Author Topic: Editing addresses doesn't work ?!  (Read 5702 times)

melsonmarketing

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
Editing addresses doesn't work ?!
« on: November 27, 2019, 10:43:40 am »
I just updated a site and now it's impossible to edit customer accounts in the FE.

calling "index.php?option=com_virtuemart&view=user&layout=edit" leads to a "0 - Call to a member function get() on null"

Php7.2.18
J! 3.9.13
VM 3.6.10

disabling

- overrides
- JCH Optimize
- SEF

Doesn't make a difference.

Thanks for your assistance

Michael

GJC Web Design

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9779
  • Virtuemart, Joomla & php developer
    • GJC Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.6.8
Re: Editing addresses doesn't work ?!
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2019, 14:53:19 pm »
use Joomla debug to get the full error trace so we know where the error is thrown
GJC Web Design
VirtueMart and Joomla Developers - php developers http://www.gjcwebdesign.com
VM3 AusPost Shipping Plugin - e-go Shipping Plugin - VM3 Postcode Shipping Plugin - Radius Shipping Plugin - VM3 NZ Post Shipping Plugin - AusPost Estimator
Samport Payment Plugin - EcomMerchant Payment Plugin - ccBill payment Plugin
VM2 Product Lock Extension - VM2 Preconfig Adresses Extension - TaxCloud USA Taxes Plugin - Virtuemart  Product Review Component
http://extensions.joomla.org/profile/profile/details/67210
Contact for any VirtueMart or Joomla development & customisation

melsonmarketing

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
Re: Editing addresses doesn't work ?!
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2019, 11:14:11 am »
Here is the error:

 Call to a member function get() on null
/path/to/page/components/com_virtuemart/views/user/view.html.php:282
Call stack
#    Function    Location
1    ()    JROOT/components/com_virtuemart/views/user/view.html.php:282
2    VirtuemartViewUser->shopper()    JROOT/components/com_virtuemart/views/user/view.html.php:142
3    VirtuemartViewUser->display()    JROOT/components/com_virtuemart/controllers/user.php:59
4    VirtueMartControllerUser->display()    JROOT/libraries/src/MVC/Controller/BaseController.php:710
5    Joomla\CMS\MVC\Controller\BaseController->execute()    JROOT/components/com_virtuemart/virtuemart.php:120
6    require_once()    JROOT/libraries/src/Component/ComponentHelper.php:402
7    Joomla\CMS\Component\ComponentHelper::executeComponent()    JROOT/libraries/src/Component/ComponentHelper.php:377
8    Joomla\CMS\Component\ComponentHelper::renderComponent()    JROOT/libraries/src/Application/SiteApplication.php:194
9    Joomla\CMS\Application\SiteApplication->dispatch()    JROOT/libraries/src/Application/SiteApplication.php:233
10    Joomla\CMS\Application\SiteApplication->doExecute()    JROOT/libraries/src/Application/CMSApplication.php:196
11    Joomla\CMS\Application\CMSApplication->execute()    JROOT/index.php:49

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10070
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: Editing addresses doesn't work ?!
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2019, 17:42:38 pm »
Ahh dam. My error. You can solve it by having a menu item for your account maintenance. But it should also work without.

Or use the attached file. Remove the .txt and upload it to yourRoot/components/com_virtuemart/views/user
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

Linnemann

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Editing addresses doesn't work ?!
« Reply #4 on: November 29, 2019, 08:55:59 am »
Dear Milbo,

thank you for quick reply.
After making a menu item and changing the file Root/components/com_virtuemart/views/user/view.html.php the problem with editing adress is solved.
But now I have a problem with the Joomla Register funktion.
If I click on the "Register" link in login form I get an error ...

