Author Topic: the image not showing because contains errors"  (Read 253 times)

blackhumor

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 13
the image not showing because contains errors"
« on: January 29, 2019, 00:31:46 am »
After a server reboot many of my images (thumbnails) are not showing in the site.

The message I receive is "the image xxxxxxxxx not showing because contains errors"
This applies in products and categories thumbnails...

Examples
categories http://zografiki.com/ekklisiastika-eidi/ekklisiastika-eidi-oikias/stauroi to http://zografiki.com/images/stories/virtuemart/category/resized/53d288123be13_250x250.jpg
products http://zografiki.com/spiti-kipos/anthi-technita/mpales to http://zografiki.com/images/stories/virtuemart/product/resized/mpala-anthos-ms-mpala-anthos_250x250.jpg

Any idea what is the problem?

Jörgen

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1914
    • Kreativ Fotografi
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.2.12
Re: the image not showing because contains errors"hhhip
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2019, 05:51:24 am »
Directory ownership not correct ?
Jörgen @ Kreativ Fotografi
Joomla 3.8.3
Virtuemart 3.2.12
Olympiantheme Hera (customized)

diri

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • VirtueMart Version: most recent dev version (trunk)
Re: the image not showing because contains errors"
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2019, 12:40:57 pm »
Large images are displayed normal but:

The path to images is .../stories/virtuemart/...

Which version of VM are you using?
Did you update PHP?

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3408
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: the image not showing because contains errors"
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2019, 14:37:28 pm »
Those images contain no data to display (0 bytes). So there is no file header which the browser or an image editor can read. You will have to delete and recreate those thumbnails or use ftp to upload and overwrite the damaged thumbnail files with good ones.
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

blackhumor

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: the image not showing because contains errors"
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2019, 22:31:44 pm »
Just to help someone that has the same problem...

I delete the thumbnails directory of all the products and the categories thumbnails and then I let the site to re-create the thumbs from the begining

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9770
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: the image not showing because contains errors"
« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2019, 20:13:38 pm »
Nice, and there is actually a button for that among the tools section. :-) The problem here imho was the update of the server and some malefunction with the thumbnail function. A deleted thumbnail is automatically restored.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/