Author Topic: Quotation mark problem  (Read 3220 times)

marvays

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 423
    • richta.cz
  • Skype Name: marvays
Quotation mark problem
« on: May 13, 2021, 08:48:21 am »
Hello. I have an e-shop with bows, crossbows and arrows. In the product name I have the length of the bow in inches. However, Virtuemart cannot display quotation marks well. Replaces & quot;

Example: Lazecký OLIVER Z dětský luk 52"

Breadcrumbs: www.lukysipy.cz  - Luky  - Dětské luky  - Lazecký OLIVER Z dětský luk 52"

<title>Lazecký OLIVER Z dětský luk 52&quot; - Lazecký &amp; Měch</title>

This error is then taken over by search engines, xml feed and the like. Where can the problem be?
live link to product

pinochico

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1244
    • MiniJoomla
  • Skype Name: support-easysoftware
  • VirtueMart Version: 3
Re: Quotation mark problem
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2021, 16:07:04 pm »
We use on www.kolo-park.cz:

size of cycle.

Is not quot, but other chars.

Xml feed function well.
www.minijoomla.org  - new portal for Joomla!, Virtuemart and other extensions
XML Easy Feeder - feeds from products, orders and database table
Virtuemart Email Manager - customs email templates

sirius

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 132
    • OCTeam
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.8.6
Re: Quotation mark problem
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2021, 16:22:01 pm »
Hi
Did you try
Code: [Select]
&Prime; that become ″ ?
Double prime is normally what everybody should use instead of double quote to tell about inches.
J3.10.2 | PHP 7.4.24 + APC + Opcode
VM Prod : 3.8.6 | VM Test : 3.8.9

marvays

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 423
    • richta.cz
  • Skype Name: marvays
Re: Quotation mark problem
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2021, 17:11:14 pm »

pinochico

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1244
    • MiniJoomla
  • Skype Name: support-easysoftware
  • VirtueMart Version: 3
Re: Quotation mark problem
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2021, 17:14:15 pm »
Quote
Double prime is normally what everybody should use instead of double quote to tell about inches.

Yes, Therefore, in easyfeeder there is a php function str_replace
www.minijoomla.org  - new portal for Joomla!, Virtuemart and other extensions
XML Easy Feeder - feeds from products, orders and database table
Virtuemart Email Manager - customs email templates

marvays

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 423
    • richta.cz
  • Skype Name: marvays
Re: Quotation mark problem
« Reply #5 on: May 13, 2021, 17:16:44 pm »
Hi
Did you try
Code: [Select]
&Prime; that become ″ ?
Double prime is normally what everybody should use instead of double quote to tell about inches.
Code: [Select]
&Prime; is good idea. It is a regular mark for the thumbs. But it also doesn't work.

But. . . i did some tests and it looks like a JoomSEF problem. Not VM. I'll write later when I work it out.

arcturus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 119
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.8.9 10514
Re: Quotation mark problem
« Reply #6 on: May 20, 2021, 18:58:44 pm »
You could use double apostrophe '' instead of quote ".
Cheers,
George
https://www.proxima-mundi.ro

Currentl using Joomla! 3.9.28 and VM 3.8.9 10514 on PHP 7.4