Author Topic: Menu - all products from manufacturer - router.php problem  (Read 1904 times)

Ventsi Genchev

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 304
    • Audio Store
Menu - all products from manufacturer - router.php problem
« on: February 07, 2020, 12:08:08 pm »
Virtuemart 3.4.3 ... 3.6.10.10211

When you browse the manufacturer, there is a link to all products from this manufacturer.
I have menus for each manufacturer to his all products.

However, the link looks like this: my_site.com/my_menu_name/manufacturer/manufacturer_name
Having a menu makes no sense: .../manufacturer/manufacturer_name
Because the menu is for example "manufacturer_name-all-products"

If this line is removed from the router.php:
$segments[] = $helper->lang('manufacturer').'/'.$helper->getManufacturerName($query['virtuemart_manufacturer_id']) ;
Then the menu is obtained as it should be: my_site.com/my_menu_name

Yes, if there is no menu this line is needed, but in my opinion should it be checked and if a menu is available, not be executed?
Audio Store:
https://vsystem.bg - Bulgarian language
https://vsystem.bg/en - English

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3648
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: Menu - all products from manufacturer - router.php problem
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2020, 14:39:06 pm »
Should be possible if you change your settings to display a menu module including the manufacturer logos instead of the manufacturers page, choose a VirtueMart Category layout as the menu item type and restrict that by choosing a manufacturer in the menu settings. And set 'Show VirtueMart Categories' in the 'VirtueMart category view settings' to "No".
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

Ventsi Genchev

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 304
    • Audio Store
Re: Menu - all products from manufacturer - router.php problem
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2020, 14:58:38 pm »
Hi jjk and thank you for your reply,

I'm not sure I understand.
The menu looks like this:
index.php?option=com_virtuemart&view=category&virtuemart_category_id=0&virtuemart_manufacturer_id=10

I don't understand what module it is about.
Audio Store:
https://vsystem.bg - Bulgarian language
https://vsystem.bg/en - English

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3648
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: Menu - all products from manufacturer - router.php problem
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2020, 15:39:09 pm »
Have a look at my website. The long 'menu module' at the left site shows artist names (manufacturers). If you click one of them, you will see sitename/menu-alias, where the menu-alias is the manufacturer name.

(I'll remove my website name from this post later today)
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

Ventsi Genchev

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 304
    • Audio Store
Re: Menu - all products from manufacturer - router.php problem
« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2020, 15:57:10 pm »
Yes, I understand what you mean. But I don't need a module.

When you go to your site for example: .../en/aviation-art/the-baron-detail
You have a manufacturer: Poole, David
When you click on the manufacturer's name, you can see all its products through the link: View all Poole, David Products
Accordingly, your link is: .../en/david-poole-aviation-art/artist/poole-david

In fact you have two links to the same page:
.../en/david-poole-aviation-art
.../en/david-poole-aviation-art/artist/poole-david

If you remove the line in the router.php I wrote about, the link will be only one: .../en/david-poole-aviation-art


In my case, for example:
.../sony-products/manufacturer/sony

It just doesn't make sense from any point of view, including the SEO.
Audio Store:
https://vsystem.bg - Bulgarian language
https://vsystem.bg/en - English

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3648
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: Menu - all products from manufacturer - router.php problem
« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2020, 17:05:40 pm »
In fact you have two links to the same page:
.../en/david-poole-aviation-art
.../en/david-poole-aviation-art/artist/poole-david

Ah, yes. The short one is from the menu and the second one is from the order list (sort by...).

Quote
If you remove the line in the router.php I wrote about, the link will be only one: .../en/david-poole-aviation-art

I'm not sure if I would want that. Since Google also follows the long ones from the order list, I might loose all the extra indexed pages  :)

Quote
It just doesn't make sense from any point of view, including the SEO.

But I think it doesn't hurt. The important urls are the canonical ones. The rest varies anyway, depending on which path the user or crawler ends up on the final product page.
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

Ventsi Genchev

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 304
    • Audio Store
Re: Menu - all products from manufacturer - router.php problem
« Reply #6 on: February 07, 2020, 17:34:52 pm »
I'm not sure if I would want that. Since Google also follows the long ones from the order list, I might loose all the extra indexed pages  :)

Oh yeah. That is, of course.

By the way, I started a full analysis of your site, but soon I will stop it that my working time is over.  :)
I am currently at 78%. (By the way, you have a lot of fun to have if you have time. ;) If you want, write me a personal message to tell you what it is about.)
The only link for now is: .../en/david-poole-aviation-art/artist/poole-david
(and one (Non-Indexable) with 404 error: .../en/david-poole-aviation-art/artist/poole-david/by,%60p%60.created_on?language=en-GB&keyword=)

I have solved this problem before launching the site with htaccess. But today I decided to see where this link came from.
And since I found it, I have posted this thread. I better fix the link and remove the redirect from the htaccess.

In my opinion it is good to have a hidden menu to choose from. In order not to lose already indexed links, as with you. And for others like me who want the link to be short and easy to understand.  :)
Audio Store:
https://vsystem.bg - Bulgarian language
https://vsystem.bg/en - English

pinochico

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 400
    • MiniJoomla
  • VirtueMart Version: 3
Re: Menu - all products from manufacturer - router.php problem
« Reply #7 on: February 07, 2020, 17:39:17 pm »
For me,

all link to manufacture page is wrong idea how show manufacture page and products from one manufacture.
The idea is show category page now.

This is wrong and most pro eshops has another solution.

