News:

Looking for documentation? Take a look on our wiki

Main Menu

How to set up payment processing?

Started by Marc Roth, November 24, 2006, 05:33:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Marc Roth

Hi there, I am a newbie here, need some step-by-step explanation how I can set up Visa/Mastercard payment for our clients.

I have read quite a bit here about how to set up the different payment methods in VM, however, up to now I don't understand which payment class is favourable and what we require to sign up at authorize.net, paypal, etc. etc. I may have to add that we are a Hongkong company with HSBC bank account - but it would be okay if the payments would be collected "virtually" to be transfered in chunks later (so, no necessarily HSBC CPI).

authorize.net sounds good, but it says that one needs a "Internet Merchant Account". Where/how to get such an account for our company? (resellers on authorize.net only for US)

paypal seems to be bit of a headache (webforms to fill in?), but no merchant account needed, right?

What about all the other ones like 2checkout, eprocessingnetwork.com, worldpay, etc. etc. would any of these be suitable for us? (found a long list here: http://www.infomerchant.net/merchantaccounts/comparison.html, but apart from cost, which ones are technically feasible to implement?)

We are very thankful for any guidance!!!
Marc

TwinStripe

Hi Marc,

In answer to your question, you'll need a merchant account for the vast majority of these gateways in order to get the most from them. In most cases, provided you are a registered company in your region, you can apply for merchant accounts directly with the gateway you choose (they've usually got a link to the application somewhere within the site).

In other cases, they may have to set up a kind of 'virtual company', whereby they give you a registered company address within their region. This keeps the local banks and the credit card companies happy.