Author Topic: Upgrade from 1.0.13a to 1.1?  (Read 3824 times)

Mike C

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 165
Upgrade from 1.0.13a to 1.1?
« on: January 28, 2008, 11:28:42 am »
I just tried to install the nightly build but it says something is already using the com_virtuemart folder... Does the nightly build not do upgrades?

rangkuk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
Re: Upgrade from 1.0.13a to 1.1?
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2008, 12:07:11 pm »
i think u can up from 1.0.13a to 1.0.14 (coming soon) because this version design for J 1.0.x. 1.1 design for 1.5

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 27780
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Upgrade from 1.0.13a to 1.1?
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2008, 13:30:38 pm »
I just tried to install the nightly build but it says something is already using the com_virtuemart folder... Does the nightly build not do upgrades?

What versions Joomla & VM are you trying to "update" with the latest nightly? Sounds like you have not uninstalled a previous version of VM.
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM 3.8.4.10335 on Joomla 3.9.19 PHP 7.3.18

Mike C

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 165
Re: Upgrade from 1.0.13a to 1.1?
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2008, 18:46:06 pm »
Virtuemart 1.0.13a and Joomla 1.0.13.. And yes, I have not uninstalled VM, didn't realize I had to as I thought it was some sort of upgrade component.  You see, I have products in the shopping cart (database) so if I uninstall, I'd lose that stuff I imagine. Perhaps I should just wait until the RC is out?

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 27780
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Upgrade from 1.0.13a to 1.1?
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2008, 19:17:04 pm »
If you have a live production site then you should wait until the final stable version is released. No harm in setting up a duplicate site though with VM1.1 installed so you can help with testing?

There will be an upgrade script available at a later date.
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM 3.8.4.10335 on Joomla 3.9.19 PHP 7.3.18

Mike C

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 165
Re: Upgrade from 1.0.13a to 1.1?
« Reply #5 on: January 28, 2008, 19:39:34 pm »
Well, no it's not a live production site, yet. I'm actually evaluating three ecommerce applications: VM 1.1, Freeway and Magento.  I looked in the back end admino of the 1.1 demo but there is no customer or order information in there and that's why I wanted to install it on my site, so I could see how those features work in the new 1.1 version......