you need to make sure that the Address for your VirtueMart Store and shipping address for your FexEX account must match EXACTLY.  If you match these two addresses you are automatically assigned a Meter Number.  If they do not then the whole thing does not work.

Just thought I would throw my 2 cents in.

bbw

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Wahooo
Re: OMG I finally got FEDEX to Work!!!
« Reply #11 on: March 02, 2010, 00:24:15 am »
I want to append this post as well:  I used the above listed server name and my account and left meter number blank.  I got errors on my phone nunbers (would not go with () around the area code - I used dashes), and the state name was the weird one:  Fedex only lists the state name in their shipping info as a two digit state ie MS...  Well if you notice, by default VM has the state spelled out... I ended up editing the database for the vm_state table to show the state_name field as MS rather than Mississippi... after those two adjustments I got my meter number and shipping now calculates (except for ground...  can't figure out how that one is not showing on my list during checkout)...  Hope that helps someone save an hour or two that I've wasted today!!!  Good luck everyone!

johnjames84

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: OMG I finally got FEDEX to Work!!!
« Reply #12 on: May 26, 2010, 07:49:23 am »
Thanks for sharing the server URL https://gateway.fedex.com:443/GatewayDC

I was trying all the other methods for weeks together with a wrong server address

thanks again
-james

TONYDLWHOLESALE

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: OMG I finally got FEDEX to Work!!!
« Reply #13 on: October 12, 2010, 00:09:52 am »

I just had a fedex tech. support representative sit down with me for an hour while I tried to figure this out. Im a large company that ships out thousands of packages a month and My new site is using a virtuemart shopping cart. The fedex tech support guy tells me that virtuemart needs to generate the meter number. I called fedex and they walked me through the steps of generating a meter number form fedex. But fedex tech tells me that virtuemart has to generate

dbzeroone

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Re: OMG I finally got FEDEX to Work!!!
« Reply #14 on: October 28, 2010, 02:24:59 am »
Ok, I just spent quite some time on the phone with FedEx and although they were quite friendly, they weren't much help. But I DID manage to get it to work. Here's what I did...

1. Enter your FedEx account number with NO SPACES OR HYPHENS. Just numbers.

2. DO NOT ENTER A METER NUMBER. When VM contacts the FedEx server, the server will return a meter number in this field.

3. Use https://gateway.fedex.com:443/GatewayDC for the FedEx server address.

4. Select the services you want to use and you're done!

I promise that's all I did and it works perfectly. I am however in the US, so I can't promise it'll work exactly like this in another country.

Hope this helps!