Author Topic: Override not effecting, VirtueMart 3.2.14  (Read 184 times)

maxispin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 174
Override not effecting, VirtueMart 3.2.14
« on: April 14, 2018, 08:56:18 am »
Hello for a Long time! Back to the my ever-lasting project.

I am trying to replace category page with override, however it has No effect at all..

Override file is saved here:
/site.com/templates/TemplateXX/html/com_virtuemart/category/category-override.php

And under Virtuemart/configuration/Templates it is selected as "Category Layout"

I have no idea, even why the over-ride-file is selected and it has no effect at all..

### UPDATE ### SOLUTION ###

Virtuemart doesn't like the name I gave to override-file. Default.php works.. I just hate using that one because it is not clear if Override is used or not.

I have to ask, is this a bug?

##### ####

Joomla! 3.8.6    VirtueMart 3.2.14

ps. why the boxes under Admin are not long enough?
VM 3.0.17.6 | VM 2.0.24c | VM 1.1.9

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 26745
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Override not effecting, VirtueMart 3.2.14
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2018, 12:24:32 pm »
Override with different/long name works OK for me. Check override settings in Joomla menu shop home item category setting tabs, and also the individual category settings.

Also I have no problem with the text boxes.

Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM3.2.14.9808 on Joomla 3.8.6 PHP 7.0.29

Testing VM3.2.14.9808 on J3.8.6

maxispin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 174
Re: Override not effecting, VirtueMart 3.2.14
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2018, 12:26:32 pm »
Thanks Jenkinhill,

it might be that there is something wrong with my VM. I updated it from 3.2.4.->3.2.14
VM 3.0.17.6 | VM 2.0.24c | VM 1.1.9

Studio 42

  • Contributing Developer
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2893
  • Joomla & Virtuemart addon developper
    • Studio 42 - Virtuemart & Joomla extentions
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6 & 3.0.x.y
Re: Override not effecting, VirtueMart 3.2.14
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2018, 17:11:20 pm »
category-override.php is not a valid name.
and category_override.php is not a valid choice(it's a sublayout from category.php) and get not displayed.
In joomla layout file need to be 1 single word eg. overide.php, own.php, list.php ...
I think that categoryOverride.php is ok, but i never tried it.

maxispin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 174
Re: Override not effecting, VirtueMart 3.2.14
« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2018, 17:17:07 pm »
Thanks Patrick!

I owe you btw.. My project got stucked for over a year..
VM 3.0.17.6 | VM 2.0.24c | VM 1.1.9

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 26745
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Override not effecting, VirtueMart 3.2.14
« Reply #5 on: April 14, 2018, 23:35:54 pm »
category-override.php is not a valid name.

That's what I thought, and I'm sure it was the case,  but I have been abe to use a hyphenated file name (as shown in my oic above) with J3.86 VM3.2.14.9808 PHP7.0.29 
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM3.2.14.9808 on Joomla 3.8.6 PHP 7.0.29

Testing VM3.2.14.9808 on J3.8.6

Studio 42

  • Contributing Developer
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2893
  • Joomla & Virtuemart addon developper
    • Studio 42 - Virtuemart & Joomla extentions
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6 & 3.0.x.y
Re: Override not effecting, VirtueMart 3.2.14
« Reply #6 on: April 15, 2018, 12:34:05 pm »
category-override.php is not a valid name.

That's what I thought, and I'm sure it was the case,  but I have been abe to use a hyphenated file name (as shown in my oic above) with J3.86 VM3.2.14.9808 PHP7.0.29 
I think the name is displayed but not valid or?
In all case i always use single word, to be sure, even if it's nicer in some case to show.
You can add a Joomla KEY, i think this is displayed(it work for Joomla core layouts)
eg. MOD_STATS_LAYOUT_DEFAULT="Défaut" is for stats module default.php layout

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 26745
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Override not effecting, VirtueMart 3.2.14
« Reply #7 on: April 15, 2018, 13:09:14 pm »
I think the name is displayed but not valid or?

Yes, with a hyphen it works as an override - at least for me.....  I only tested it because of the issue of maxispin, normally I use  a simple file name, like defaultnoprice.php
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM3.2.14.9808 on Joomla 3.8.6 PHP 7.0.29

Testing VM3.2.14.9808 on J3.8.6