Author Topic: Filter product category by manufacturer  (Read 153452 times)

Pisu

  • Contributing Developer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 451
  • ..still looking for..
    • Blog di Stefano Bagnatica
Re: Filter product category by manufacturer
« Reply #15 on: March 13, 2007, 16:31:07 pm »
Instead of filtering manufacturers, I have products which can be New or Used.
I'd like a dropdown same as this which will state New, Used or Both.

Is it also possible to filter by price groups ?
It would like to add sort boxes that show all products between 100 and 200 euro.

Try opening another thread in forum. This is only for filter by manufacturer.
Pisu - Team VMItalia (Supporto Italiano VirtueMart)
www.stefanobagnatica.it | www.vmitalia.net

Bill Smith

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Filter product category by manufacturer
« Reply #16 on: March 20, 2007, 10:08:40 am »
Ah, you mean those ones which never are answered.  Like the 10,000 + posts with no reply. Posted it here because obviously we presumed you would have been some assistance.

Pisu

  • Contributing Developer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 451
  • ..still looking for..
    • Blog di Stefano Bagnatica
Re: Filter product category by manufacturer
« Reply #17 on: March 20, 2007, 14:03:31 pm »
I'm sorry, but remember that nobody is obliged to post replies and give assistance. This is a forum of a free and open source software, where anyone can take from other people's work. How much have you paid for VirtueMart? How much are paid people who post replies and give help in the forum? Because, although what you say, a lot of people find free help here; of course, not everybody. There's nothing to do about it.
Pisu - Team VMItalia (Supporto Italiano VirtueMart)
www.stefanobagnatica.it | www.vmitalia.net

Tiffany

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Filter product category by manufacturer
« Reply #18 on: March 21, 2007, 21:30:52 pm »
I am sure this sounds really stupid, but I replaced the files and now I am not sure what to do to make the option to filter by manufacturer after selecting product category.  Could someone who has used this wonderful hack before possibly explain it to me?

Pisu

  • Contributing Developer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 451
  • ..still looking for..
    • Blog di Stefano Bagnatica
Re: Filter product category by manufacturer
« Reply #19 on: March 22, 2007, 14:21:58 pm »
I am sure this sounds really stupid, but I replaced the files and now I am not sure what to do to make the option to filter by manufacturer after selecting product category.  Could someone who has used this wonderful hack before possibly explain it to me?

Hi spamcrap, the hack should work without other actions. Are you sure to have replaced the file shop.browse.php in folder \administrator\components\com_virtuemart\html ? You should see the selectbox for filtering by manufacturers, when browsing a product category, at right of the "order by" menu...

Can you tell me the address of your site, so I can take a look?
Pisu - Team VMItalia (Supporto Italiano VirtueMart)
www.stefanobagnatica.it | www.vmitalia.net

am_pix

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Filter product category by manufacturer
« Reply #20 on: March 22, 2007, 19:05:09 pm »
The hack works on VirtueMart version 1.10 ?

Pisu

  • Contributing Developer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 451
  • ..still looking for..
    • Blog di Stefano Bagnatica
Re: Filter product category by manufacturer
« Reply #21 on: March 23, 2007, 10:52:12 am »
The hack works on VirtueMart version 1.10 ?

Yes, I'm using VM 1.0.10 (not 1.10...) without problems. But for now I can't post updated files, because I've made many other custom changes at these files... You can try editing the code following the explanation at the first post... Let me know if you succeed!
Pisu - Team VMItalia (Supporto Italiano VirtueMart)
www.stefanobagnatica.it | www.vmitalia.net

Bill Smith

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Filter product category by manufacturer
« Reply #22 on: March 26, 2007, 19:14:13 pm »
No worries steve irkle. If I wanted a grind on open source I would have asked you. If you can't do it forget it. Obviously incapable of it under those 10" goggles.

Anthony C.

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 286
Re: Filter product category by manufacturer
« Reply #23 on: April 04, 2007, 20:03:48 pm »
VM 1.0.10 seems changing the way to present the query.

I couldn't get it to work following your first post.

For the first file is fine, but not the query file.

Please help!

Thank you,

Anthony

Anthony C.

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 286
Re: Filter product category by manufacturer
« Reply #24 on: April 04, 2007, 20:13:22 pm »
I just realized that I don't need to edit the shop.browse_queries.php

just edit the shop.browse.php using your mod then it works.

Thanks,

Anthony

Pisu

  • Contributing Developer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 451
  • ..still looking for..
    • Blog di Stefano Bagnatica
Re: Filter product category by manufacturer
« Reply #25 on: April 05, 2007, 14:33:42 pm »
very good! I have a good news: the feature is going to be implemented in next release of VM!

http://virtuemart.net/index.php?option=com_flyspray&Itemid=91&do=details&task_id=1070&option=com_flyspray&Itemid=91
Pisu - Team VMItalia (Supporto Italiano VirtueMart)
www.stefanobagnatica.it | www.vmitalia.net

vm_user

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 156
Re: Filter product category by manufacturer
« Reply #26 on: June 26, 2007, 18:05:35 pm »
I have been using this hack feature for some time now and it work great, however I recently installed JoomSEF to make my URL's easier to read and now I get a broken link 404 page when I try to access the product flypage after the filter has been used (but only if it is used!)

It looks like it's trying to add the category filter onto the SEF URL - here's an example ... http://www.leconcepts.com/products/dvd-players/panasonic-dvd-s53-hdmi-dvd-player.html&manufacturer_id=1185

Any ideas why it's doing this and how to get around it??
Joomla 1.5.15, VM 1.1.4

Pisu

  • Contributing Developer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 451
  • ..still looking for..
    • Blog di Stefano Bagnatica
Re: Filter product category by manufacturer
« Reply #27 on: June 27, 2007, 13:33:22 pm »
I never used JoomSEF... I don't know how it works.
The problem is that the manufacturer filter, add the manuf parameter to URL, and it is incompatibile with SEF URL... You should find a way to remove the "&manufacturer_id=1185" from URL..
Pisu - Team VMItalia (Supporto Italiano VirtueMart)
www.stefanobagnatica.it | www.vmitalia.net

vm_user

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 156
Re: Filter product category by manufacturer
« Reply #28 on: June 27, 2007, 21:35:42 pm »
Well that was easier than I thought!
I simply removed the following line from the file shop.browse.php
Code: [Select]
$url .= "&manufacturer_id=" . $manufacturer_id;It was located around line 365 on my file, which has been extensively modified.
Joomla 1.5.15, VM 1.1.4

Pisu

  • Contributing Developer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 451
  • ..still looking for..
    • Blog di Stefano Bagnatica
Re: Filter product category by manufacturer
« Reply #29 on: June 29, 2007, 13:34:10 pm »
Very good! I really don't remember why I added this line... it's useless.. maybe I was going mad with all that code!
Pisu - Team VMItalia (Supporto Italiano VirtueMart)
www.stefanobagnatica.it | www.vmitalia.net