Author Topic: Virtuemart and joomla 4  (Read 25132 times)

AH

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3491
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.8.9
Re: Virtuemart and joomla 4
« Reply #30 on: August 26, 2021, 16:11:57 pm »
Beginners 1st post wants J4 compatibility - hmm  interesting

Soon - soon - now J4 is "sort of stable" work is progressing fast
Regards
A

Joomla 3.9.27
php 7.4

mmckerracher

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • A beginner
Re: Virtuemart and joomla 4
« Reply #31 on: August 26, 2021, 16:25:23 pm »
Beginners 1st post wants J4 compatibility - hmm  interesting

Soon - soon - now J4 is "sort of stable" work is progressing fast

Didn't know I demanded it.. I want to know if it is being worked on, as I've used VM for years and never felt the need for a forum account until now. What a wild concept!

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10144
  • VM3.9 Eagle Owl
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: Virtuemart and joomla 4
« Reply #32 on: August 26, 2021, 17:14:59 pm »
But not now and not for the Joomla 4 Alpha. We will start with development for joomla 4, when they announce the first RC (release candidate), or maybe in the late beta phase.

Remember, Joomla 3 will still be supported for another 2 years after Joomla 4 gets released. Our priority is a stable system, so we will take our time to make everything working properly. Don't expect a VM version for Joomla 4 the day it is released.

I dont like to repeat myself. And we did exactly as posted above. We have already an installable core, just working on the AIO installer, now. Expect a beta for tomorrow.
Should I fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

AH

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3491
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.8.9
Re: Virtuemart and joomla 4
« Reply #33 on: August 26, 2021, 18:34:54 pm »
Quote
Didn't know I demanded it.. I want to know if it is being worked on, as I've used VM for years and never felt the need for a forum account until now. What a wild concept!

Not a wild concept at all - but sad that after "years of VM use" this is the best you have to offer the community - you sign up for a forum account to make a post and that is a question that has been answered before.

That being said, maybe you really need it for a project.

VM4 will be J4 compatible - and it will take a few weeks and more people to test it - but as Max states there will be a beta out soon.





Regards
A

Joomla 3.9.27
php 7.4

RobertL

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: Virtuemart and joomla 4
« Reply #34 on: August 26, 2021, 20:08:45 pm »
That's great news, I was expecting beta to take longer to arrive. I've been using VM for 14 years now and love it. I'm starting a project due for release at the end of next month, was thinking I'd have to resort to a migration for sure. But as it stands, there's hope it might happen on J4 straight away. Keep up the good work.

StefanSTS

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 570
  • VirtueMart Version: VM 4.2 on Joomla 4.5
Re: Virtuemart and joomla 4
« Reply #35 on: August 27, 2021, 09:54:07 am »
I would still start a new shop on Joomla 3 today and then update to Joomla 4 in a year.

No need to wait with creating a shop if the business demands it.

The update will not be a back breaker for the users, because the developers break their backs already to make the transition easy.

Stefan
--
Stefan Schumacher
www.jooglies.com - VirtueMart Invoice Layouts

Please use only stable versions with even numbers for your live shop! Use Alpha versions only if you know what risk you are taking.

seyi

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 407
    • AwoDev
Re: Virtuemart and joomla 4
« Reply #36 on: August 27, 2021, 14:04:56 pm »
Hello, i've created a plugin that allows you to run VM3.8.9 on Joomla 4.
https://www.rupostel.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=3940


Damn Stan, you the man.
Seyi A
--------------------
Promotion enhancement for Virtuemart:
   - AwoCoupon FREE - http://www.awocoupon.com/starter
   - AwoCoupon Pro - http://awodev.com/products/joomla/awocoupon
   - AwoRewards - http://awodev.com/products/joomla/aworewards
   - AwoAffiliate - http://awodev.com/products/joomla/awoaffiliate

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10144
  • VM3.9 Eagle Owl
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: Virtuemart and joomla 4
« Reply #37 on: August 27, 2021, 23:32:02 pm »
Hello, i've created a plugin that allows you to run VM3.8.9 on Joomla 4.
https://www.rupostel.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=3940
Damn Stan, you the man.
Hehe, yes. Here, what I wrote in already
Quote
stAn of Rupostel wrote a plugin. So he pushed the development heavily with real help! He provided some solutions and if he did not find a solution, he just wrote hardcore overrides. This overrides again helped me to find a solution for the core.

