Author Topic: Tool tip layout  (Read 232 times)

edk

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • A beginner
Tool tip layout
« on: September 28, 2018, 08:59:16 am »
I hope I'm posting this in the right place. I have tool tips on custom fields, but the content is also showing style attributes. (see attached)

I'm running Joomla 3.8.12 and Virtuemart 3.4.0.

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 26993
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Tool tip layout
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2018, 10:20:00 am »
With current VM versions you can't use html tags in tooltips.  eg see in http://demo.virtuemart.net/
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM 3.4.0.9935 on Joomla 3.8.12 PHP 7.0.31
Testing VM 3.4.0.9941 on Joomla 3.8.12

edk

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • A beginner
Re: Tool tip layout
« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2018, 10:50:33 am »
Thanks Kelvyn, but I only entered plain text.

Ghost

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 413
Re: Tool tip layout
« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2018, 10:56:03 am »
True. VM uses Joomla's method to generate tooltip but doesn't load tooltip JS. If your template uses Bootstrap, create a layout override where tooltip is displayed and add this:

Code: [Select]
JHtml::_('bootstrap.tooltip');

edk

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • A beginner
Re: Tool tip layout
« Reply #4 on: September 28, 2018, 16:23:23 pm »
Tried doing this, no joy  :(

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3354
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: Tool tip layout
« Reply #5 on: September 28, 2018, 22:36:48 pm »
Looks identical to this: https://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=129850.0, but I don't know any better explanation of how to do that. Never tried it myself.
Perhaps try this: https://www.regularlabs.com/extensions/tooltips
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

edk

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • A beginner
Re: Tool tip layout
« Reply #6 on: September 29, 2018, 03:23:59 am »
Thanks everyone.

Added
Code: [Select]
JHtml::_('bootstrap.tooltip');
directly to the
Code: [Select]
customfields.php
file and solved the problem.