Author Topic: how to set subcategory items per row  (Read 660 times)

2cool

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 236
how to set subcategory items per row
« on: January 22, 2019, 21:59:21 pm »
Hi, is it possible to set subcategories per row for parent categorie.
I have some with 2 items and some with 4 or 5.

Would be nice to to set this is menu item so it's always full width.

Did try different settings:
vm template front end settings, vm categorie view settings and joomla menu settings

using: Joomla! 3.9.2  virtuemart VirtueMart 3.4.3

Thanks,
Pas

GJC Web Design

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9488
  • Virtuemart, Joomla & php developer
    • GJC Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.6.8
Re: how to set subcategory items per row
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2019, 22:07:30 pm »
guess u have to do it programatically in the template

detect the number of subcats and set the div widths by that integer
GJC Web Design
VirtueMart and Joomla Developers - php developers http://www.gjcwebdesign.com
VM3 AusPost Shipping Plugin - e-go Shipping Plugin - VM3 Postcode Shipping Plugin - Radius Shipping Plugin - VM3 NZ Post Shipping Plugin - AusPost Estimator
Samport Payment Plugin - EcomMerchant Payment Plugin - ccBill payment Plugin
VM2 Product Lock Extension - VM2 Preconfig Adresses Extension - TaxCloud USA Taxes Plugin - Virtuemart  Product Review Component
http://extensions.joomla.org/profile/profile/details/67210
Contact for any VirtueMart or Joomla development & customisation

2cool

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 236
Re: how to set subcategory items per row
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2019, 23:13:01 pm »
Thanks,
But why is there a setting to set categorie items per row in joomla menu?

Regards,
Pas


Jörgen

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2584
    • Kreativ Fotografi
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.4.x
Re: how to set subcategory items per row
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2019, 00:02:40 am »
Joomla has it own categories, not to be confused with VM categorries. If there is a setting in the VM menu item, there is a priority, do not remember which one has the highest. Category, Item or VM menu setting.

Jörgen
Joomla 3.9.8
Virtuemart 3.4.x
Olympiantheme Hera (customized)

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 27669
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: how to set subcategory items per row
« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2019, 10:56:21 am »
Config order by Max:  forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=137598.0
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM 3.6.11 10292 on Joomla 3.9.16 PHP 7.0.33