Author Topic: Product Builder  (Read 75106 times)

whiplash13

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Product Builder
« Reply #15 on: September 18, 2007, 20:58:13 pm »
Excellent so is there anything else any of the contributors would like to see in this mod?  Are there any people that want to add something and add a contribution?  The more the merrier.   I think we should lock the requirements by the end of the week so Mark can get coding.  Also we need to figure out the money piece if he is going to formally agree to accept the project.  Sorry to take the lead on this but I am a Softwae Development Project Manger by trade.

Iimagine  a  campaign for a typical sets /bundle valid for that set and campaign only. So this would probably mean the capability of the store owner appointing a temporary or parmanent  part number or a bundle name and locking the default selection to the users  . (This would mean that
it is a products ready for a sale like chiled /parent items on the standard VM categories under trims or assemblies categories)  
Surely the default selections for each builder category is a must and a user friendly time saving feature . So we are infact on the same boat!

Dustundag,
Are you saying that the product should either be configurable by the user or by the store owner as a seperate product #?  or are you saying that it should only be configurable by the store owner?  In my applicaton I definaly want the user to cinfgure the product and would probably never have a use for the latter other than suggesting a configuration that they could then modify if they so choose.


macallf

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2411
    • Mark Callf Design
Re: Product Builder
« Reply #16 on: September 18, 2007, 21:33:46 pm »
Iimagine  a  campaign for a typical sets /bundle valid for that set and campaign only. So this would probably mean the capability of the store owner appointing a temporary or parmanent  part number or a bundle name and locking the default selection to the users  . (This would mean that
it is a products ready for a sale like chiled /parent items on the standard VM categories under trims or assemblies categories)   
Surely the default selections for each builder category is a must and a user friendly time saving feature . So we are infact on the same boat!

Just create a product build with just one product per category that is default! You then have the same thing.
Mark
All of My old mods are now available on my website.
Mark Callf Designs

If you like the work I've done for VM please fell free to Donate

Please Note: I am no longer actively developing or involved with VM development.

dustundag

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: Product Builder
« Reply #17 on: September 18, 2007, 21:53:25 pm »
Great!  That's all from me!
Thanks

whiplash13

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Product Builder
« Reply #18 on: September 18, 2007, 22:51:16 pm »
So just for clarification.  If one were to select
graphics card 128MB, , price +30

Would the other item line(s) update to:
graphics card 64MB, default, price -30 or would the item lines stay static and not reflect the current item selected.


This is how I see it.

The category would define the title, how the products are displayed, images , quantity box style etc.

The products would have options for default product as well as the ability to have a none or null defined. How the price is to be calculated e.g. use full price or a price modifier.

e.g.
Graphics Card
graphics card 64MB, default, price 0
graphics card 128MB, , price +30
graphics card 256MB,, price  (actual-default)

Extra Drives
none, default
dvd rom,,(actual price)
dvd rw,,(actual price)



macallf

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2411
    • Mark Callf Design
Re: Product Builder
« Reply #19 on: September 18, 2007, 22:57:22 pm »
The price modifier usually applies to the adjustment to the total price, a drop down list would display

option 1 included
option 2 +$15
option 3 +$30

So update of the price is normally very clear, to rewrite the prices dependant on the option chosen is too much js for me and not really needed.
Mark
All of My old mods are now available on my website.
Mark Callf Designs

If you like the work I've done for VM please fell free to Donate

Please Note: I am no longer actively developing or involved with VM development.

whiplash13

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Product Builder
« Reply #20 on: September 18, 2007, 23:09:26 pm »
OK so the overall price will dynamically adjust as options are chosen for each pb category but the options within the pb categories will not update based on the option selected.  I can live with that but would like to see that on a future enhancement list, as it would make this mod even more sexy :)

The price modifier usually applies to the adjustment to the total price, a drop down list would display

option 1 included
option 2 +$15
option 3 +$30

So update of the price is normally very clear, to rewrite the prices dependant on the option chosen is too much js for me and not really needed.

David Richardson

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: Product Builder
« Reply #21 on: September 18, 2007, 23:37:27 pm »
Hi Guys,

This would, i think, be very useful to me. If i understand the direction correctly this modification will act like an advanced "related products" function. Where the end user can select an initial product to purchase and then be offered "add-ons". I run a digital camera site. www.camerasdirect.com.au and i am thinking that:

Customer selects a camera body to purchase, they then are presented with option for memory card, then lens, then filter, then battery etc etc.

Is this what this mod will do?

If so i can contribute.

whiplash13

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Product Builder
« Reply #22 on: September 18, 2007, 23:44:10 pm »
Yes this would be applicable for you.
Hi Guys,

This would, i think, be very useful to me. If i understand the direction correctly this modification will act like an advanced "related products" function. Where the end user can select an initial product to purchase and then be offered "add-ons". I run a digital camera site. www.camerasdirect.com.au and i am thinking that:

Customer selects a camera body to purchase, they then are presented with option for memory card, then lens, then filter, then battery etc etc.

Is this what this mod will do?

If so i can contribute.

David Richardson

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: Product Builder
« Reply #23 on: September 19, 2007, 10:53:49 am »
OK, then i'll keep this topic in view.
Please let me know if i can contribute and how.
Mark has helped me no end with his contributions to this forum so i'll happily send the good karma back his way.

whiplash13

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Product Builder
« Reply #24 on: September 19, 2007, 20:04:41 pm »
So basically functionally the mod will work similar to http://www.esvon.com/cgi-bin/pb/config.pl.  Only it will have a default configuration and price that will then be customizable.

macallf

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2411
    • Mark Callf Design
Re: Product Builder
« Reply #25 on: September 19, 2007, 20:09:01 pm »
Yep, possibly a better layout! If I use a template type sytem. Plus there will be choices for how to select products. e.g. drop down, radio buttons, checkboxes etc.
Mark
All of My old mods are now available on my website.
Mark Callf Designs

If you like the work I've done for VM please fell free to Donate

Please Note: I am no longer actively developing or involved with VM development.

Blue911

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Product Builder
« Reply #26 on: September 20, 2007, 23:55:38 pm »
Hello, there are some awesome ideas I have found a site that does exactly what you want but the code is very complicated.  Take a look it works excellent http://www.memoryexpress.com/index.php?PageTag=&page=file&memx_menu=SystemQuote_1.php&SID=

I a too much of a rookie to do something like this \

seether

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Product Builder
« Reply #27 on: September 24, 2007, 16:15:39 pm »
iv been looking for a while my attempts be well ill killed virtuemart a few times

jamesls

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Product Builder
« Reply #28 on: September 25, 2007, 22:24:46 pm »
I don't know if this is related but this is where I have been pointed in regards to my posts.

Basically I am trying to find out if it possible to create bundles. IE

Product A + Product B = Bundle 1

But set up in the back end. The user would select the Bundle rather than products to make the bundle (If that makes sense)

So basically the customer only see Bundle 1 and what products are contained in Bundle 1 with the total price of Bundle 1 being lower than that of Product A + Product B if bought separately.

Note: I want to do this with 5 or 6 products in a bundle.

If anyone can point me in the right direction that would be great.

macallf

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2411
    • Mark Callf Design
Re: Product Builder
« Reply #29 on: September 25, 2007, 22:51:14 pm »
This would be the correct place.

VM will not, can not do it as standard. This mod should be able to do what you want. I just have to write it!
Mark
All of My old mods are now available on my website.
Mark Callf Designs

If you like the work I've done for VM please fell free to Donate

Please Note: I am no longer actively developing or involved with VM development.