Author Topic: Display product item  (Read 11229 times)

pg

• Beginner
Display product item
« on: April 27, 2008, 00:41:16 am »
I'm new to virtuemart and learning how things work.  I know there's a number of modules but I can't find a way to display a product item directly.  For example the product categories module displays a link to the products but I don't see a module or parameter that will allow the product itself to display on the page.

Mike

• Beginner
Re: Display product item
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2008, 04:05:54 am »
Where are you wanting to display just a single product? In a module or a joomla content item? If a content item is what you are after then the mambot product snapshot will help with this.

If not let me know, what and where you want just one product showing and I will have a look at the modules and see what I can find. I have never tried to have just one item showing all of the time other than in a content item, so I have no idea if it could be accomplished with the current modules. As normally a random selection is good.

pg

• Beginner
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2008, 05:27:37 am »
My idea is to use virtuemart with expose gallery.  Someone did manage to get the two working together but I have a different idea about using the two components. 

Expose photo gallery would be displayed on the page with a virtuemart module published on the same page.  There is only one product type (a photograph) and I would add a text field where a user could input a short product ID to differentiate photos.  The user would click "add to cart" after writing the ID and selecting the size and the order is created.

It seems as though using the product category module would work although it would add an extra step to a purchase.  Not knowing much about virtuemart please let me know if my idea just doesn't make sense, still a lot to learn.

Mike

• Beginner
« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2008, 21:24:28 pm »