Author Topic: OMG please help - 3 hours of troubleshooting! Admin %^$#ed up.  (Read 449 times)

dhanttula

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • A beginner
OMG please help - 3 hours of troubleshooting! Admin %^$#ed up.
« on: December 15, 2018, 20:00:19 pm »
I've been testing VM on a staging server and decided to move it to production. The WEIRDEST thing happened.

SPECIFIC tabs in the admin are completely hosed:
- Tabs don't appear to select sections.
- Fancybox dropdowns don't work
- States don't pre-populate when country is selected

Things I've tried:
- ADMIN CONFLICT RESOLVE listed at: https://dev.virtuemart.net/projects/virtuemart/wiki/General_JS-Problems_with_templates_and_jQuery
- Rolled back to an older build
- Installed sample products
- Ensured that states were published, underneath the country I selected
- Compared staging and production for jQuery duplicates.

I'm totally stumped and frustrated. This is RIDICULOUS!

dhanttula

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • A beginner
Re: OMG please help - 3 hours of troubleshooting! Admin %^$#ed up.
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2018, 20:02:47 pm »
Here's what the live site looks like. You can see the tabs aren't there and the currency dropdown doesn't work the same.

However, VM Configuration works just fine.

GJC Web Design

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 8678
  • Virtuemart, Joomla & php developer
    • GJC Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6.22 & 3.2.14
Re: OMG please help - 3 hours of troubleshooting! Admin %^$#ed up.
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2018, 20:43:46 pm »
Its normally a JS error -- often ( esp. on Chrome browsers) the old JS is cached

make sure all browser caches are cleared or start a new fresh browser

You can also try ftp'ing all the com_virtuemart admin folder back to the server from an expanded installer or your local copy if your sure its complete

have seen incomplete transfers before
GJC Web Design
VirtueMart and Joomla Developers - php developers http://www.gjcwebdesign.com
VM3 AusPost Shipping Plugin - e-go Shipping Plugin - VM3 Postcode Shipping Plugin - Radius Shipping Plugin - VM3 NZ Post Shipping Plugin - AusPost Estimator
Samport Payment Plugin - EcomMerchant Payment Plugin - ccBill payment Plugin
VM2 Product Lock Extension - VM2 Preconfig Adresses Extension - TaxCloud USA Taxes Plugin - Virtuemart  Product Review Component
http://extensions.joomla.org/profile/profile/details/67210
Contact for any VirtueMart or Joomla development & customisation

dhanttula

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • A beginner
Re: OMG please help - 3 hours of troubleshooting! Admin %^$#ed up.
« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2018, 21:33:57 pm »
I should have mentioned that I'm using Firefox and have cleared the cache and restarted my PC several times.

I uninstalled and reinstalled from https://dev.virtuemart.net/attachments/download/1144/com_virtuemart.3.4.2.9966_package_or_extract.zip

Then I manually copied all files from \com_virtuemart.3.4.2.9966\administrator\components\com_virtuemart
to  /httpdocs/administrator/components/com_virtuemart

Now my admin is completely blank. (White screen)

dhanttula

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • A beginner
Re: OMG please help - 3 hours of troubleshooting! Admin %^$#ed up.
« Reply #4 on: December 15, 2018, 21:56:31 pm »
Reinstalled again, and tested it on IE. Same issue, so this isn't a browser cache problem.

As stated, some VM admin pages work PERFECTLY (Config and Tools) but all four other sections are hosed.

Studio 42

  • Contributing Developer
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3576
  • Joomla & Virtuemart addon developper
    • Studio 42 - Virtuemart & Joomla extentions
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6 & 3.0.x.y
Re: OMG please help - 3 hours of troubleshooting! Admin %^$#ed up.
« Reply #5 on: December 16, 2018, 11:30:11 am »
YOu have certainly a Joomla plugin loading another jQuery, try to disable some system plugins that you suspect(jquery easy, slideshows  for eg.).
Some template framework load admin javascript and can break too.

StefanSTS

  • Global Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 225
  • VirtueMart Version: VM 4.2 on Joomla 4.5
Re: OMG please help - 3 hours of troubleshooting! Admin %^$#ed up.
« Reply #6 on: December 16, 2018, 19:20:24 pm »
Did you check, if your hoster has some Content Security Policy enabled that might stop scripts from loading?

Stefan
--
Stefan Schumacher
www.jooglies.com - VirtueMart Invoice Layouts

dhanttula

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • A beginner
Re: OMG please help - 3 hours of troubleshooting! Admin %^$#ed up.
« Reply #7 on: December 20, 2018, 16:46:17 pm »
Thank you everyone for your replies; I went in and disabled every single extension in Joomla.

The conflict was Simple Image Gallery Pro v3.5.0. -When I upgraded to v3.6.1, everything works!

Thanks again!

Daniel

GJC Web Design

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 8678
  • Virtuemart, Joomla & php developer
    • GJC Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6.22 & 3.2.14
Re: OMG please help - 3 hours of troubleshooting! Admin %^$#ed up.
« Reply #8 on: December 20, 2018, 19:09:45 pm »
ouch .. and if u search on here for "Simple Image Gallery Pro" you will see it has had a long and illustrious history of breaking the VM admin since at least 2013 can u believe!
GJC Web Design
VirtueMart and Joomla Developers - php developers http://www.gjcwebdesign.com
VM3 AusPost Shipping Plugin - e-go Shipping Plugin - VM3 Postcode Shipping Plugin - Radius Shipping Plugin - VM3 NZ Post Shipping Plugin - AusPost Estimator
Samport Payment Plugin - EcomMerchant Payment Plugin - ccBill payment Plugin
VM2 Product Lock Extension - VM2 Preconfig Adresses Extension - TaxCloud USA Taxes Plugin - Virtuemart  Product Review Component
http://extensions.joomla.org/profile/profile/details/67210
Contact for any VirtueMart or Joomla development & customisation