Author Topic: [Fixed] romanian translation still doesn't work!  (Read 10168 times)

korb

  • Quality&Testing Team
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 685
  • VM 2.0 in heavy testing
    • Buy my work
[Fixed] romanian translation still doesn't work!
« on: March 31, 2008, 01:27:11 am »
Even with the RC3 version of VM 1.1, the language still shows other characters than the real and good ones.
Pls give a hint for this problem

UPDATE: all language files from your language must use the UTF-8 Charset, instead of ISO 85....

Pisu

  • Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 451
  • ..still looking for..
    • Blog di Stefano Bagnatica
Re: romanian translation still doesn't work!
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2008, 09:32:32 am »
Romanian language was not yet updated in RC3. Please if you can, correct translation / charset and post here the final package...
Pisu - Team VMItalia (Supporto Italiano VirtueMart)
www.stefanobagnatica.it | www.vmitalia.net

korb

  • Quality&Testing Team
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 685
  • VM 2.0 in heavy testing
    • Buy my work
Re: romanian translation still doesn't work!
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2008, 01:27:48 am »
OK
But how am I gonna do that if there are modifications in the charset? I make the modifications again from unicode to iso 8859?
ISO 8859 will be the final charset?
Thanks

Pisu

  • Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 451
  • ..still looking for..
    • Blog di Stefano Bagnatica
Re: romanian translation still doesn't work!
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2008, 08:08:07 am »
You can set the charset as you want! There are no "final charset" in VM 1.1, each language file can be set individually, changing the "CHARSET" property inside language file code.
Pisu - Team VMItalia (Supporto Italiano VirtueMart)
www.stefanobagnatica.it | www.vmitalia.net

korb

  • Quality&Testing Team
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 685
  • VM 2.0 in heavy testing
    • Buy my work
Re: romanian translation still doesn't work!
« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2008, 19:44:37 pm »
Hi Pisu

I tried to rebuild the translation pack with Language File Editor, and after I make some adjustments, and click apply, ” ț ”  becomes ” ? ” again like from the start. So it doesn-t work.
If I change the line named ”Charset” in every lang file for VM, what exactly should I write there for Unicode-UTF8 insted of ”ISO-8859-1”? Because this is the only charset working with romanian specific characters. Or should I simply delete that line named ”Charset” ?

Thanks and waiting for next reply
Ciao


korb

  • Quality&Testing Team
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 685
  • VM 2.0 in heavy testing
    • Buy my work
Re: romanian translation still doesn't work!
« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2008, 20:23:58 pm »
Found the answer myself:
Instead of ”iso-8859-1” I wrote ”UTF-8” and it works!

I hope no errors will occur.

Cheers

Pisu

  • Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 451
  • ..still looking for..
    • Blog di Stefano Bagnatica
Re: romanian translation still doesn't work!
« Reply #6 on: April 02, 2008, 17:40:09 pm »
Yes, I confirm that the string to set is "UTF-8".
And, you have to change this BEFORE using the language manager.

And, you should firstly really convert all romanian files to UTF-8 encoding (for existing strings), you can do it for example with an editor like Notepad++ on Geany, but there are also other tools.
Pisu - Team VMItalia (Supporto Italiano VirtueMart)
www.stefanobagnatica.it | www.vmitalia.net

korb

  • Quality&Testing Team
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 685
  • VM 2.0 in heavy testing
    • Buy my work
Re: romanian translation still doesn't work!
« Reply #7 on: April 03, 2008, 15:42:22 pm »
Man, i cannot use langauge manager because of the time session. I did this mistake once, translated about 50 code lines, and when i click apply, joomla asks me to login. The best way to translate is with dreamweaver.
Cheers

Pisu

  • Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 451
  • ..still looking for..
    • Blog di Stefano Bagnatica
Re: romanian translation still doesn't work!
« Reply #8 on: April 15, 2008, 19:03:31 pm »
Man, i cannot use langauge manager because of the time session. I did this mistake once, translated about 50 code lines, and when i click apply, joomla asks me to login. The best way to translate is with dreamweaver.
Cheers

You can set a greater value for session in Joomla config. Or, click "Apply" each 5/10 minutes.
Pisu - Team VMItalia (Supporto Italiano VirtueMart)
www.stefanobagnatica.it | www.vmitalia.net

korb

  • Quality&Testing Team
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 685
  • VM 2.0 in heavy testing
    • Buy my work
Re: romanian translation still doesn't work!
« Reply #9 on: April 16, 2008, 12:24:48 pm »
Thanks for the tip, but I'm used to press Ctrl+S for save, and everytime I do that, appears the window for saving the web page. The real inconvenience here is that I must scroll top for apply, and then scroll back down, and lose time finding the last translated string.
Ciao

vmajor

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: [Fixed] romanian translation still doesn't work!
« Reply #10 on: August 06, 2008, 16:10:33 pm »
Where are these files that I need to change to UTF-8?

What language file code? Where are the CHARSET strings?

To VM guys, is it so hard to include this information somewhere? I wasted 1 hour looking for a solution to my ????? ???? ?????? ???? problem and I still have no idea what to do.

Can you not just answer the questions in one place in stepwise fashion that does not require me know how to hack VM? Learning to hack VM is also a waste of time so I'd rather not have to do that.

V.