I dont know much time he invested already, but just changing all triggers to proxy function and changing the db getErrorMsg to try catch took me days. All the adjustments took weeks already.

We have now a version which installs and it looks that most of the views work. There are still problems like that the category ajax works, but the dropdown does not update. I think i upload that version and I think the community will find solutions for the last problems.
Should I fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

pinochico

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1234
    • MiniJoomla
  • Skype Name: support-easysoftware
  • VirtueMart Version: 3
Re: Virtuemart and joomla 4
« Reply #38 on: August 28, 2021, 10:42:39 am »
www.minijoomla.org  - new portal for Joomla!, Virtuemart and other extensions
XML Easy Feeder - feeds from products, orders and database table
Virtuemart Email Manager - customs email templates

Abatap

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • A beginner
Re: Virtuemart and joomla 4
« Reply #39 on: August 31, 2021, 16:27:40 pm »
The promised VM4 beta is great news and all that but is there any word about Joomla! 3.10 series compatibility for the current VM 3 branch?

I run a couple of medium-sized shops with tens of thousands of products and orders, so trying it out on my own right now is out of question.

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 28223
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Virtuemart and joomla 4
« Reply #40 on: September 01, 2021, 11:43:55 am »
The promised VM4 beta is great news and all that but is there any word about Joomla! 3.10 series compatibility for the current VM 3 branch?

Current VM3 versions are running fine on Joomla 3.10.1 - the Pre-Update Check on 3.10.1 is a bit confusing, but VM is flagged as the file sets don't contain the "required" Joomla version numbers. Works OK, though.

I would add that "upgrading" to J3.10 is not essential, but will be needed if (eventually) a site is migrated to J4 -for which there is no rush at all....

BTW I run localhost copies of important sites and check all updates there before considering changing a live site.
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VirtueMart 3.8.9.10473 on Joomla 3.9.28 PHP 7.4.14

ssnobben

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: Virtuemart and joomla 4
« Reply #41 on: September 04, 2021, 13:42:27 pm »
Quote
BTW I run localhost copies of important sites and check all updates there before considering changing a live site.

Yes or you can also test first by a staging copy and send that to live site. I using Joomla component StageIT and it works great also with Joomla 4 support. If you have pro needs :)
Success in the long run Its not about the code its about the people and community that's make it!
Its not what you say its what you do that matters!

Darb - aka ssnobben

micropalla

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 49
Re: Virtuemart and joomla 4
« Reply #42 on: September 06, 2021, 11:41:09 am »
Quote
Didn't know I demanded it.. I want to know if it is being worked on, as I've used VM for years and never felt the need for a forum account until now. What a wild concept!

Not a wild concept at all - but sad that after "years of VM use" this is the best you have to offer the community - you sign up for a forum account to make a post and that is a question that has been answered before.

That being said, maybe you really need it for a project.

VM4 will be J4 compatible - and it will take a few weeks and more people to test it - but as Max states there will be a beta out soon.


Hello. Where can I download the beta? I can test it.

stAn99

  • Contributing Developer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 97
    • One Page Checkout for Virtuemart 2
Re: Virtuemart and joomla 4
« Reply #43 on: September 06, 2021, 13:23:12 pm »
hello, i packed a few mods we did last friday against 10533 version and you can try it with these links:

https://php80.rupostel.com/d/vm/com_virtuemart.3.8.9.10533_stan.zip
https://php80.rupostel.com/d/vm/com_virtuemart.3.8.9.10533_ext_aio.zip
https://php80.rupostel.com/d/vm/vmadmin.zip


the 533 version includes an updated router.php and updated vm2admin.js against standard 10533 version.

This is purely a DEV release for joomla 4 and might not work correctly on joomla 3.x or complex production sites


UPDATE:
Please review this page to see if there is a newer version that includes all the bug fixes. 8.sept 2021 we've got build 10534 which includes above fixes:
http://dev.virtuemart.net/projects/virtuemart/files

best regards, stan
----
RuposTel.com
www.rupostel.com
Your customized checkout solution for Virtuemart

starexhaust

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • A beginner
Re: Virtuemart and joomla 4
« Reply #44 on: September 07, 2021, 06:53:40 am »
Hey, I’m trying to install the new VM J4 compatible version. But it says “Internal server error” when I try to install the core. My website is coolanttubes.com. If you type “2181” into the search bar, you can see the debug info. If anyone has any suggeations let me know, thanks.