Author Topic: adding plugin/mambot to "short description"  (Read 53264 times)

ralphonz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
Re: adding plugin/mambot to "short description"
« Reply #15 on: October 31, 2008, 05:45:39 am »
Hi,

Thanks for this Hack it works a treat.  Was just hoping that someone could help me get this working for the cart.  I have imported my short product descriptions there but the mambots won't work.  I have a feeling i need to add the same code to another file but i'm not sure which one or where!

If anyone can help it will be much appreciated,

The code I used to import the short description to the cart can be found here: http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=20515.0

Thanks!

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 26055
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Keswick, Lake District

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Now away on vacation

svhresi

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: adding plugin/mambot to "short description"
« Reply #17 on: October 31, 2008, 16:34:05 pm »
Thanks for the link...it works nice.

tranzistor

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: adding plugin/mambot to "short description"
« Reply #18 on: November 12, 2009, 16:44:42 pm »
i used allvideoplugin and is working  great!

Big T

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: adding plugin/mambot to "short description"
« Reply #19 on: August 12, 2010, 17:45:23 pm »
Plugins can normally only be used within the long description. But they can be used in the short description with a simple code hack.

In shop.browse.php find the following code around line 403

Code: [Select]
$product_details = $VM_LANG->_('PHPSHOP_FLYPAGE_LBL');

Immediately before that line insert the following

Code: [Select]
$product_s_desc = vmCommonHTML::ParseContentByPlugins( $product_s_desc );

shop.browse.php is located in /administrator/components/com_virtuemart/html/

This has been tested with 1 PixelOut Audio Player 1.5.1 on Joomla 1.5.3 with VirtueMart 1.1 final. I do not know if this hack has security implications, but it works for me.


Do i have to put in above the { or under the {.
In both ways i just see {audio}beat.mp3{/audio} but if i put that in a article it shows the 1 pixel out player.
How can i fix this.
I have the latest vm installed correct.

Big T

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: adding plugin/mambot to "short description"
« Reply #20 on: August 12, 2010, 17:54:22 pm »
And i have the latest joomla.
It dont work and i need it working fast.
The goal of my site is selling my hiphop beats online but it NEEDS a preview and it need to be userfriendly.

jayskibob

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 49
Re: adding plugin/mambot to "short description"
« Reply #21 on: October 07, 2010, 10:25:04 am »
the code should read

Code: [Select]
}
$product_s_desc = vmCommonHTML::ParseContentByPlugins( $product_s_desc );
$product_details = $VM_LANG->_('PHPSHOP_FLYPAGE_LBL');


This works great for me - except in the flypage i get the code for the short desc plugin displayed at the top of the screen.
see example:
http://uberdigitalrecordings.com/index.php?page=shop.product_details&flypage=coddii_fly_music.tpl&product_id=3&category_id=3&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=173

Can anyone help with this?

jayskibob

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 49
Re: adding plugin/mambot to "short description"
« Reply #22 on: October 22, 2010, 10:51:41 am »
can anyone help me with this issue?

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 26055
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: adding plugin/mambot to "short description"
« Reply #23 on: October 22, 2010, 11:25:53 am »
You don't need to edit anything for plugins to work on the product details flypage in VM1.1.5. The code is already present in shop.product_details.php - around line 115 you should find:
$product_description = vmCommonHTML::ParseContentByPlugins( $product_description );
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Keswick, Lake District

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Now away on vacation

jayskibob

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 49
Re: adding plugin/mambot to "short description"
« Reply #24 on: October 25, 2010, 10:41:54 am »
Hey

Thank you for your reply -

The issue I'm having is this. I want a plugin to work in the short desc within the browse page so that I could offer a preview of an mp3 on an album. this is why I edit the code above.

This has worked fine and the short desc in browse page now displays the plugin required. see http://uberdigitalrecordings.com/index.php?page=shop.browse&category_id=17&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=173

I also added the plugin tag to the long desc so that it would show on the main product page (fly page)... but when I do this I get the plugin displaying correctly in the long desc but also at the top of my page as html text (which is being pulled from the short desc) but I can't seem to find out why.
see http://uberdigitalrecordings.com/index.php?page=shop.product_details&flypage=coddii_fly_music.tpl&product_id=31&category_id=17&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=173

This is obviously not what we want to achieve. Any help in identifying how to fix this issue would be greatly received.

Thank you in advance

p.s.
Joomla V 1.5.15
virtuemart v 1.1.5
php 5.2.10
plugin used is mp3 Browser

[attachment cleanup by admin]

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 26055
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: adding plugin/mambot to "short description"
« Reply #25 on: October 25, 2010, 15:22:30 pm »
I don't see that at all, but I do see a JavaScript error in IE8 relating to the pixelplayer.

Joomla 1.5.15 has known security issues. Upgrading to 1.5.21 is highly recommended.
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Keswick, Lake District

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Now away on vacation

jayskibob

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 49
Re: adding plugin/mambot to "short description"
« Reply #26 on: October 25, 2010, 15:40:30 pm »
updating now -

what i don't understand is why the flypage is calling the short desc?

this is what you have pointed out in regards to the java script error

any ideas?

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 26055
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: adding plugin/mambot to "short description"
« Reply #27 on: October 25, 2010, 23:03:33 pm »
No idea, but you do have heacvily customised bowse/flypage templates
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Keswick, Lake District

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Now away on vacation

jayskibob

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 49
Re: adding plugin/mambot to "short description"
« Reply #28 on: October 26, 2010, 10:39:31 am »
It's just a template from Coddii that I have installed. No hacks apart from adding plugin to short desc as described in this forum.

This is driving me insane. Let me know if you have any thoughts 

orasis

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 39
Re: adding plugin/mambot to "short description"
« Reply #29 on: January 20, 2011, 19:21:38 pm »
Hi, it all worked great for me, but anyone knows if is there some way to remove the code that appears in the rss feeds now ?

cheers