Author Topic: VirtueMart - Invalid extension update on version 3.2.12 - how do i update???  (Read 604 times)

GJC Web Design

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 8186
  • Virtuemart, Joomla & php developer
    • GJC Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6.22 & 3.2.14
Re: VirtueMart - Invalid extension update on version 3.2.12 - how do i update???
« Reply #15 on: September 20, 2018, 00:03:37 am »
you still have all the example data published : e.g.  https://www.linestop.com/tools/resilient-seat-knife-gate-valve/manufacturer
https://www.linestop.com/component/virtuemart

and as for the correct 404 -- I think this is more to do with your server setup .. it seems when ever there is a dot in the url it returns the generic server 404

https://www.linestop.com/component/virtuemart/product-attrib.utes

https://www.linestop.com/corporate/cont.act-us

even non VM pages
GJC Web Design
VirtueMart and Joomla Developers - php developers http://www.gjcwebdesign.com
VM3 AusPost Shipping Plugin - e-go Shipping Plugin - VM3 Postcode Shipping Plugin - Radius Shipping Plugin - VM3 NZ Post Shipping Plugin - AusPost Estimator
Samport Payment Plugin - EcomMerchant Payment Plugin - ccBill payment Plugin
VM2 Product Lock Extension - VM2 Preconfig Adresses Extension - TaxCloud USA Taxes Plugin - Virtuemart  Product Review Component
http://extensions.joomla.org/profile/profile/details/67210
Contact for any VirtueMart or Joomla development & customisation

jessemullinax

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • A beginner
Re: VirtueMart - Invalid extension update on version 3.2.12 - how do i update???
« Reply #16 on: September 21, 2018, 16:15:02 pm »
Wow good find! I was able to unpublish all the sample data to clean that page up thank you. I did discover a VirtueMart error as seen in the image on the product category page. I had to perform a product category search just to get them to show up in order to unpublish because all of them are not appearing as well as part of the columns. so far only 6 of the 10 VirtueMart product category will display. Any fixes on that? Not a huge deal but something to look at...

Lastly, anyone have ideas on why my 404 pages are not working when you simply place a "." period anywhere in the link as GJC Web Design pointed out? I will call my hosting support later today and if find out anything i will report my finding with you all.

https://www.linestop.com/component/virtuemart/product-attrib.utes

https://www.linestop.com/corporate/cont.act-us

Thanks, Jesse


jessemullinax

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • A beginner
Re: VirtueMart - Invalid extension update on version 3.2.12 - how do i update???
« Reply #17 on: September 24, 2018, 19:38:08 pm »
Submitted a ticket to my hosting about the 404 page situation and they were able to help me fix this. I will post the info here to help anyone else with this issue.

When you add a period ('.') to the request, it becomes a file request.

So with your example:

https://www.linestop.com/component/virtuemart/product-attrib.utes

Is actually requesting the file product-attrib with file extension 'utes'. As that doesn't exist, it triggers the 404 which loads C:\inetpub\vhosts\linestop.com\error_docs\Not_Found.html.

Versus your non-existent pages like https://www.linestop.com/fsdfsdfsdfds - since this has no file extension, it is using your base rewrite to load using index.php:

<rule name="Joomla Main Rewrite Rule" enabled="true" stopProcessing="false">
                    <match url="(.*)" ignoreCase="true" />
                    <conditions logicalGrouping="MatchAll">
                        <add input="{URL}" pattern="(/[^.]*|\.(php|html?|feed|pdf|raw))$" />
                        <add input="{REQUEST_FILENAME}" matchType="IsFile" negate="true" />
                        <add input="{REQUEST_FILENAME}" matchType="IsDirectory" negate="true" />
                    </conditions>
                    <action type="Rewrite" url="index.php/" />
                </rule>

However, since 'product-attrib.utes' is a file request, it doesn't trigger this rewrite, which is how the Joomla 404s get handled.

I modified the Error Pages section for linestop.com and changed 404 from:

'Insert content from static file in to the error response: C:\inetpub\vhosts\linestop.com\error_docs\not_found.html'

to:

'Execute a URL on this site' and set the URL to your 404 page: /index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=299

So now your 404s for requests like https://www.linestop.com/component/virtuemart/product-attrib.utes will load your custom 404 page. You can see that this change has modified the web.config for the 404 error to:

<error statusCode="404" path="/index.php?option=com_content&amp;view=article&amp;id=299" responseMode="ExecuteURL" />

Please let me know if you have any questions.

jessemullinax

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • A beginner
Well dang just when you think you are good to go you find more issues.
I am attempting to fix my other error pages but Joomla is giving me a hard time

For example if you click this link https://www.linestop.com/services/pipeline-services/freeze-plugs/14-services?format=feed&type=rss
you will get the error 500 which i configured just as i did with my 404 error page but for some reason my template will not display with the content as seen when you click that link above.

