Author Topic: Bug translating in another language  (Read 1417 times)

balai

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1459
Bug translating in another language
« on: November 27, 2019, 14:57:56 pm »
I am checking the translation functionality in a multi-lingual site (English - Greek).

When i turn in Greek, the VM pages remain in English, although the rest of the site is translated normally.


The site is configured as multi-lingual in the VM configuration
The mentioned product is translated in both languages in VM.
The menu items for the different languages as well as the Joomla content languages exist.
Also there are language files for both languages (en-GB, el-GR).




Checking further seems to be related with the vmText::_() function.
Replacing the vmText with the JText, in the VM layouts, fixes the issue.

System:
Virtuemart 3.6.8 10197
Joomla 3.9.11
PHP 7.1.x

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3737
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: Bug translating in another language
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2019, 16:31:36 pm »
Please also check if you have a "_QQ_" in your VM frontend el-GR.com_virtuemart.ini. If yes, it can prevent the language file from loading. Joomla's 'Debug Language' would show an affected file as 'not loaded'.
See: https://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=143950.msg509317#msg509317
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

Studio 42

  • Contributing Developer
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4518
  • Joomla & Virtuemart developper
    • Studio 42 - Virtuemart & Joomla extentions
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6 & 3
Re: Bug translating in another language
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2019, 02:08:32 am »
You have to activate the Joomla multi-language plugin too and set it first in the list.

balai

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1459
Re: Bug translating in another language
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2019, 11:04:48 am »
As said, i am using the VM language files and the translation works for the rest of the Joomla site. Also works if i replace vmText with JText in the VM layouts.

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10144
  • VM3.9 Eagle Owl
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: Bug translating in another language
« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2019, 18:56:53 pm »
Should I fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

balai

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1459
Re: Bug translating in another language
« Reply #5 on: November 29, 2019, 14:20:22 pm »
Thanks!
I replied to the mentioned post, to avoid duplicates.
http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=143870.msg509411#msg509411