News:

You may pay someone to create your store, or you visit our seminar and become a professional yourself with the silver certification

Main Menu

VirtueMart vs. mamboShop vs osCommerce

Started by Numa, February 09, 2006, 21:23:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Numa

Hello, everybody.

I am new in Mambo, Joomla.
Sorry if my question will look simple or not smart.
Currently we operate online store with osCommerce
http://clockdiscounter.com
www.knifehouse.com
www.theframemall.com

After review several article it clear to me that Mambo, Joomla has more options and add-ons then osCommerce.
But what is the main differences that force ( influence) someone to move from osCommerce to Mambo-Joomla.
What to choose?
VirtueMart vs. mamboShop vs osCommerce ???

Thank you very much for you helps
Numa Grishpyn.

Eiteall

I think that it is quite a reasonable question, one that I asked myself a few months back when I moved over.  Here's my thoughts ...

I had an idea of what I wanted the appearance of my site to look like.  My website was based on graphic content, as such I wished a customised appearance and I did not want the cheezy Os-Commerce icons.  I spent an excessive amount of time customising buttons etc. of which there were many.  I also customised and streamlined large amounts of code. This then became a problem as the more tweaks I added and the more I downloaded the more risk of instability.  It also makes it harder to share findings with others.  I found that the instalation of the Paypal hack a particular risk on updating. It got to a point of once the site was stable I did not want to experiment or add updates for fear of the site not working.