Author Topic: CSV Import in Virtuemart V1.1.0 Beta  (Read 5558 times)

madscotsman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 129
    • Nav-e-gate4less - Reduced price GPS mapping software including Anquet, Memory Map and Fugawi, Magellan handheld GPS, Garmin GPS accessories
CSV Import in Virtuemart V1.1.0 Beta
« on: January 01, 2008, 12:13:28 pm »
Hi All!

I have tried importing using the CSV function. I get a message saying that the "Simulation" generated no errors but there is no button to press to take it past the simulation stage. I have tried this with 2 different CSV files and exactly the same happens. I have checked if there are any products added to the shop but there are none!!!

I have also tried CSV improved but that doesn't seem to make any difference.

Any suggestions??

iqapps1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 651
Re: CSV Import in Virtuemart V1.1.0 Beta
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2008, 15:35:20 pm »
Hi

It's old problem since rev 8xx... before you can see butons in FF but problem is there to.

Regards
IQAPPS

RolandD

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 780
    • Home of CSVI
Re: CSV Import in Virtuemart V1.1.0 Beta
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2008, 18:20:43 pm »
This is caused by the CSV program not to be able to write a file to the cache folder of your Joomla installation. Make sure you have enough write permissions there.
Regards,

RolandD

CSVI
http://www.csvimproved.com/

iqapps1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 651
Re: CSV Import in Virtuemart V1.1.0 Beta
« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2008, 19:40:06 pm »
Hi Roland!

This is caused by the CSV program not to be able to write a file to the cache folder of your Joomla installation. Make sure you have enough write permissions there.

This has nothingto do with write premissions on chace cat....it's problem in IE7...

Regards
IQAPPS

RolandD

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 780
    • Home of CSVI
Re: CSV Import in Virtuemart V1.1.0 Beta
« Reply #4 on: January 01, 2008, 22:09:04 pm »
Hey IQAPPS,

Not sure if I understand the problem then. CSV Improved does not show a continue button on the preview screen if it cannot write to the cache folder. That is why I mentioned it. Then again, if this relates to the VM CSV Import that is code I dont support.
Regards,

RolandD

CSVI
http://www.csvimproved.com/

madscotsman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 129
    • Nav-e-gate4less - Reduced price GPS mapping software including Anquet, Memory Map and Fugawi, Magellan handheld GPS, Garmin GPS accessories
Re: CSV Import in Virtuemart V1.1.0 Beta
« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2008, 22:06:49 pm »
The problem I was discussion was to do with the VM CSV import code. I mentioned CSV improved as I had tried that but I didn't realise that I needed to set up a template and that it had to be setup exactly as the CSV file generated by the VM CSV code creates! I have set up a template in CSV improved and it does work.

By the way it was firefox that I was using for both the VM and CSV improved and I do have sufficient write permissions in the media folder!!

So the conclusion is that VM CSV import code does not work, although the export code does, and the CSV improved component does work but you need to set up a working template to get it to work!

Should here not be a facility to export the template from CSV improved?? The reason for asking is that I am currently testing VM 1.1.0 on Joomla V1.0.13 and 1.5 RC4, so rather than go through the process of setting up a template twice, I would quite like to be able to export the template!

iqapps1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 651
Re: CSV Import in Virtuemart V1.1.0 Beta
« Reply #6 on: January 03, 2008, 22:28:14 pm »
Hi
Try to change as I write in this topic and test please....

http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=27565.0

Regards
IQAPPS

RolandD

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 780
    • Home of CSVI
Re: CSV Import in Virtuemart V1.1.0 Beta
« Reply #7 on: January 04, 2008, 00:18:22 am »
2madscotsman
If you use CSV Improved 0.8 beta 4 it has the option to export templates and template fields. These are 2 separate exports.

To do this:
1. Go to the export page
2. Choose export type of template details (or words of similar)
3. Choose the template
4. Click export

The export will generate a csv file with your template settings or template fields depending on the export type you chose. There is one thing to think about. If you export template settings that have the same delimiters as the template you use to export you can get some funny results trying to import it again. Fields can look like ~blah~^~~~^. This is a valid export but it can't import because there are 3 the same characters.
Regards,

RolandD

CSVI
http://www.csvimproved.com/