Debug Mode now says:

0 Call to a member function get() on null
/*ROOT*/components/com_virtuemart/views/user/view.html.php:362

Call stack
#    Function    Location
1    ()    JROOT/components/com_virtuemart/views/user/view.html.php:362
2    VirtuemartViewUser->lVendor()    JROOT/components/com_virtuemart/views/user/view.html.php:146
3    VirtuemartViewUser->display()    JROOT/components/com_virtuemart/controllers/user.php:59
4    VirtueMartControllerUser->display()    JROOT/libraries/src/MVC/Controller/BaseController.php:710
5    Joomla\CMS\MVC\Controller\BaseController->execute()    JROOT/components/com_virtuemart/virtuemart.php:120
6    require_once()    JROOT/libraries/src/Component/ComponentHelper.php:402
7    Joomla\CMS\Component\ComponentHelper::executeComponent()    JROOT/libraries/src/Component/ComponentHelper.php:377
8    Joomla\CMS\Component\ComponentHelper::renderComponent()    JROOT/libraries/src/Application/SiteApplication.php:194
9    Joomla\CMS\Application\SiteApplication->dispatch()    JROOT/libraries/src/Application/SiteApplication.php:233
10    Joomla\CMS\Application\SiteApplication->doExecute()    JROOT/libraries/src/Application/CMSApplication.php:196
11    Joomla\CMS\Application\CMSApplication->execute()    JROOT/index.php:49

Can you help me, too?

Kind regards


--
Joomla 3.9.13 | VirtueMart 3.6.10 10211 | No overrides

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10070
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: Editing addresses doesn't work ?!
« Reply #5 on: December 03, 2019, 14:38:27 pm »
alright, the error is two times there. So last time I fixed only one place. Comes due an optimisation, but I should find a pattern which more failproof.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

Linnemann

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Editing addresses doesn't work ?!
« Reply #6 on: December 03, 2019, 15:10:55 pm »
Now it works fine in my installation.

Thank you. I'm glad you're taking on the ploblem so quickly.

melsonmarketing

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
Re: Editing addresses doesn't work ?!
« Reply #7 on: December 09, 2019, 14:08:32 pm »
It's working here too

Thank you!

stAn99

  • Contributing Developer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 87
    • One Page Checkout for Virtuemart 2
Re: Editing addresses doesn't work ?!
« Reply #8 on: December 17, 2019, 16:14:32 pm »
hello, just to index this properly, i am adding full details of this error:

1 Call to a member function get() on null in file: /components/com_virtuemart/views/user/view.html.php line: 282

on VirtueMart 3.6.10 10211

best regards, stan
----
RuposTel.com
www.rupostel.com
Your customized checkout solution for Virtuemart

EIF

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
Re: Editing addresses doesn't work ?!
« Reply #9 on: February 20, 2020, 12:45:54 pm »
Is it possible the create an alias for url ../index.php?option=com_virtuemart&view=user , to use a more friendly url when people want to register themselves / create an account?

Linnemann

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Editing addresses doesn't work ?!
« Reply #10 on: February 20, 2020, 12:57:07 pm »
Is it possible the create an alias for url ../index.php?option=com_virtuemart&view=user , to use a more friendly url when people want to register themselves / create an account?
Yes it is possible, you just have to creat a menu item. With Munetyp "Virtuemart" -> "VirtueMart Kontenpflege" (in german) [it is the 8th one].

Nils

EIF

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
Re: Editing addresses doesn't work ?!
« Reply #11 on: February 21, 2020, 10:46:54 am »
I already have to menu option, but only for registered (logged in) users. That works correct with the alias.
When I use the same menu option, with a differrent alias for Public users, it doesn't work.
But when I am writing this, i've found out what is wrong. I use a template with a direct link ../index.php?option=com_virtuemart&view=user. My menu with the alias for this doesn't work now, of course. When i change the link to the alias, it DOES work.

GJC Web Design

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9779
  • Virtuemart, Joomla & php developer
    • GJC Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.6.8
Re: Editing addresses doesn't work ?!
« Reply #12 on: February 21, 2020, 11:40:44 am »
and if u add the &Itemid=xxx to it?

although this bug will be fixed in the next release ( already fixed in the test VM3.6.11 series )
GJC Web Design
VirtueMart and Joomla Developers - php developers http://www.gjcwebdesign.com
VM3 AusPost Shipping Plugin - e-go Shipping Plugin - VM3 Postcode Shipping Plugin - Radius Shipping Plugin - VM3 NZ Post Shipping Plugin - AusPost Estimator
Samport Payment Plugin - EcomMerchant Payment Plugin - ccBill payment Plugin
VM2 Product Lock Extension - VM2 Preconfig Adresses Extension - TaxCloud USA Taxes Plugin - Virtuemart  Product Review Component
http://extensions.joomla.org/profile/profile/details/67210
Contact for any VirtueMart or Joomla development & customisation