Author Topic: [FIXED] "'" instead of "apostrophe" in title tags  (Read 25725 times)

meisay

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 15
[FIXED] "'" instead of "apostrophe" in title tags
« on: December 07, 2006, 01:03:29 am »
Description:
"Apostrophe" in product name becomes "'" in title tags on product detail page/flypage.

VirtueMart Version:
1.0.7

Joomla/Mambo Version:
1.0.11

Steps to replicate:
1. add new product
2. type an "apostrophe" in product information -> name (ex. Jeff's Bloody Mary Mix)
3. Save
4. View new product detail page/flypage source
5. title tags = "Jeff's bloody mary mix"

Proposed fix(es):
none

System info:
System info = (Linux, Apache, php 4.3.3, mysql 3.23.58)

meisay

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: "'" instead of "apostrophe" in title tags
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2006, 20:39:18 pm »
Nobody?  This is a pretty HUGE bug, terrible for search engines, and sales.

Soeren

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3106
  • VirtueMart Starter
    • virtuemart.net
Re: "'" instead of "apostrophe" in title
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2006, 10:46:55 am »
Why didn't you report this as a bug on the bugtracker if it's so important for you?

change line 157 in shop.product_details.php

to:

Code: [Select]
$mainframe->setPageTitle( html_entity_decode( substr($product_name, 0, 60 ), ENT_QUOTES ));
That's it.
The future of eCommerce: VirtueMart & Joomla!
http://virtuemart.net

meisay

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: "'" instead of "apostrophe" in title tags
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2007, 00:26:08 am »
I didn't report a bug because I was following the instructions here: http://virtuemart.net/index.php?option=com_smf&Itemid=71&topic=21474.msg53274#msg53274
Quote
When submitting a bug report for a VirtueMart beta release, please report it in this forum before adding a task to the bug tracker.

jeeez brother! thanks for your help.

RCheesley

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
Re: "'" instead of "apostrophe" in title tags
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2009, 00:33:14 am »
Soeren,

Was this ever fixed as I am getting this happening with 1.1.2 on my product name in the breadcrumb - everything else is fine and I just happened to notice it in passing, it's saying "Cadbury&<amp>#039;s Hot Chocolates Hot Chocolate" here: http://www.theukvendingcompany.co.uk/shop/hot-chocolate/cadburys-hot-chocolate.html

aravot

  • Peter
  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2874
    • VirtueMart Extensions
Re: "&amp;#039;" instead of "apostrophe" in title tags
« Reply #5 on: March 05, 2009, 20:18:41 pm »
@RCheesly, that is a Joomla breadcrumb, VirtueMart has it's own breadcrumb, to enable go to Configuration -> Site (tab) -> Layout (Configuration) -> Show additional Pathway on the Product Page?

ledom

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: "&amp;#039;" instead of "apostrophe" in title tags
« Reply #6 on: March 24, 2009, 17:08:36 pm »
Hi aravot,

Got the same problem on virtuemart 1.1.2 with joomla 1.5.9 breadcrumb module.

The problem is that I need only one breadcrumb for all the website, and virtuemart breadcrumb does not show for the blog and other menus.

Is there any way to solve this problem with ' ?

trsander

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: [TRACKER 2547] "&amp;#039;" instead of "apostrophe" in title tags
« Reply #7 on: April 15, 2009, 18:40:34 pm »
I am having the same issue.  I made the code change suggested above but it just made the product breadcrumb item disappear.  Do we know when this will be corrected?
Thank you

fire2

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: [TRACKER 2547] "&amp;#039;" instead of "apostrophe" in title tags
« Reply #8 on: May 22, 2009, 18:38:09 pm »
I'm using VM 1.1.3 on Joomla 1.5.10 and I'm having the same problem. I changed the suggested code above, but it only made the product name dissapear from the breadcrumb/pathway.

Any suggestion to fix this?

Thanks.
Yh
currently using:
Joomla 2.5.8
VM 2.0.14


kIsa_camel

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • sanalpos-tr
Re: [FIXED] "&amp;#039;" instead of "apostrophe" in title tags
« Reply #10 on: October 28, 2009, 16:39:50 pm »
here's the breadcrumb solution for VM 1.1.3 i just did a few seconds ago :

go to line 303 or find the below lines in the file administrator/components/com_virtuemart/html/shop.product_details.php :

Code: [Select]

// Add this product's name to the pathway, with no link

$item = new stdClass();

$item->name = $product_name;

$item->link = '';

$pathway[] = $item;


change the $item->name = $product_name;  line with the below line :

Code: [Select]

$item->name = html_entity_decode( $product_name, ENT_QUOTES );


The single quote characters (or any other html encoded characters) in the product name will display correctly on your breadcrumb.

 8)
http://www.sanalpos-tr.com
custom payment mods, modification projects, installation-configuration-migration support for vm