Author Topic: [DEV INPUT NEEDED] product taxable or not  (Read 9165 times)

Anthony C.

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 286
[DEV INPUT NEEDED] product taxable or not
« on: October 03, 2007, 00:03:47 am »
There was a modification long time ago.
It allows us to setup the item nontaxable (meal replacement food)

can this feature be done in the new one?

The post that provides the code:
http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=21332.msg73420#msg73420

Thank you,

Anthony

aravot

  • Peter
  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2874
    • VirtueMart Extensions
Re: [FEATURE REQEUST]product taxable or not
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2007, 04:25:55 am »
I was testing tax options and was about to request for the same, we need a 'nontaxable' option.

Anthony C.

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 286
Re: [FEATURE REQEUST]product taxable or not
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2007, 20:31:16 pm »
Should I try to do the modification and submit for testing?

Where should I post the codes later?

Anthony


Anthony C.

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 286
Re: [FEATURE REQEUST]product taxable or not
« Reply #4 on: October 05, 2007, 20:22:14 pm »
Hi,

here is the file

VM Version:  VM 1.1 r967

Setting:
in Shopper Group setting
Show Prices including tax?:  NO    <---- this is a must

in configuration setting:
Tax mode: Based on Shipping Address    <---- This is a must


Please test if this is okay.

Anthony


[attachment cleanup by admin]

aravot

  • Peter
  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2874
    • VirtueMart Extensions
Re: [FEATURE REQEUST]product taxable or not
« Reply #5 on: October 05, 2007, 21:39:45 pm »
Did a bit of testing it works.

Two suggestions.

1. In backend if possible when 'Product Taxable' is 'No' than don't adjust Gross price.

2. If possible instead of having a radio button add 'none' or 'none taxable' to the VAT Id drop down list, like discount type.

aravot

  • Peter
  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2874
    • VirtueMart Extensions
Re: [DEV INPUT NEEDED] product taxable or not
« Reply #6 on: October 28, 2007, 08:21:36 am »
Question for VM developers, what do you think of this?

gregdev

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 968
    • PlainlyCode
Re: [DEV INPUT NEEDED] product taxable or not
« Reply #7 on: November 01, 2007, 17:13:47 pm »
To make this complete, you should search for all occurrences of TAX_VIRTUAL and see whether changes need to be made in other places too. Not all places need changes, but some do.

Greg

aravot

  • Peter
  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2874
    • VirtueMart Extensions
Re: [DEV INPUT NEEDED] product taxable or not
« Reply #8 on: November 01, 2007, 17:20:19 pm »
Can this feature bee added to VM core, it is very useful for a site that uses taxable and none taxable products.

Davey D

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 45
Re: [DEV INPUT NEEDED] product taxable or not
« Reply #9 on: January 16, 2008, 19:48:40 pm »
Any update on this - desperately need a taxable and non-taxable solution for v1.0.13a. A few of our sales are for services (non-tangible) that we cannot charge tax on.


unleash.it

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 150
Re: [DEV INPUT NEEDED] product taxable or not
« Reply #11 on: January 16, 2008, 21:49:19 pm »
I will post an update here for the changes I made to get it to work with the current VM 1.1. Davey D... I'm sorry to say but unless you are pretty skilled in CSS & PHP, plus have a lot of time on your hands to solve problems, I wouldn't recommend going with the beta for now. Just my two cents after spending 2 months on my site! When it becomes stable, it should be good.

unleash.it

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 150
Re: [DEV INPUT NEEDED] product taxable or not
« Reply #12 on: January 17, 2008, 08:20:35 am »