Author Topic: Product category question  (Read 208 times)

oodya

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Product category question
« on: July 04, 2018, 18:28:13 pm »
Hello,

I am wondering if someone can help please?  I am trying to achieve the following.  If I had a menu called 'Cars', in the drop down, I would like to have 'Ford', 'Honda' etc.  However, if I click on 'Ford', I do not want the URL to be: www.mysite.com/cars/ford, ideally I would like it to be www.mysite.com/ford.

If someone actually clicks on 'Cars', then I would like to be able to have the different categories appear i.e. 'Ford' will appear and 'Honda' will appear,

Would someone be able to advise on how I would achieve this please?

Thank you

GJC Web Design

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 7780
  • Virtuemart, Joomla & php developer
    • GJC Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6.22 & 3.2.14
Re: Product category question
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2018, 23:33:15 pm »
Ford, Honda etc as root categories

cars as a hand carved Joomla article with styled links to Ford, Honda etc
GJC Web Design
VirtueMart and Joomla Developers - php developers http://www.gjcwebdesign.com
VM3 AusPost Shipping Plugin - e-go Shipping Plugin - VM3 Postcode Shipping Plugin - Radius Shipping Plugin - VM3 NZ Post Shipping Plugin - AusPost Estimator
Samport Payment Plugin - EcomMerchant Payment Plugin - ccBill payment Plugin
VM2 Product Lock Extension - VM2 Preconfig Adresses Extension - TaxCloud USA Taxes Plugin - Virtuemart  Product Review Component
http://extensions.joomla.org/profile/profile/details/67210
Contact for any VirtueMart or Joomla development & customisation

Ventsi Genchev

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 202
    • Bulgarian Computer Store
Re: Product category question
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2018, 11:29:59 am »
Ford, Honda etc as root categories

cars as a hand carved Joomla article with styled links to Ford, Honda etc

Yes, but when he goes to "Ford," the menu will not be subordinated to "cars". He will go to the main menu (if the main menu is a category of Virtuemart).
No pain, no gain, no site!

GJC Web Design

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 7780
  • Virtuemart, Joomla & php developer
    • GJC Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6.22 & 3.2.14
Re: Product category question
« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2018, 12:33:24 pm »
Quote
Yes, but when he goes to "Ford," the menu will not be subordinated to "cars".

isn't that exactly what he asked?
GJC Web Design
VirtueMart and Joomla Developers - php developers http://www.gjcwebdesign.com
VM3 AusPost Shipping Plugin - e-go Shipping Plugin - VM3 Postcode Shipping Plugin - Radius Shipping Plugin - VM3 NZ Post Shipping Plugin - AusPost Estimator
Samport Payment Plugin - EcomMerchant Payment Plugin - ccBill payment Plugin
VM2 Product Lock Extension - VM2 Preconfig Adresses Extension - TaxCloud USA Taxes Plugin - Virtuemart  Product Review Component
http://extensions.joomla.org/profile/profile/details/67210
Contact for any VirtueMart or Joomla development & customisation

Ventsi Genchev

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 202
    • Bulgarian Computer Store
Re: Product category question
« Reply #4 on: July 05, 2018, 13:00:53 pm »
As far as I understand, he asks for URL.
For example:
Path (Breadcrumbs): Home / Cars / Ford
Url: site.com/ford

Or:
Path (Breadcrumbs): Home / Cars / Ford / Parts
Url: site.com/parts

As with the non-checked SEO setting "Use full category tree for product links":
Path (Breadcrumbs): Home / Cars / Ford / Parts
Url: site.com/cars/parts
But "cars" always remains.

I have seen such sites (not with Joomla), but I may have misunderstood the issue.
No pain, no gain, no site!

nowywmiescie

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • A beginner
    • Wyrób pieczątek Kraków
Re: Product category question
« Reply #5 on: July 05, 2018, 13:46:57 pm »

AH

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2752
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.2.15
Re: Product category question
« Reply #6 on: July 05, 2018, 14:30:26 pm »
Setup menu not to display

One for each VM category
Make each category a Root

Setup a "display menu"

Spacer
Level 1 menu item Spacer - Cars
Level 2 submenu to Cars - Alias to Ford hidden category menu item - Display name - Ford
Level 3 submenu to Cars - Alias to Honda hidden category menu item - Display Name - Honda


Menu will be

CARS
->Ford      url will be site/ford
->Honda   url will be site/honda

url will be site/ford
regards
A

Joomla 3.8.8
php 7.0

Studio 42

  • Contributing Developer
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3152
  • Joomla & Virtuemart addon developper
    • Studio 42 - Virtuemart & Joomla extentions
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6 & 3.0.x.y
Re: Product category question
« Reply #7 on: July 06, 2018, 16:15:33 pm »
You can use a menu with all categories and menu alias from original menu.
The only problem is that the original menu get not selected
menu  all categories(do not need a module):
Ford = link to Virtuemart category ford
Honda = link to Virtuemart category Honda
original menu having alias:
CARS url to category Cars
-Ford      alias to all categories : ford Breadcrumb is site.com/ford
-Honda   alias to all categories : honda Breadcrumb is site.com/honda