Author Topic: https:// on Joomla? Does it work?  (Read 17105 times)

new12

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 35
https:// on Joomla? Does it work?
« on: May 31, 2008, 02:52:46 am »
I have been setting up an e-commerce site for a customer and have been trying to get https:// to work.  I go into the configuration and change SECUREURL to https://mydrhorn.net but when I go into areas set as secure it gives me a "404 Not Found" message.  How do I fix that?
Thanks,
Evan

pcjunkie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
Re: https:// on Joomla? Does it work?
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2008, 13:37:18 pm »
Joomla works fine in https although it fails to switch back to http often. Are you using SEF?

(Couldn't joomla make this native yet?)

new12

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Re: https:// on Joomla? Does it work?
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2008, 20:03:46 pm »
Nope.  I don't have SEO on.  It says: "Not Found
The requested URL /index.php was not found on this server."
Is there something that needs to be changed with the hosting?
Evan

FavoriteU

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 119
Re: https:// on Joomla? Does it work?
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2008, 22:31:31 pm »
Assuming you have told the Joomla configuration the proper place for https, consider the following as it is one possible reason for your troubles...

(This assumes your webserver is apache)

If ssl is installed properly, there is a separate directive entry in the apache httpd.conf configuration file for your domain in both standard and SSL access.  It is possible that directive is not set up properly and thus when you switch over to SSL, your web server is looking in a different place for your files.

Also note that WWW.DOMAIN.COM and DOMAIN.COM are technically two different things.  Most people will use them interchangeably, and most hosts are set-up that one is an alias to the other.  HOWEVER, this difference is important in SSL as your SSL certificate (unless its a wildcard) will only be keyed to one or the other, as it considers each a separate domain.  Furthermore, there has to be a separate entry for both in SSL even if you have a wildcard certificate.

So, my hunch is that somewhere your SSL directives are not set-up properly AND/OR your certification is keyed to only DOMAIN.COM and you are trying to access https://WWW.DOMAIN.COM (or vice versa).


hsitech

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • The Next Byte Inc.
Re: https:// on Joomla? Does it work?
« Reply #4 on: June 06, 2008, 09:35:22 am »
Im having issues too, however http://www.site.com/adminisrator is secure, its other areas not seeming to work www.wifirat.com

hsitech

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • The Next Byte Inc.
Re: https:// on Joomla? Does it work?
« Reply #5 on: June 06, 2008, 11:21:52 am »
I have been setting up an e-commerce site for a customer and have been trying to get https:// to work.  I go into the configuration and change SECUREURL to https://mydrhorn.net but when I go into areas set as secure it gives me a "404 Not Found" message.  How do I fix that?
Thanks,
Evan

did you put the / behind the secureurl like the manual said to do? did you pay for your SSL to be mydrhorn.net or www.mydrhorn.net because those are two different domains.

hsitech

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • The Next Byte Inc.
Re: https:// on Joomla? Does it work?
« Reply #6 on: June 08, 2008, 04:56:06 am »
So I get this feeling most people that use Virtuemart 1.1.0 don't worry about security or ever pay for an SSL since this seems to be a dead posting

JJRO

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
Re: https:// on Joomla? Does it work?
« Reply #7 on: June 08, 2008, 18:04:24 pm »
That's silly - virtuemart is very popular and wouldn't be around if it couldn't do SSL... I think there is a bit more going on with your site;

Warning: preg_match_all() expects parameter 2 to be string, array given in /home/oldvolks/public_html/wifirat/libraries/joomla/application/application.php on line 820
Array


Maybe your sql tables got messed up on the upgrade... did you do an upgrade? Or was it a fresh 1.1 install?

hsitech

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • The Next Byte Inc.
Re: https:// on Joomla? Does it work?
« Reply #8 on: June 08, 2008, 22:05:38 pm »
I didnt upgrade, This is a brand new install and the error came after i did the above 'fix'  So I don't get why neither paypal, google checkout talk about VirtueMart yet they do osCommerce and Zen Cart

hsitech

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • The Next Byte Inc.
Re: https:// on Joomla? Does it work?
« Reply #9 on: June 08, 2008, 22:15:13 pm »
That error comes from doing the virtuemart.cfg.php hack, I put the back up back and the error goes away so your trying to tell me that your Site JJRO is running on 1.1.0 and a 1.0 hack fixed it

new12

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Re: https:// on Joomla? Does it work?
« Reply #10 on: June 09, 2008, 02:52:52 am »
I found out that I have to buy private ssl.  Currently I have security up and running with shared ssl.  It just pops up saying that it can't verify the hosting security certificate.

hsitech

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • The Next Byte Inc.
Re: https:// on Joomla? Does it work?
« Reply #11 on: June 09, 2008, 04:14:49 am »
I have an SSL, GeoTrust paid for it installed it, still get errors

rrijnders

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: https:// on Joomla? Does it work?
« Reply #12 on: June 15, 2008, 07:53:57 am »
Am I missing something?

I set the SECUREURL in the security panel of VirtueMart, but the link for account maintenance (selected as secure) on the user side never re-direct to HTTPS. The checkout page (also selected as secure) DOES redirect to HTTPS and works.

Is there something else I have to do to get the other areas to redirect to https correctly?

Thanks in advance,
~~ rich

wassteve

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: https:// on Joomla? Does it work?
« Reply #13 on: June 16, 2008, 15:15:46 pm »
Thought I'd give a response to this which might help someone...

I was struggling with the same issue.

Switched on SSL ... got warnings in IE.

Applied the fix I found on here...courtesy of Joseph Kwan...but then the third page of the checkout went off to some random looking redirect.

I eventually discovered that changing the security settings in config of the shop rewrites the config file and removes the edits you have just uploaded....and generally seems to cause chaos.

I finally got mine working by using the following method

1. Set the secure URL and which parts of the store I want to be secure using admin config.

2. Now download the virtuemart.cfg.php file and apply the following changes to the code found at line 38 (which I took from from Josephs fix)

if ( @$_SERVER['HTTPS'] == 'on' ) {
   define( 'IMAGEURL', SECUREURL .'components/com_virtuemart/shop_image/' );
   define( 'VM_THEMEURL',SECUREURL.'components/com_virtuemart/themes/default/' );
} else {
   define( 'IMAGEURL', URL .'components/com_virtuemart/shop_image/' );
   define( 'VM_THEMEURL', URL.'components/com_virtuemart/themes/default/' );
}
define( 'VM_THEMEPATH', $mosConfig_absolute_path.'/components/com_virtuemart/themes/default/' );
define( 'VM_THEMEURL', $mosConfig_live_site.'/components/com_virtuemart/themes/default/' );

Add the lines in blue, delete the line in red.

DO NOT then go near config in the admin part of the store or you will have to do this again!!!!

Worked for me.

S

korb

  • Quality&Testing Team
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 685
  • VM 2.0 in heavy testing
    • Buy my work
Re: https:// on Joomla? Does it work?
« Reply #14 on: June 16, 2008, 15:33:33 pm »
Maybe soeren could take a look at this fix and apply it for VM 1.1.1