Author Topic: [CONFIRMATION REQUIRED] attribute list and umlauts  (Read 3132 times)

p.barg

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 165
    • Barg IT
[CONFIRMATION REQUIRED] attribute list and umlauts
« on: May 26, 2008, 10:31:05 am »
Hi all,

Kelvyn pointed out that the following might be a bug, so I'm reporting in this forum:

I encountered a problem using umlauts in attribute properties. In other places of VM all umlauts are shown correctly. If I use umlauts in a property of an attribute VM shows the following behavior:
In the product description (including the selection of a sub-product via its attribute) all umlauts come up correctly. If I order a product from this list,
the title in the shopping cart shows no umlauts (instead I see ?) and what's worse the price comes out wrong (it always shows the price of the main product)...

I use Joomla 1.12, VM 1.1, language: german formal

Best Regards 

Petra


jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 27570
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: attribute list and umlauts
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2008, 12:08:56 pm »
Can someone using German launguage files confirm this?
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM 3.6.8.10197 on Joomla 3.9.13 PHP 7.0.33

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3534
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: [CONFIRMATION REQUIRED] attribute list and umlauts
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2008, 22:08:58 pm »
It does not happen on my system. (See image below) However, I'm using Joomla 1.5.3 and VM 1.1 nightly build from last week on localhost.

Petra - you might want to check if there is a newer (german) language file at the VirtueMart Developer Portal. In addition to the common language file there is also a german language file in the 'additional languages' section.

Joerg

[attachment cleanup by admin]
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

p.barg

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 165
    • Barg IT
Re: [CONFIRMATION REQUIRED] attribute list and umlauts
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2008, 10:13:24 am »
Thanks for testing!
I downloaded the latest language pack and installed it, yet the result remains the same...

-- Petra

p.barg

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 165
    • Barg IT
Re: [CONFIRMATION REQUIRED] attribute list and umlauts
« Reply #4 on: May 30, 2008, 12:00:50 pm »
I now found out that the problem only occurs when I don't use ajax for the add-to-cart process... With ajax the umlauts and the prices come out correctly.
I don't want to use ajax though.
Additionally a second problem turned up: After switching the ajax option on and off I'm encountering problems with adding the products (with variants) to the cart. for some products I suddenly get the message "Info: please select a variant on the detail page" although I *am* on the product detail page. Switching ajax on I don't get the message an the product is placed correctly into the cart.

-- Petra

Update: The products that can't be placed into the cart are products whose attribute title contains umlauts. Again, no problem when ajax is turned on.

My conclusion (so far): Switching ajax on everything is fine. Switching ajax off leads to at least 2 problems in connection with umlauts:
1. umlauts in attribute titles - the product can't be placed into the cart (error: please select a product variant)
2. umlauts in attribute properties - the product description in the cart is messed up an the price comes out wrong.

May be that helps?

cgivre

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: [CONFIRMATION REQUIRED] attribute list and umlauts
« Reply #5 on: June 04, 2008, 14:59:48 pm »
I am having this same problem.  I am running the Joomla 1.5.3 ecommerce edition (in English).   The URL is http://209.205.39.8/~aurelcom/

I've set up products with child items and attributes and it regardless of whether or not I use the AJAX add to cart function, every time I try to add an item to the cart (either from the product fly page or from the the homepage) I get the message that I need to select product variants on the detail page.  It seems that I get this error regardless of what is selected.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks