Author Topic: Language problem with product variant  (Read 113 times)

Multistud

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • Multistud
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.2.6
Language problem with product variant
« on: December 08, 2017, 14:26:49 pm »
Hello,
since the update of Virtuemart 3.2.6 then 3.2.8
I have a small problem of language, with the variants product: the text "com_vm_customfield_variant_price" appears.
This string does not appear anywhere in the language files ???
See screenshot.

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 26421
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Language problem with product variant
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2017, 15:01:13 pm »
It is present in components/com_virtuemart/language/en-GB/en-GB.com_virtuemart.ini  but maybe not in your language file.

The entry is COM_VM_CUSTOMFIELD_VARIANT_PRICE="%1$s%2$s"  so you can add that as an override, looks like it does not need translating.
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM3.2.8 on Joomla 3.8.2 PHP 7.0.25

Testing VM3.2.8 on J3.8.3RC

Multistud

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • Multistud
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.2.6
Re: Language problem with product variant
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2017, 15:21:38 pm »
Thank you,
I could see where the code found,
but why the function "% 1 $ s% 2 $ s" does not work then?
Because when one seeks on Google "COM_VM_CUSTOMFIELD_VARIANT_PRICE",
there is apparently a lot of web-site which one the same error!
it shows the text and not the result of the function ???

Studio 42

  • Contributing Developer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2413
  • Joomla & Virtuemart addon developper
    • Studio 42 - Virtuemart & Joomla extentions
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6 & 3.0.x.y
Re: Language problem with product variant
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2017, 09:20:22 am »
I think the site dont paid attention, Core dev add new feature that change some value and if you don't show it, you can have unwanted display.
For eg price added on the image input from one release to other.
Most translation have not this COM_VM_CUSTOMFIELD_VARIANT_PRICE key, so many sites have now this key displayed and and do not know it.

Multistud

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • Multistud
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.2.6
Re: Language problem with product variant
« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2017, 12:01:39 pm »
 ;) Ok and thank you Studio 42,
so I added in the substitution langague (en fr for me),
and now it works, it displays  + and the surplus price, (see screenshot).
Fran├žois