Author Topic: Problem adding a subproduct to the cart  (Read 7099 times)

spacialek

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
    • Xaomé - Intégration Joomla
Problem adding a subproduct to the cart
« on: April 16, 2008, 05:50:19 am »
Hi,

I'm trying to add child products with attributes to a product, but when I select the 1st item (on the frontend), it shows an error message telling me to select an article, it appears to happen only when I select the first item in the list, the other ones are telling me that the article has been added to the cart....


jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 27480
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Problem adding a subproduct to the cart
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2008, 10:45:33 am »
If you think you have identified a bud in VM1.1 please use the reporting template: http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=31709.0

First check that you have the latest VM1.1 build as this issue may have been fixed: http://dev.virtuemart.net/cb/proj/doc.do?doc_id=1328
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM 3.4.3.10057 on Joomla 3.9.10 PHP 7.0.33
Testing VM 3.5.0.10097 on Joomla 3.9.10

spacialek

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
    • Xaomé - Intégration Joomla
Re: Problem adding a subproduct to the cart
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2008, 19:02:53 pm »
I installed the last nightly build, and the problem described in my previous post is still there, so maybe it's a bug.

VirtueMart Version: 1.1.0 RC3 (today's nightly build - April 16th)
Joomla Version: 1.5.2

To see the problem in action, you can go to this URL :
http://www.xaome.ca/decorsnathalie/gateaux-couches?page=shop.product_details&flypage=decorsnathalie.tpl&product_id=27&category_id=25
and select the first product in the select menu (Test 1 - Couleur Rose),  and press "Ajouter au panier" (Add to cart), an error message will pop up telling to select a product first.  If you try the other products on select menu, the problem doesn't occurs.

System info:
Operating system: Windows XP SP2
Webserver: Linux hp11
PHP Version:  4.4.8
MySQL Version: 4.1.22-standard-log

incogboy

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Problem adding a subproduct to the cart
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2008, 19:19:49 pm »
I had tried your shop. But it working well....


Sorry for my bad english...

spacialek

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
    • Xaomé - Intégration Joomla
Re: Problem adding a subproduct to the cart
« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2008, 20:23:27 pm »
I had tried your shop. But it working well....
Sorry for my bad english...

Hi Incogboy,

with whitch browser did you tried my shop ?  I'm trying it on two computers, on different browsers, and the problem still happening everywhere !

Did you really choose the first menu "Test 1 - Couleur Rose - 62,03 $" in the dropdown menu ?

By the way, don't be sorry about your english, I'm french and I'm not pretty comfortable with my english too !  ;)

Thanks !

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 27480
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Problem adding a subproduct to the cart
« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2008, 23:47:24 pm »
Worked OK for me with Firefox & Safari on WinXP
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM 3.4.3.10057 on Joomla 3.9.10 PHP 7.0.33
Testing VM 3.5.0.10097 on Joomla 3.9.10

incogboy

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Problem adding a subproduct to the cart
« Reply #6 on: April 17, 2008, 08:00:34 am »
Hi Incogboy,
with whitch browser did you tried my shop ?  I'm trying it on two computers, on different browsers, and the problem still happening everywhere !
Did you really choose the first menu "Test 1 - Couleur Rose - 62,03 $" in the dropdown menu ?
By the way, don't be sorry about your english, I'm french and I'm not pretty comfortable with my english too !  ;)
Thanks !

I used Firefox 2.x I have been try all include the first menu...

spacialek

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
    • Xaomé - Intégration Joomla
Re: Problem adding a subproduct to the cart
« Reply #7 on: April 18, 2008, 17:28:33 pm »
Hi,

I'm still having the same problem, wherever I try... 
When you select the first item in the select menu, if you look at the cart, is the new product showing in the list ? 

Thanks !

aravot

  • Peter
  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2874
    • VirtueMart Extensions
Re: Problem adding a subproduct to the cart
« Reply #8 on: April 18, 2008, 18:19:06 pm »
I don't get error message but do get "Votre panier est actuellement vide" (Your basket is empty).

spacialek

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
    • Xaomé - Intégration Joomla
Re: Problem adding a subproduct to the cart
« Reply #9 on: April 18, 2008, 18:45:29 pm »
When I select the first product in the list, I get this error message:

"Sélectionnez un article dans la fiche du produit"
english traduction : "To add this product into your cart you have to select a product variant on the details page."

instead of:

 "Le produit a été ajouté à votre panier" ou "La quantité à été mise à jour"
english traduction: "The product was added to your cart." or "The product quantity has been updated."


spacialek

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
    • Xaomé - Intégration Joomla
Re: Problem adding a subproduct to the cart
« Reply #11 on: April 18, 2008, 19:40:13 pm »
you get the same message of me !  it's saying to select a product variant on the details page, but the product is already selected...  so  maybe it's not a real "error" message, but more a warning message telling us that the selection is not  made, but at the end it makes it impossible to add the first item to the cart... it's why I telling it's an error message  ;D

[attachment cleanup by admin]

aravot

  • Peter
  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2874
    • VirtueMart Extensions
Re: Problem adding a subproduct to the cart
« Reply #12 on: April 18, 2008, 19:49:56 pm »
If I get the same message than it is wrong, I have to create a child product on my test site to make sure you haven't skipped a step.

spacialek

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
    • Xaomé - Intégration Joomla
Re: Problem adding a subproduct to the cart
« Reply #13 on: April 29, 2008, 19:43:19 pm »
Hi,

I installed the stable version of VirtueMart 1.1 and the same problem is still happening.... 

Is this problem happening to other peoples ?

Thanks

spacialek

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
    • Xaomé - Intégration Joomla
Re: Problem adding a subproduct to the cart
« Reply #14 on: May 01, 2008, 06:15:31 am »
I deleted the first product and made another one instead, and it's working well right now, I still don't understand why it was happening before ... Well if the problem comes back and I can point out in which circumstances, I'll tell here !

I have another problem tough, I really can't find out how to reorganize the child elements in the list box, and I don't understand in which order it's being processed, it seems all mixed up and not the chronological way I entered them.  Is there a way to define the order?