Author Topic: Database error?  (Read 849 times)

Yellow Cherry

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • Yellow Cherry Digital
Database error?
« on: July 10, 2018, 11:11:13 am »
I am receiving the following error when trying to access 'shoppers' or 'shop' areas of Virtuemart - 1054 Unknown column 'u.company' in 'field list'

Also when I try and make a change in 'Configuration' I am directed the to Virtuemart dashboard when I press 'Save and Close' - none of the changes are saved. The error log throws up lots of instances of this - munros-nurseries.co.uk [Tue Jul 10 01:02:40 2018] [error] [client 66.249.64.84:55542] PHP Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /home/sites/3a/c/ca2fb474ac/public_html/administrator/components/com_virtuemart/plugins/vmpsplugin.php on line 1098

Regards,
Internet Marketing // Website Development

Jörgen

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1753
    • Kreativ Fotografi
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.2.12
Re: Database error?
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2018, 11:22:40 am »
Maybe this could be related:
https://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=136097.msg474886#msg474886

Jörgen @ Kreativ Fotografi
Joomla 3.8.3
Virtuemart 3.2.12
Olympiantheme Hera (customized)

GJC Web Design

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 8415
  • Virtuemart, Joomla & php developer
    • GJC Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6.22 & 3.2.14
Re: Database error?
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2018, 23:31:28 pm »
Try using the VM admin table updater -> config->tools
GJC Web Design
VirtueMart and Joomla Developers - php developers http://www.gjcwebdesign.com
VM3 AusPost Shipping Plugin - e-go Shipping Plugin - VM3 Postcode Shipping Plugin - Radius Shipping Plugin - VM3 NZ Post Shipping Plugin - AusPost Estimator
Samport Payment Plugin - EcomMerchant Payment Plugin - ccBill payment Plugin
VM2 Product Lock Extension - VM2 Preconfig Adresses Extension - TaxCloud USA Taxes Plugin - Virtuemart  Product Review Component
http://extensions.joomla.org/profile/profile/details/67210
Contact for any VirtueMart or Joomla development & customisation

Yellow Cherry

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • Yellow Cherry Digital
Re: Database error?
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2018, 10:21:19 am »
Thanks for suggestions. I am being told I need to do the following -  "To use these tools fully, you must check 'Enable database Update tools' in the Configuration panel." Although when I check the 'Enable database Update tools' and press 'Save' I am just directed to the dashboard and the checkbox remains unchecked when I go back and check.

Any ideas on this?
Internet Marketing // Website Development

Jörgen

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1753
    • Kreativ Fotografi
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.2.12
Re: Database error?
« Reply #4 on: July 11, 2018, 10:27:52 am »
Silly question, but Do You have Super Admin rights ?

regards

Jörgen @ Kreativ Fotografi
Joomla 3.8.3
Virtuemart 3.2.12
Olympiantheme Hera (customized)

Yellow Cherry

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • Yellow Cherry Digital
Re: Database error?
« Reply #5 on: July 11, 2018, 14:02:51 pm »
Just checked to confirm, and yes I do.

Its not that I cant complete the actions, its that there is a glitch whenever I press Save I am directed back to the dashboard

Regards,
Internet Marketing // Website Development

Jörgen

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1753
    • Kreativ Fotografi
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.2.12
Re: Database error?
« Reply #6 on: July 11, 2018, 14:15:01 pm »
What PHP version do You use ?

Jörgen @ Kreativ Fotografi
Joomla 3.8.3
Virtuemart 3.2.12
Olympiantheme Hera (customized)

Yellow Cherry

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • Yellow Cherry Digital
Re: Database error?
« Reply #7 on: July 11, 2018, 17:03:24 pm »
Currently on 7.1.

Thanks
Internet Marketing // Website Development

Jörgen

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1753
    • Kreativ Fotografi
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.2.12
Re: Database error?
« Reply #8 on: July 11, 2018, 21:56:06 pm »
7.2 is ti iffy right now, 7.1 should work, but I have decided to continue with 7.0.

next silly question what VM version and Joomla version, have You updated recently ?

