Author Topic: How to set up related products  (Read 23117 times)

paulsch

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: How to set up related products
« Reply #30 on: May 29, 2008, 11:31:11 am »
Now it works for me. ;D
The Problem was the Version of the Database. My Version was 3.23.58 . I updatet the
Database to Version 4.1.22 and it works great. Now i can start with my shop.
If you make a update to an new Version be sure that you have a Backup of your Database, downgrade is not possible only if you drop the Database and import the older one again.

samoht

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 104
Re: How to set up related products
« Reply #31 on: May 29, 2008, 12:59:14 pm »
it makes sense that the AJAX wont speak to the server (or will get stuck while connecting) if the server is running old versions of MySql and php. The developers could probably write some backwards compatible script - but it would be better for people on there local servers to update there server software.
I use Joomla 1.5! and VM 1.1

Mackelito

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
Re: How to set up related products
« Reply #32 on: May 29, 2008, 13:58:13 pm »
Problem is still there for me... I have been running Database Version: 4.1.21-standard and PHP Version: 5.2.3.

Could it be fixed by upgrading from version 4.1.21 to 4.1.22????

Tachikoma

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
Re: How to set up related products
« Reply #33 on: May 29, 2008, 17:08:05 pm »
Ok, so on hostgator where related products work, I have:

Apache version 1.3.37 (Unix)
PHP version 4.4.4
MySQL version 4.1.22-standard

And on My server, where it does not, I have:

Apache/1.3.34
PHP/4.4.4
MySQL 3.23.33

Based on these alone, could it be that I need a more recent version of MySQL?
Joomla 1.5.4 on Siteground
Virtuemart 1.1.1

Mackelito

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
Re: How to set up related products
« Reply #34 on: May 30, 2008, 12:27:44 pm »
hmmm... perhaps that could be the problem.. but it would seem strange to me that basic fuctions in VM would require such a "new" version of mysql... most of the hosts still run MySQL 4 right?

Mackelito

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
Re: How to set up related products
« Reply #35 on: May 30, 2008, 12:28:32 pm »
If this is the problem.. is there a workaround if I canĀ“t get my host to update the mysql?

Mackelito

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
Re: How to set up related products
« Reply #36 on: May 30, 2008, 16:18:50 pm »
perhaps not to use AJAX?

Mackelito

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
Re: How to set up related products
« Reply #37 on: June 02, 2008, 15:57:55 pm »
Any ideas?

Tachikoma

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
Re: How to set up related products
« Reply #38 on: June 02, 2008, 17:55:57 pm »
I didnt even touch this this weekend. Hopefully tomorrow I can have more.
Joomla 1.5.4 on Siteground
Virtuemart 1.1.1

jaddi01

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
Re: How to set up related products
« Reply #39 on: June 09, 2008, 11:10:50 am »
*Bump*

Any new developments?  Upgrading our SQL if that is the solution, is pretty much a no no for us.  So any other suggestions would be welcomed.

Mackelito

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
Re: How to set up related products
« Reply #40 on: June 10, 2008, 15:45:25 pm »
So strange... I tried installing it on another account... same server... no problem???

This lead me to think something was wrong with the files.. perhaps an error when uploading but I re uploaded the files and still the same issue...

Mackelito

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
Re: How to set up related products
« Reply #41 on: June 11, 2008, 08:25:09 am »
On the site that dont work we used CVSimproved to import from another VM shop (version 1.0)...

Could that be the problem? Perhaps some database related issue?

maxmillion

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: How to set up related products
« Reply #42 on: June 11, 2008, 22:12:35 pm »
Hi Guys, just wanted to share my feedback here.
I had this same issue, Related Products just wont work until I typed in the full category name ( just pick any name from your existing categories ) like Music, Speakers, etc, whatever you got!

Type in the full category name in the related products search field and it should automatically load all products available in that category for you to select. Just make sure the full name word is typed and no spelling mistakes.

I spent about 2 days banging my head here and the solution was right in front of me without any coding / debugging required.

I hope this helps!
Worked for me.
Thanks 

Mackelito

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
Re: How to set up related products
« Reply #43 on: June 11, 2008, 23:26:31 pm »
tried it.. no good :(

chrisb123

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: How to set up related products
« Reply #44 on: June 23, 2008, 04:00:27 am »
You're admin session may have timed out, try logging back into your admin panel and go straight to the option and try again