Maybe in future this features will be better :)
www.minijoomla.org  - new portal for Joomla!, Virtuemart and other extensions
XML Easy Feeder - feeds from products, orders and database table
Virtuemart Email Manager - customs email templates

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3648
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: Menu - all products from manufacturer - router.php problem
« Reply #8 on: February 07, 2020, 18:44:15 pm »
By the way, I started a full analysis of your site, but soon I will stop it that my working time is over.  :)

Do you use an online service for that?

Quote
I am currently at 78%. (By the way, you have a lot of fun to have if you have time. ;) If you want, write me a personal message to tell you what it is about.)
The only link for now is: .../en/david-poole-aviation-art/artist/poole-david
(and one (Non-Indexable) with 404 error: .../en/david-poole-aviation-art/artist/poole-david/by,%60p%60.created_on?language=en-GB&keyword=)

I have solved this problem before launching the site with htaccess. But today I decided to see where this link came from.
And since I found it, I have posted this thread. I better fix the link and remove the redirect from the htaccess.

I know that the Google crawlers find (generate?) a lot of junk urls on my site, which they don't index, like the url you mentioned above, resulting in a 404. Do you think that's a VM router problem? I always thought its due to the crawlers trying all paths in the url labyrinth and ending up in a dead-end path frequently.
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

Ventsi Genchev

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 304
    • Audio Store
Re: Menu - all products from manufacturer - router.php problem
« Reply #9 on: February 07, 2020, 20:30:20 pm »
Do you use an online service for that?

No, I don't think there is a quality online SEO tool enough.
In your case, I used Screaming Frog SEO Spider - an extremely powerful and quality tool with detailed analysis.

Quote
I know that the Google crawlers find (generate?) a lot of junk urls on my site, which they don't index, like the url you mentioned above, resulting in a 404. Do you think that's a VM router problem? I always thought its due to the crawlers trying all paths in the url labyrinth and ending up in a dead-end path frequently.

I don't think it is related to router.php. There are no such links for me. In fact, I don't have any 404.
The real address is: .../en/artist/young-john/aviation-art/by,`p`.created_on?language=en-GB&keyword=
and URL Encoded Address is: .../en/david-poole-aviation-art/artist/poole-david/by,%60p%60.created_on?language=en-GB&keyword=

There are many of these types of links with 404, but there are others with the same error:
.../en/rondot-michael/artist/rondot-michael
.../en/watts-nicholas/artist/watts-nicholas

Client Error (4xx): more than 200, but with incomplete analysis.


By the way, you have links in the "Artists" and "Art Categories" menus that are not https. They are not indexed but redirected "HSTS Redirect". Status Code: 307:
.../en/robert-bailey-aviation-art
.../en/hessel-bes-automobile-art
...
Also a link to wikipedia (Focke-Wulf_Fw_190) and a link to the template maker. :)
15 in total, but with incomplete analysis.

There are also a lot of duplications of page titles, meta descriptions, H1, H2... As well as missing ones.


So I wrote above that you have fun if you have time. :)
Audio Store:
https://vsystem.bg - Bulgarian language
https://vsystem.bg/en - English

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3648
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: Menu - all products from manufacturer - router.php problem
« Reply #10 on: February 07, 2020, 22:02:13 pm »
There are many of these types of links with 404, but there are others with the same error:
.../en/rondot-michael/artist/rondot-michael
.../en/watts-nicholas/artist/watts-nicholas

The above are internal links I forgot to update when I discarded the old VM frontpage layout of VM 2.x. Thanks for bringing those back into my memory. And I know I should remove some duplicate meta tags, but that's a "...have fun if you have time" problem.  ;)

I'm aware of tools like Screaming Frog or SiteAnalyzer, but I decided not to use them. I don't follow Google's PageSpeed Insights recommendations either, because most of them are crap (in my case). I'm happy with the analysis I see in the Google Search Console, formerly Webmaster Tools (usually "0" errors). and Matomo Analytics.

I also enabled both http and https on purpose for uncritical pages.

Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

Ventsi Genchev

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 304
    • Audio Store
Re: Menu - all products from manufacturer - router.php problem
« Reply #11 on: February 08, 2020, 10:09:16 am »
As you said, a matter of personal choice. :)

I also do not comply with all requirements. But these programs serve me to navigate the big picture and remind me if I missed something.
Your "`p`.created_on" links are probably left from VM2. Maybe you should look for what creates them. I decided it would be better to build my site again instead of updating it.

But I have another problem with Google that I can't find:
Google sometimes says on some pages that:
- The text size is too small to read
- The clickable items are too close together
- The content is wider than the screen
The check then passes successfully. Then he says the same about other pages.

I checked many times and found no such problems. I have no idea how I can find exactly where Google sees the problem.
Audio Store:
https://vsystem.bg - Bulgarian language
https://vsystem.bg/en - English

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3648
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: Menu - all products from manufacturer - router.php problem
« Reply #12 on: February 08, 2020, 18:16:10 pm »
Quote
- The text size is too small to read
- The clickable items are too close together
- The content is wider than the screen

Google says the same about my website. It's because my responsive website/template is not specifically made for smartphone users having to navigate with their thick fingers.  ;)
Actually I think it's because my menus in the sidebars don't switch to the big mobile style navigation buttons.
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10040
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: Menu - all products from manufacturer - router.php problem
« Reply #13 on: February 09, 2020, 23:01:29 pm »
Hi jjk and thank you for your reply,

I'm not sure I understand.
The menu looks like this:
index.php?option=com_virtuemart&view=category&virtuemart_category_id=0&virtuemart_manufacturer_id=10

I don't understand what module it is about.

Should work that way. right.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/