Author Topic: Adding new items..  (Read 5474 times)

karlmoore

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Adding new items..
« on: July 19, 2008, 19:13:19 pm »
Hi,

I have done a manual install and have used the default items to see how things work. I have now added my own items, but when ever i click on the new items from the front end i keep getting page not found !

I know what is going wrong but dont know how to fix it.

My URLs are being miswritten. Instead of:

http://www.karlmoore.co.uk/index.php/shop?page=shop.product_details&product_id=17&flypage=flypage.tpl&pop=0&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=82

Im getting:

http://www.karlmoore.co.uk/shop?page=shop.product_details&product_id=17&flypage=flypage.tpl&pop=0&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=82


And it's removing "index.php/" from  just after ".co.uk"

Its so frustrating i dont know how to sort this problem...

Can anyone help me?

akerman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 325
  • Knowledge weighs Nothing!
    • STOLT/AKERMAN
Re: Adding new items..
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2008, 17:52:45 pm »
Hi,

take a look at the URL ans Secure URL settings in VM backend under
'Administration/Configuration/Security/Security Settings/...

The address should finish with a trailing slash. Could be your issue.



Regards
Akerman
http://STOLT-AKERMAN.com - Web & Design agency. Spemildt in e-shop, ecommerce and marketing.
http://InfoClip.se - Swedish Antique & Used Books & Art Shop.
http://AkermansCove - Personal Portfolio
Ubuntu LAMP / Joomla 1.5.22 / VM 1.1.6 / JoomFish Contributor / Developer / Designer

karlmoore

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Adding new items..
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2008, 23:03:51 pm »
Hi Akerman,

there is a trailing slash :( Im totally lost with this one !

amicheals

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Adding new items..
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2008, 19:10:49 pm »
I have read somewhere that turning off SEF url in global configuration works.


akerman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 325
  • Knowledge weighs Nothing!
    • STOLT/AKERMAN
Re: Adding new items..
« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2008, 19:57:02 pm »
Actually you have this problem in a few places...

When moving to the previous or next product (left/right arrow link)
Code: [Select]
<a class="previous_page" href="/shop?page=shop.product_details&amp;product_id=6&amp;flypage=flypage.tpl&amp;pop=0&amp;option=com_virtuemart&amp;Itemid=82">Hammer</a><a class="next_page" href="/shop?page=shop.product_details&amp;product_id=17&amp;flypage=flypage.tpl&amp;pop=0&amp;option=com_virtuemart&amp;Itemid=82">Harry Hammer</a><br style="clear:both;" />
<table border="0" style="width: 100%;">
Your homepage code.


When trying to ask for more info on the product:

Code: [Select]
<td colspan="2"><a class="button" href="/shop?page=shop.ask&amp;flypage=flypage.tpl&amp;product_id=1&amp;category_id=1&amp;option=com_virtuemart&amp;Itemid=82">Ask a question about this product</a></td>Your homepage code.

Recently viewed products
Code: [Select]
<h3>Recently Viewed Products</h3>
<ul class="vmRecentDetail">
<li>
<a href="/shop?page=shop.product_details&amp;product_id=17&amp;category_id=1&amp;flypage=flypage.tpl&amp;option=com_virtuemart&amp;Itemid=82" >
Harry Hammer</a>&nbsp;(Category:&nbsp;
<a href="/shop?page=shop.browse&amp;category_id=1&amp;option=com_virtuemart&amp;Itemid=82" >Hand Tools</a>)
</li>
</ul>
Your homepage code.

So since the flypage (product detail template page) seems to be 'untouched' by this havoc, and only the navigation, recently viewed and ask about links are affected it would lead to the conclusion that the fault is in some general setting in the config, or possibly in a PHP file that all these functions have in common, when building the links.

I don't see anywhere that the SEF is activated, so it's not likely that's the issue. But check it anyway, just to be 101% sure.  ;)


So far my analysis... no clear answer...not yet anyway.
Try to see if you can find the common nominator for these three functions. 


Regards
Akerman
http://STOLT-AKERMAN.com - Web & Design agency. Spemildt in e-shop, ecommerce and marketing.
http://InfoClip.se - Swedish Antique & Used Books & Art Shop.
http://AkermansCove - Personal Portfolio
Ubuntu LAMP / Joomla 1.5.22 / VM 1.1.6 / JoomFish Contributor / Developer / Designer

karlmoore

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Adding new items..
« Reply #5 on: July 22, 2008, 20:55:20 pm »
Thank you for the info..

I cant see why im getting this problem, all i did was download the manual install and install it !! Then i added my own item as a test !

I will keep looking :|

karlmoore

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Adding new items..
« Reply #6 on: July 24, 2008, 09:03:48 am »
Well, I turned off SEF and now my shop is playing ball. Managed to added several new items and they worked liked they should. Just got to configure the shop and im rolling !!

Thank you guys for all your help and support !!

Karl

akerman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 325
  • Knowledge weighs Nothing!
    • STOLT/AKERMAN
Re: Adding new items..
« Reply #7 on: July 24, 2008, 20:59:13 pm »
Glad it worked out for you!

Good luck with your business!  :)


Regards
Akerman
http://STOLT-AKERMAN.com - Web & Design agency. Spemildt in e-shop, ecommerce and marketing.
http://InfoClip.se - Swedish Antique & Used Books & Art Shop.
http://AkermansCove - Personal Portfolio
Ubuntu LAMP / Joomla 1.5.22 / VM 1.1.6 / JoomFish Contributor / Developer / Designer