Author Topic: Subcategories pages change the URL on browser but not entering page  (Read 702 times)

discjockeyr

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Hi, i will try to explain the problem as is very strange.
when i press Products from the main menu (https://mpsat.com.cy/) then i get the pages with all categories. At this page everything works perfectly. Then when i select any category that has sub-categories again everything works. But from the sub-categories when i click any category then the URL on the browser change but it does not redirect to the products page. I have to press enter to the browser URL to enter the page.
At the same time i have a categories menu at the side and all the categories and sub-categories working properly.
Any idea?

Thanks in advance

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3682
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: Subcategories pages change the URL on browser but not entering page
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2020, 12:59:35 pm »
Which versions of Joomla and VirtueMart do you use? Do you have the same problem if you use another template (for example Protostar)?
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

discjockeyr

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Subcategories pages change the URL on browser but not entering page
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2020, 09:35:44 am »
Joomla 3.9.20 and virtuemart  3.8.4 10335
Yes the same happens with other templates.
This issue happens recently but i don't know when. Most probably after an update but as i do not enter the subcategories this way so i am not able to know if this happened 1 week ago or 3 months ago.

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3682
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: Subcategories pages change the URL on browser but not entering page
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2020, 21:58:32 pm »
At present I don't see any errors which might cause that. It's a shot into the dark, but does it help if you remove the slash character in the 'Adapters/Connectors' menu link and change it for example to 'Adapters and Connectors'?
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

discjockeyr

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Subcategories pages change the URL on browser but not entering page
« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2020, 09:46:15 am »
Thanks for your reply.
No it does not help. Most of the categories do not have the slash and the problem also appears.
The site was working for years this way and this happened recently but don't know when.

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3682
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: Subcategories pages change the URL on browser but not entering page
« Reply #5 on: July 24, 2020, 10:43:23 am »
Occasionally Joomla messes up it's menus. Did you try to click the 'Rebuild' button in the menu view already?
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

discjockeyr

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Subcategories pages change the URL on browser but not entering page
« Reply #6 on: July 24, 2020, 11:06:27 am »
yes i have already try this

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3682
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: Subcategories pages change the URL on browser but not entering page
« Reply #7 on: July 24, 2020, 11:45:42 am »
Next idea :-)
Try to change the 'Use ajax for..." settings in VM Configuration > Templates tab.
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

discjockeyr

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Subcategories pages change the URL on browser but not entering page
« Reply #8 on: July 24, 2020, 11:52:45 am »
okkkk... this seems to solve the problem.
i had to disable both...Use Ajax for product content & Use Ajax for category content.
So any idea why this happens with Ajax enable?

Thanks for your time and advice

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3682
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: Subcategories pages change the URL on browser but not entering page
« Reply #9 on: July 24, 2020, 17:37:20 pm »
So any idea why this happens with Ajax enable?

Not really, as I'm not a programmer  :)
Another option you might try would be to enable #full_catname_tree in the virtuemart.cfg file
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations