Author Topic: askaquestion form is not responsive  (Read 401 times)

mikidudle

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • A beginner
askaquestion form is not responsive
« on: April 08, 2019, 17:17:51 pm »
Hello,
Forgive me if this isn't in the right category.
Currently Joomla! 3.9.4
VirtueMart 3.4.2
Does anyone know about resizing the Ask A Question form? When I click the ask a question button in any product on my iPhone 6 the form appears but does not resize to the phone's screen. Whether landscape or portrait, I am unable to get past the comment text box to the Captcha or the Submit button because the form is way too large and there's no navigation bars.  It's been like this for quite some time (since VM 3.3 I think)  I don't know where to change css or how to change it so that this form becomes usable on mobile devices. Yes, I did change the form.  I added secureimage Captcha and removed the Google ReCaptcha because it's a nuisance.  The Captcha actually fits better and this form didn't resize even before I made that change.  Anyone know about resizing this form?
Thanks in advance for your help.

StefanSTS

  • Global Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 276
  • VirtueMart Version: VM 4.2 on Joomla 4.5
Re: askaquestion form is not responsive
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2019, 18:50:40 pm »
That might be easy to fix with a bit of CSS. A link to a test installation might help.

Regards
Stefan
--
Stefan Schumacher
www.jooglies.com - VirtueMart Invoice Layouts

mikidudle

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • A beginner
Re: askaquestion form is not responsive
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2019, 17:42:21 pm »
Sorry I haven't replied. My email didn't register anyone had looked at this.
Please view using a mobile device (an iPhone 6 for sure).
Navigate to hobbysmith.com. Use the Menu (Scales and Sets->N&Z Scale->Loco-Diesel) Now click the "click to order" button, which is the ask a question button - renamed.
You'll see that the Ask A Question form is too big and there are no nav bars on the right or on the bottom so a mobile visitor can't complete the form.
I haven't been able to locate the CSS that controls the size of the box.  I can change components of the form, but not the size of the form itself or add navigation.
I tried /Root/components/com_virtuemart/assets/css/vm-ltr-site.css with limited success.
Thanks in advance and again, my apologies.

StefanSTS

  • Global Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 276
  • VirtueMart Version: VM 4.2 on Joomla 4.5
Re: askaquestion form is not responsive
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2019, 18:57:44 pm »
You are loading the content of Fancybox via component.php of Joomla, not index.php, so you might just add your CSS into the component.php. Or better add a CSS file via that one. Or use existing ones being loaded there.
--
Stefan Schumacher
www.jooglies.com - VirtueMart Invoice Layouts

mikidudle

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • A beginner
Re: askaquestion form is not responsive
« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2019, 15:57:19 pm »
Thank you for your reply.  I'll be honest and say I need input on two things: which of the 16 component.php files in this installation you are referring to. I'm pretty sure its the one in the system folder of the template I'm using; and secondly what css classes or id's need to be modified in fancybox?  I will continue to hunt around but your input would be much appreciated.
Thanks!
Miki

StefanSTS

  • Global Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 276
  • VirtueMart Version: VM 4.2 on Joomla 4.5
Re: askaquestion form is not responsive
« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2019, 16:25:35 pm »
Hi Miki,

my answer was a little too general.
Your template should provide a component.php in the main template folder. You can add some CSS there. If you don't have a component.php in your template, you can use the one from the installed Protostar template.

To help with the CSS I would need a link to a (test) installation.

Stefan
--
Stefan Schumacher
www.jooglies.com - VirtueMart Invoice Layouts

mikidudle

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • A beginner
Re: askaquestion form is not responsive
« Reply #6 on: April 19, 2019, 16:29:30 pm »
Thanks Stefan,
Can I PM you the credentials?  This is a large site and I'm not sure I could fit a second -test site - on the server. If not then let me know and I'll figure something out.

Miki

StefanSTS

  • Global Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 276
  • VirtueMart Version: VM 4.2 on Joomla 4.5
Re: askaquestion form is not responsive
« Reply #7 on: April 19, 2019, 16:41:28 pm »
Sorry, I am out of office on Easter Holiday.
--
Stefan Schumacher
www.jooglies.com - VirtueMart Invoice Layouts

mikidudle

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • A beginner
Re: askaquestion form is not responsive
« Reply #8 on: April 19, 2019, 16:42:21 pm »
Excellent. Enjoy. In a few days then.
Miki