Author Topic: Browse By Multiple Fields  (Read 6939 times)

macroscape

• Beginner
Browse By Multiple Fields
« on: July 15, 2008, 05:32:39 am »
Hello,

I am pretty new to Joomla and even newer to Virtuemart. I am trying to solve a problem where my products have multiple dimensions:

1. A specific category of the type of product (that is there and apparent)
2. The "designer" or in other words manufacturer

I can obviosuly out of the box browse by category but cant seem to figure out how to browse by "manufacturer"

Thanks, EB

korb

• Quality&Testing Team
  • VM 2.0 in heavy testing
    • Buy my work
Re: Browse By Multiple Fields
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2008, 15:07:34 pm »
Hi,
You must study the product type feature and search according to parameters.
As a general how to:
-create a new product category;
-create a new product type and create some parameters (they are called atributes in backend) for that product type (there you should test all functionalities of the parameters you create for product type);
-now create a product, and add your new product type to this new product, then you should select the values of the parameters; values could be single, multiple, integer, and so on..you realy have to test to understand.
-now search for VirtueMart module here: Joomla top menu from backend Extensions Meniu - Module manager option; here you must activate search capability and search according to parameters;
-now go to frontend and refresh page, click Advanced Search According to Parameters and select your category (that is your product type);
-now you can search your product according to the parameters you have defined for it.
Ciao

akerman

• Knowledge weighs Nothing!
    • STOLT/AKERMAN
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2008, 18:43:23 pm »
Hi,

It's correct, there is no 'out-of-the-box' way to show products by manufacturer.
Although when doing advanced search you can search the field 'Manufacturer' for information.