Does anyone know how to get my 404 template to appear with the other error codes?
Here is what my 404 page looks like https://www.linestop.com/inde
Here is my web.config code.
 <httpErrors>
            <remove statusCode="502" subStatusCode="-1" />
            <remove statusCode="501" subStatusCode="-1" />
            <remove statusCode="500" subStatusCode="-1" />
            <remove statusCode="412" subStatusCode="-1" />
            <remove statusCode="406" subStatusCode="-1" />
            <remove statusCode="405" subStatusCode="-1" />
            <remove statusCode="403" subStatusCode="-1" />
            <remove statusCode="401" subStatusCode="-1" />
            <remove statusCode="404" subStatusCode="-1" />
            <remove statusCode="400" />
            <error statusCode="400" path="C:\Inetpub\vhosts\linestop.com\error_docs\bad_request.html" />
            <remove statusCode="404" />
            <error statusCode="404" path="/index.php?option=com_content&amp;view=article&amp;id=299" responseMode="ExecuteURL" />
            <remove statusCode="407" />
            <error statusCode="407" path="C:\Inetpub\vhosts\linestop.com\error_docs\proxy_authentication_required.html" />
            <remove statusCode="414" />
            <error statusCode="414" path="C:\Inetpub\vhosts\linestop.com\error_docs\request-uri_too_long.html" />
            <remove statusCode="415" />
            <error statusCode="415" path="C:\Inetpub\vhosts\linestop.com\error_docs\unsupported_media_type.html" />
            <remove statusCode="503" />
            <error statusCode="503" path="C:\Inetpub\vhosts\linestop.com\error_docs\maintenance.html" />
            <error statusCode="401" prefixLanguageFilePath="" path="C:\Inetpub\vhosts\linestop.com\error_docs\unauthorized.html" />
            <error statusCode="403" prefixLanguageFilePath="" path="C:\Inetpub\vhosts\linestop.com\error_docs\forbidden.html" />
            <error statusCode="405" prefixLanguageFilePath="" path="C:\Inetpub\vhosts\linestop.com\error_docs\method_not_allowed.html" />
            <error statusCode="406" prefixLanguageFilePath="" path="C:\Inetpub\vhosts\linestop.com\error_docs\not_acceptable.html" />
            <error statusCode="412" prefixLanguageFilePath="" path="C:\Inetpub\vhosts\linestop.com\error_docs\precondition_failed.html" />
         <remove statusCode="500" />
            <error statusCode="500" path="/index.php?option=com_content&amp;view=article&amp;id=299" responseMode="ExecuteURL" />
            <error statusCode="501" prefixLanguageFilePath="" path="C:\Inetpub\vhosts\linestop.com\error_docs\not_implemented.html" />
            <error statusCode="502" prefixLanguageFilePath="" path="C:\Inetpub\vhosts\linestop.com\error_docs\bad_gateway.html" />
        </httpErrors>

Set up exactly like the 404 page

My hosting that helped me fix those others issues directed me to this page but its over my head... https://docs.joomla.org/Custom_error_pages

Thanks in advance.

Jörgen

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1720
    • Kreativ Fotografi
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.2.12
I do not think this will always work to detect a 500 error. You can use Rupostels plugin instead:
https://www.rupostel.com/utilities-for-joomla/extensions/fatal-catcher-plugin

Be aware that this should not be included more than for debugging puposes. It could interfere with You website. But it is a great tool and gives You an email when a 500 error occurs :)

Jörgen @ Kreativ Fotografi
Joomla 3.8.3
Virtuemart 3.2.12
Olympiantheme Hera (customized)

GJC Web Design

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 8186
  • Virtuemart, Joomla & php developer
    • GJC Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6.22 & 3.2.14
I doubt you will ever get a 500 error to redirect to some "error" page

500 means the server has stopped - how then will it then pick up the pieces and then start display Joomla articles as error pages?
GJC Web Design
VirtueMart and Joomla Developers - php developers http://www.gjcwebdesign.com
VM3 AusPost Shipping Plugin - e-go Shipping Plugin - VM3 Postcode Shipping Plugin - Radius Shipping Plugin - VM3 NZ Post Shipping Plugin - AusPost Estimator
Samport Payment Plugin - EcomMerchant Payment Plugin - ccBill payment Plugin
VM2 Product Lock Extension - VM2 Preconfig Adresses Extension - TaxCloud USA Taxes Plugin - Virtuemart  Product Review Component
http://extensions.joomla.org/profile/profile/details/67210
Contact for any VirtueMart or Joomla development & customisation