Jörgen @ Kreativ Fotografi
Joomla 3.8.3
Virtuemart 3.2.12
Olympiantheme Hera (customized)

Yellow Cherry

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • Yellow Cherry Digital
Re: Database error?
« Reply #9 on: July 12, 2018, 15:10:33 pm »
Joomla is running on 3.8.8. I cannot update to latest version - when I do I get the following error message.

Akeeba\Engine\Dump\Base :: Database Error: Table 'JOOMLA58e10424.JOOMLA58e10424.w3vj6_virtuemart_adminmenuentries' doesn't exist SQL=SHOW CREATE TABLE `JOOMLA58e10424.w3vj6_virtuemart_adminmenuentries`

This happens when Akeeba automatically backs up before update. This gets to around 25% and fails - I am redirected to the dashobard.

Virtuemart is at 3.2.14.

Thanks for your patience and help
Internet Marketing // Website Development

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 27031
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Database error?
« Reply #10 on: July 12, 2018, 15:31:07 pm »
It sounds to me like there is a VirtueMart installation issue. I would suggest you try re-installing VM3.2.12 - don't delete any data or uninstall anything, just reinstall the VM and aio components over the top of the existing installation using Joomla's install manager.   http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=123808.0

I assume you have an earlier site backup just in case.....
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM 3.4.0.9935 on Joomla 3.8.12 PHP 7.0.31
Testing VM 3.4.0.9941 on Joomla 3.8.12

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3363
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: Database error?
« Reply #11 on: July 13, 2018, 15:36:11 pm »
Perhaps also try if clicking the button 'Install or if necessary update tables' on the VM Tools & Migration view and in the Joomla admin menu 'Menus' > 'Manage' > the  'Rebuild' button cures the problem.
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

Jörgen

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1753
    • Kreativ Fotografi
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.2.12
Re: Database error?
« Reply #12 on: July 13, 2018, 15:42:59 pm »
Theres a hole in the bucket, dear Eliza...
He can not update the toolaccess  ...

Jörgen @ Kreativ Fotografi
Joomla 3.8.3
Virtuemart 3.2.12
Olympiantheme Hera (customized)

GJC Web Design

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 8415
  • Virtuemart, Joomla & php developer
    • GJC Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6.22 & 3.2.14
Re: Database error?
« Reply #13 on: July 13, 2018, 16:09:36 pm »
Just as a note...   sometimes but  rarely updates fail...

I just did a Joomla to 3.8.10 via the updater on a very clean site i know well. After the update the admin was completely mis-rendered - basically lacking any styling with a stupid 500 server error on calling the admin Isis template.css

the file was there, looked fine and replacing it changed nothing.

In the end re-uploading the whole Isis template fixed it so it can only have been file corruption during the update

So I concur with Jenks ...  backup or clone and either update again or replace all the VM files
GJC Web Design
VirtueMart and Joomla Developers - php developers http://www.gjcwebdesign.com
VM3 AusPost Shipping Plugin - e-go Shipping Plugin - VM3 Postcode Shipping Plugin - Radius Shipping Plugin - VM3 NZ Post Shipping Plugin - AusPost Estimator
Samport Payment Plugin - EcomMerchant Payment Plugin - ccBill payment Plugin
VM2 Product Lock Extension - VM2 Preconfig Adresses Extension - TaxCloud USA Taxes Plugin - Virtuemart  Product Review Component
http://extensions.joomla.org/profile/profile/details/67210
Contact for any VirtueMart or Joomla development & customisation

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3363
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: Database error?
« Reply #14 on: July 13, 2018, 16:15:14 pm »
He can not update the toolaccess  ...

Perhaps alter the 'dangeroustools=0 to 'dangeroustools=1' in ...\administrator\components\com_virtuemart\virtuemart.cfg or directly in the database virtuemart_configs table would solve that.
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations