Author Topic: Product category ordering  (Read 431 times)

sohopros

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
Product category ordering
« on: June 20, 2019, 21:18:45 pm »
Hi,

I am trying to add Oder number to product categories but I can't save my changes.  When I am hovering over Save order, I can't click it. See attached screenshot.  How I can save the order?

Please advise,
Sandra

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3470
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: Product category ordering
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2019, 10:49:09 am »
Before clicking on the 'Save Order' icon in the upper right corner, you have to assign a unique number to each category. 1,2,3,4,5,6,... If you have unpublished categories, I would give them the highest numbers. Do you use an old version of VirtueMart? I don't see a 'Save Order' link in the left menu module, like in your screenshot.
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 27465
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Product category ordering
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2019, 11:18:35 am »
Looks like you may have a JavaScipt issue - check the browser console. The save ordering button is as shown in my capture. This saves the order of categories in the list to how you want to show them in the front end. Nothing to do with "order number".

Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM 3.4.3.10057 on Joomla 3.9.10 PHP 7.0.33
Testing VM 3.5.0.10097 on Joomla 3.9.10

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3470
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: Product category ordering
« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2019, 13:18:08 pm »
Nothing to do with "order number".
I meant the list number (or sort number).  ;)
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

sohopros

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
Re: Product category ordering
« Reply #4 on: June 21, 2019, 18:24:26 pm »
Hi,

You are right, I have Javascript error. See attached screenshot.
Any ideas how I can fix it?

Sandra

sohopros

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
Re: Product category ordering
« Reply #5 on: June 24, 2019, 19:12:43 pm »
Any ideas on the fix?

Please advise,
Sandra

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 27465
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Product category ordering
« Reply #6 on: June 24, 2019, 19:34:08 pm »
Nope, never seen that before.

Maybe you have Layout Bootstrap version in Configuration/templates set to something - it should be None (Use legacy) for VM3.x
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM 3.4.3.10057 on Joomla 3.9.10 PHP 7.0.33
Testing VM 3.5.0.10097 on Joomla 3.9.10

sohopros

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
Re: Product category ordering
« Reply #7 on: June 24, 2019, 19:46:02 pm »
Looks like I found the issue.

It is something with Isis admin template. When I use isis admin template I am getting the issue. When I switch to Hathor I can save the order. Can you reproduce this issue?

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 27465
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Product category ordering
« Reply #8 on: June 25, 2019, 10:25:40 am »
Not for me, works the same in Isis and Hathor. Maybe some backend plugin you have installed?
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM 3.4.3.10057 on Joomla 3.9.10 PHP 7.0.33
Testing VM 3.5.0.10097 on Joomla 3.9.10

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3470
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: Product category ordering
« Reply #9 on: June 25, 2019, 11:12:09 am »
Perhaps try a different setting of "Using the VirtueMart jQuery" in VM Configuration > Templates tab.
Another possibility is a file that became corrupted during an update or site transfer. In this case installing fresh versions of Joomla and VirtueMart over the existing one might help.
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

StefanSTS

  • Global Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 332
  • VirtueMart Version: VM 4.2 on Joomla 4.5
Re: Product category ordering
« Reply #10 on: June 25, 2019, 11:26:27 am »
The setting "Use external Google jQuery" needs to be disabled. I had this error in a test installation and "solved" it like that.

jQuery UI is loaded after the tooltip script.

Regards
Stefan
--
Stefan Schumacher
www.jooglies.com - VirtueMart Invoice Layouts

sohopros

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
Re: Product category ordering
« Reply #11 on: June 25, 2019, 18:19:36 pm »
Perfect. After I disabled the setting "Use external Google jQuery" it worked. Thanks!