Author Topic: How to set up related products  (Read 22847 times)

doyley3

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
How to set up related products
« on: May 05, 2008, 20:02:03 pm »
Hi sorry if this is really basic, but i've set up some products under a category and am trying to add related products, but when i type in a name to search for products and categories box it returns no entries?

Have I set them up wrong?

doyley3

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: How to set up related products
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2008, 00:41:08 am »
I'm using joomla 1.5.3 and virtuemart 1.1 stable. no dropdown option to add for related products

samoht

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 104
Re: How to set up related products
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2008, 01:52:11 am »
did you try typing the name of the category - or the name of a product?

I am using the same config as you and have no problems if I type in the name of the category
I use Joomla 1.5! and VM 1.1

doyley3

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: How to set up related products
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2008, 01:59:08 am »
Hi yes it does a little search and comes back with nothing, either products or categories.

paulsch

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: How to set up related products
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2008, 16:45:11 pm »
Hi,

i have the same problem. Im using VM1.1 and Joomla 1.0.15 . There's no way to add Related Products. Is there a way to fix it.

Greets Paulsch

Mackelito

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
Re: How to set up related products
« Reply #5 on: May 16, 2008, 13:02:45 pm »
Hi,
i have the same problem. Im using VM1.1 and Joomla 1.0.15 . There's no way to add Related Products. Is there a way to fix it.
Greets Paulsch

Using same versions and have the same problem... any solution?

mylearningspace

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: How to set up related products
« Reply #6 on: May 18, 2008, 06:17:28 am »
if category isnt working...

-go to vm admin in simple or extended layout
-go to product list
-select a product
-select last tab 'related products'
-type a keyword should display product results
-click each result to relate to product
-save & voila!

see attached file

[attachment cleanup by admin]

Mackelito

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
Re: How to set up related products
« Reply #7 on: May 18, 2008, 12:49:40 pm »
Well that would be great... but like we said in previous post that is just the thing that doesn't work :(:(

pcjunkie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
Re: How to set up related products
« Reply #8 on: May 19, 2008, 06:59:12 am »
I have this too. The java is opening and then closing again very quickly. Is there a way to prevent this?

[edit] My bad. A little experimentation goes a long way...

Its not picking up on the categories exactly but the first word or each product in the tree

Mackelito

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
Re: How to set up related products
« Reply #9 on: May 19, 2008, 10:25:59 am »
I have this too. The java is opening and then closing again very quickly. Is there a way to prevent this?
[edit] My bad. A little experimentation goes a long way...
Its not picking up on the categories exactly but the first word or each product in the tree

So it works for you?

paulsch

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: How to set up related products
« Reply #10 on: May 20, 2008, 12:01:08 pm »
Is there really no way to fix this problem. Has nobody a idea. This problem makes me crazy.
 :-[
Paulsch

jaddi01

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
Re: How to set up related products
« Reply #11 on: May 22, 2008, 16:04:34 pm »
Virtumart 1.1 and Joomla 1.5 same issue!  Tried in both firefox and IE, no way to add related products.

Tachikoma

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
Re: How to set up related products
« Reply #12 on: May 22, 2008, 22:06:55 pm »
Yeah, this problem is really annoying.
I am having the same problem.

The related items dropdown doesn't have any products loaded in the list.
When I enter a search phrase in the dropdown, a search application loads quickly, but then vanishes.

Which include or other php file controls this, maybe we can debug.

Even after a fresh install when everything else is working fine, this problem still persists.

Any developers, please advise!

Thanks,
Brian
Joomla 1.5.4 on Siteground
Virtuemart 1.1.1

Tachikoma

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
Re: How to set up related products
« Reply #13 on: May 23, 2008, 22:29:57 pm »
You know... Even though this function is described in the user manual, I think the developers left it out...
If anyone does have related products working, can you let us know what version you are using, and where you downloaded it from?
Better still, can you compare your list of functions under the Products module to this list:

changePublishState
csvFieldAdd
csvFieldDelete
csvFieldUpdate
deleteProductFile
discountAdd
discountDelete
discountUpdate
export_csv
insertDownloadsForProduct
moveProduct
productAdd
productAttributeAdd
productAttributeDelete
productAttributeUpdate
productCategoryAdd
productCategoryDelete
productCategoryUpdate
productDelete
productPriceAdd
productPriceDelete
productPriceUpdate
productProductTypeAdd
productProductTypeDelete
ProductTypeAdd
ProductTypeAddParam
ProductTypeDelete
ProductTypeDeleteParam
ProductTypeReorder
ProductTypeReorderParam
ProductTypeUpdate
ProductTypeUpdateParam
productUpdate
product_csv
reorder
reviewUpdate
updateProductFile
uploadProductFile

I swear, I dont see any function that looks anyhting like "Related Products" or "Add related...".

Can a developer confirm that there should be such a function in this module's list for the management of related products?

This is really annoying, not to be able to add related items...
Joomla 1.5.4 on Siteground
Virtuemart 1.1.1

samoht

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 104
Re: How to set up related products
« Reply #14 on: May 24, 2008, 00:13:23 am »
I am not a developer but,

in ps_product.php you have the functions: add, insert, and delete - which all have the code for updating the datebase with the related products.

however - it seems that you might want to check the code on product.product_form.php around line 984 and following
Also, at the end of the page is a javascript function
Code: [Select]
var searchField = function(){around line 1400 that should be were the problem is??

I am running the same config as several posters here and the related products works fine for me so I doubt a developer would be able to tell what is wrong based on the little info given.

Hope this helps
I use Joomla 1.5! and VM 1.1