Author Topic: Help needed from VM Developers to fix Themler Product Variant Ajax Issue  (Read 234 times)

bigrich66

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Hi All

I have spent a year battling Themler(Billion Digital) to fix an issue with their Themler Template builder software. They state on their website that Themler is fully compatible with Virtuemart.

https://themler.io/Features

However, it turns out Product Variants do not work in Product listings when using a Themler Template like they do in the default Virtuemart template. They have turned around and admitted they do not have a solution to this issue and are not going to provide one. 

I originally posted on this Forum as below to request how to fix the issue and was informed it was a template issue not a VM issue. I have decided to start a new post because it is now a development issue not a bug/question etc

https://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=139001.0

I then posted the following thread in the Themler Forum

http://answers.themler.io/questions/150261/missing-virtuemart-variant-functionality-in-product-listings?order=Newest

You can clearly see from the thread, myself and others are desperate to find a clean working solution as we use Themler to build Joomla/Virtuemart Templates that are now in live sites. I have already lost a customer though this and have another customer with a website 95% complete (see Themler Thread)

As the Themler developers have decided to give up, my next port of call would be freelancer.co.uk but before that I would like to ask the Virtuemart Developers if they wish to try and give this a go by offering a paid plugin and/or a solution?

Here is a quick demo of the problem

See the product called JAMES & THEDIN DROP MIRROR on the page below

https://antiligatureshopdirect.com/index.php?virtuemart_category_id[0]=29&Itemid=229&option=com_customfilters&view=products

Try to select a variant. The "add to cart" button will not present itself

Click the actual product however to go to the Product detail page and select a variant. The "add to Cart" button works



Many Thanks

johnkont

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • A beginner
Re: Help needed from VM Developers to fix Themler Product Variant Ajax Issue
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2017, 15:17:31 pm »
it looks like the selected product is not loading, only in product detail view.

bigrich66

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: Help needed from VM Developers to fix Themler Product Variant Ajax Issue
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2017, 15:55:06 pm »
Yes it should be working like the page below

http://demo.virtuemart.net/

but Themler developers are refusing to add the necessary js or do not know how to do it?

Chrome Console is reporting the following

Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'substring' of undefined
    at Object.Virtuemart.findContainers (cvfind.js?vmver=1dfff776:39)
    at HTMLSelectElement.Virtuemart.cvFind (cvfind.js?vmver=1dfff776:58)
    at HTMLSelectElement.dispatch (jquery.js?version=1.0.664:4642)
    at HTMLSelectElement.elemData.handle (jquery.js?version=1.0.664:4310)
    at Object.trigger (jquery.js?version=1.0.664:4551)
    at Object.a.event.trigger (jquery-migrate.min.js?1b84cd1ea0e339562164a518de4b6359:2)
    at HTMLSelectElement.<anonymous> (jquery.js?version=1.0.664:5261)
    at Function.each (jquery.js?version=1.0.664:384)
    at a.fn.init.each (jquery.js?version=1.0.664:137)
    at a.fn.init.trigger (jquery.js?version=1.0.664:5260)

Cheers

Studio 42

  • Contributing Developer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2410
  • Joomla & Virtuemart addon developper
    • Studio 42 - Virtuemart & Joomla extentions
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6 &amp; 3.0.x.y
Re: Help needed from VM Developers to fix Themler Product Variant Ajax Issue
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2017, 16:42:23 pm »
You can contact me, if you need a developer but the problem is not in Virtuemart but in com_customfilters because Virtuemart.container is set to .product-field-display but the container is .vm-product-item
And Virtuemart.containerSelector is undefined
I mean its not hard to do, only some template override and all should work.

bigrich66

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: Help needed from VM Developers to fix Themler Product Variant Ajax Issue
« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2017, 17:47:26 pm »
Thank you for your reply. I have contacted Break Designs who supply the Custom Filters extension for their advice.

bigrich66

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: Help needed from VM Developers to fix Themler Product Variant Ajax Issue
« Reply #5 on: December 08, 2017, 13:41:33 pm »
Hi Studio 42

I have received below from the Custom Filters Pro developer even after offer of payment.

"Unfortunately i cannot help with any issue regarding a template or something outside our code.
If you have any question/request about our extensions i am glad to help.

Kind Regards,

Also just for clarification, the same will happen also in the VM category pages.
https://antiligatureshopdirect.com/index.php?option=com_virtuemart&view=category&virtuemart_category_id=25"

I think it's much easier for someone related with templates and layouts to solve that.
Since i have seen that you are using themler. I have no any experience at all with that.

If it generates, normal layout files, i can check it but that's the ultimate solution.


Can you please propose a solution?

Thanks

Studio 42

  • Contributing Developer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2410
  • Joomla & Virtuemart addon developper
    • Studio 42 - Virtuemart & Joomla extentions
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6 &amp; 3.0.x.y
Re: Help needed from VM Developers to fix Themler Product Variant Ajax Issue
« Reply #6 on: December 08, 2017, 18:03:22 pm »
Check in Virtuemart config > Templates TAB
in
Activate Css Styles & Javascripts
> Use ajax for product content
Have to be checked

bigrich66

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Everything ticked except "Use external google jQuery library"

Studio 42

  • Contributing Developer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2410
  • Joomla & Virtuemart addon developper
    • Studio 42 - Virtuemart & Joomla extentions
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6 &amp; 3.0.x.y
I think that the template do not load all Virtuemart codes, compare original files and template files is the only solution.
If you try this link : https://antiligatureshopdirect.com/index.php?option=com_virtuemart&view=category&virtuemart_category_id=25&template=protostar
It use protostar and work.