News:

You may pay someone to create your store, or you visit our seminar and become a professional yourself with the silver certification

Main Menu

Erroneous query string appended to URL

Started by DDPaul, July 04, 2008, 00:12:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DDPaul

An erroneous query string is appended to the browser requested URL. Note: this problem effectively invalidates the cookie check (when using firefox/VISTA with cookies disabled).

I spent some time investigating this problem and the virtuemart software behavior is very strange Actually I don't know if this is a virtuemart problem, a joomla problem, or perhaps a problem with apache, php or even a faulty configuration (I couldn't find a configuration problem in the various php.ini files or cfg files but I'm no expert). It may even be a problem with this piece of junk called VISTA that I'm forced to use for my localhost development. However, the bottom line is that the problem only shows up when connecting to the virtuemart shop so this forum seems the appropriate place to report the problem and get some help. In particular, the cookie check doesn't really work because of this problem and as noted below it may cause additional problems.

As noted above apparently erroneous parameters are somehow added to the query string when connecting to the virtuemart shop. Not just the parameter vmcchk=1 is added but also the parameter Itemid=53 is added. This latter addition duplicates the original Itemid but with a different value. Since the new Itemid value is at the end of the query string then that is what is provided to the joomla/virtuemart program via the $_GET array and it overrides the actual requested value. I assume this probably causes additional virtuemart problems.